Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Confirmed - Clinton & Ross' heated exchange

From news.com.au

January 26th 2005

A HEATED physical altercation between former Australian prop Joel Clinton and Penrith teammate Ben Ross has led to both players being disciplined by Panthers management.

The former flatmates were hauled into Penrith headquarters to explain their actions after a confrontation boiled over in the Panthers gymnasium.

Clinton allegedly dropped Ross to the floor with one punch – but the former Australian frontrower denied this version of events.

"All it was was a personal issue. It had nothing to do with football or anything like that," Clinton said.

"We had a verbal argument, we got it out of our system and that was about it.

"There were no punches thrown – that's the rumours I heard going around, too, but it was just a verbal argument."

It is understood the dispute was sparked by an off-field matter before being swiftly resolved by Penrith officials.

Big Mick

I dunno.

I hope its all resolved. I thought they were best mates. Anyway, at least its all sorted now.

mightypanther

Well I'm sticking with the version that there was nothing much in it, and it's over and done with.

Lainey asked Ben on Tuesday night, and he said that there was never a punch thrown, and basically it was a big deal over nothing.

And even if there is some simmering issue between them, so what ?

They are men after all. I have seen in the past plenty of players that are supposedly best mates like Girds and Gower having heated words between them, and absolutely nothing comes of it.

No-one who spends so much time together can be all hugs and kisses 24 hours a day. That doesn't mean that there is anything out of the ordinary happening.

These things only lead to problem when players (who should learn to keep their monstrous great mouths shut), open their big traps and tell people about it, that have no rights to know anything at all.

I have had many heated arguments with family and friends over the years, haven't we all ? And it is over and forgotten in the space of 10 minutes and never brought up again. It means jack s hit. :roll:

The only difference is that I don't have heaps of people hanging out to tell the media and other nosey bastards all about it. :lol:

Boys will be boys. Leave 'em the hell alone, and nothing more will come of it.

It's only trouble mongerers like the whippet that get some sort of kick out of spreading gossip and turning molehills into mountains.

I personally couldn't give a rat's arse what went on between them, it's nobody's business but their own.

BRANDY

I heard about this from a mate of mine who is mates with one of the players.

I just hope that off field incidents dont f**k our club around, for the second and or third time in our history.

If its been sorted out ,then lets get over it and concentrate on footy.

Big Mick

Me i've had verbal stoushes with my mates all the time, next day we call each other up, say we're sorry and then head down to the pub as though nothing happened.

Its what people do. Like someone said, it can't be all roses 24/7.

mightypanther

prolly over some krispy kreme's

More likely over a woman.....but blokes always get over that pretty quick.

They looked perfectly happy and friendly training together at Penrith Stadium yesterday.

All is good.... :clap: