Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Confirmed: OrFord only wants a 1 year deal

Eelectrica

I still think a largely incentive based deal would be the way to go. But for the Price he wants I think he will end up in the ESL for the year.
Sounds like the NRL are doing everything they can to make sure the CC gets it :(

Pazza said:
Forget about Orford!

I am sure that Witt, Dykes and Smith will be fine for next season.

That's exactly right, we should develop our young halfbacks instead trying to go for other halfbacks.

Phillips said:
Witt and Thorman are better options, we dont need Orford

:shock:

I wouldn't quite go that far Phillips. I know they are your opinions but they seem to get stranger by the day. :?

If Orford came at the right price I think Witt and Smith could get the development that the coach seems to want.

Phillips

Colonel Eel said:
Phillips said:
Witt and Thorman are better options, we dont need Orford

:shock:

I wouldn't quite go that far Phillips. I know they are your opinions but they seem to get stranger by the day. :?

If Orford came at the right price I think Witt and Smith could get the development that the coach seems to want.

dont get me wrong, i'd love to see Orford here, but if its just for 1 yr or the like, i think its a waste of time & money, so instead of getting Orford we should be letting Witt and Thorman and other juniors get as much first grade experience as possible

I'm a bit on the fence on the Orford situation....he's a quality player and would make a big difference, but thats a truck load of money.

I believe JT's organisational/leader skills played a HUGE part in Parra's 2001 success and I think we have missed him HEAPS....maybe bringing in a quality half even for just a year could bring similar success???

But $500K is alot....maybe if it was $350K + incentives....but even then, lets say he achieves the incentives, there is ALOT of money on one guy $500K = about 1/6 of the salary cap on one player.

Parraren

You've also gotta question a players commitment to a club when he's only prepared to come for 1 year. It's obvious to everyone his heart is in the Central Coast and if they don't get a team he'll probably stay in Melbourne.

Could you imagine the uproar if he signed on for $500k for 1 year and got a serious injury in the first game of the season! :evil:

Misty Bee

We only need committment to the club for as long as he is here. Any player asking that price would be a comitted player - it comes with the $. Besides, good clubmen don't win premierships. Elite players do. Hindy aside, who are our elite?

If he comes, the half a mil would obviously be incentive based, with a longer term option. And as I said before, if he wins a Clive Churchil medal in a Parra jumper, would you care what he was paid? I bloody wouldn't!

Misty Bee said:
We only need committment to the club for as long as he is here. Any player asking that price would be a comitted player - it comes with the $.

Using the club as a transit lounge on the thought that should the Central Coast get a gig he's off there the next year, makes him committed because he gets paid big dollars? I wonder how many of his team mates would see it that way? Chances of him holding the trophy and the Churchill medal would be extremely slim.......

The only ones that should be committed would be the people that signed him.

Misty Bee

That's why you have an options clause in his contract, Colonel. To prevent that.

BTW, JT only had a year. Did anyone question his comittment?

Misty Bee said:
That's why you have an options clause in his contract, Colonel. To prevent that.

BTW, JT only had a year. Did anyone question his comittment?

By the sounds of things any options in his contract would be a deterrent.

JT had a lot more to prove than Orford has........

scottyeel

Orford is already earning over $400thou at melbourne. If he cant get the 5 he will just stay there but he is still to talk to the chooks as well, i dont think they would have a problem giving that much.

GAME FIRST

Goodpoint Colonel Eel, why pay any player any money if his heart and mind is not largely committed to you?

Would a man marry a married women if she was so attractive,sexy and had lovely qualities you would like for yourself but knowing she had a husband that she wanted to go back to in the near future?

Being second best would not sit fine with me no matter what clauses on what contracts you put in!
Besides, Lyons contract doesnt mean much to us if he does not want us anymore does it!

Redback71

to much to pay maybe they can agree on some lesser price on a 1 year deal with the option to sign him another couple of years if the central cast bid fails.

fridge

i totally disagree with u mistybee. i think offering orford over 400K is ridiculous, esp. since he wants a 1 year deal.

elite players dont win premierships, elite teams do.

to become an elite team again i reckon we'll have to continually improve. for that to happen we need stability, clubmen who will be around to improve as a team, and talent.

yes orford has a lot of talent, but if we sign him for 500K what message does that send to the younger players behind him ? (t.smith, witt) we might lose our young talent for one good year (that might not even happen because our team has plenty of holes)...

the cap is like 3.125 mill ? 1 bloke to take one-sixth of that is crazy. if he signed for 3-4 years that's a different story, because then we might be able to build around him and get the younger dudes to learn off him. but orford just wants a temp money pit.

there are many rep players on 250,000 to 300,000 a season. i'd rather get 2 or 3 quality players for a couple years, then a very talented injury prone halfback who probably wont be able to change the culture of the place.

i also reckon offering riddell 270K is a mistake because
1. morris is better than him
2. he had attitude and weight problems at the start of the year

i reckon we should sign him for a 1-year deal at $500K, but with clauses. If CC don't get admission, then we have an option for another 2 years at $350k a year. That evens out to $400k a year and is about what we are rumoured to be offering him now.

So we don't change our price over the long term, we cover his desire to move to CC if possible, but also keep tabs on a good halfback who we then wouldn't have to worry about battling for in a tug of war with other Clubs only 1 year after signing him.

Play Witt in 5/8, and we are looking sweet. If we keep Thorman then we can have him as a 14 or good backup for injury.

Who the f--- does Orford think he is ? If he is a 500k player then Johns and Lockyer are 1.5 million dollar players. This little cork on a champagne bottle is getting himself. If he cannot wait to play for the Central Coast stay in Melbourne for another year and sip on your latte. What a try hard wanker!!!!!!! You haven't even played for NSW yet you tool.

Misty Bee said:
We only need committment to the club for as long as he is here. Any player asking that price would be a comitted player - it comes with the $. Besides, good clubmen don't win premierships. Elite players do. Hindy aside, who are our elite?

If he comes, the half a mil would obviously be incentive based, with a longer term option. And as I said before, if he wins a Clive Churchil medal in a Parra jumper, would you care what he was paid? I bloody wouldn't!

One year isn't going to turn Parramatta into premiers, and one player isn't going to do that either. We can buy 2 other strong, young players for the price Orford wants and they'll most likely be committed to the club long-term.

Hurriflatch

I don't think he is worth $500 but he is worth 350-400

What he can do is

- Give the Eels a top class 1.2 for 1 year
- Help in the development of Witt & Tim Smith for the 2006 season

I don't want him at 500 for 1 year but 400 then yes.

The WArriors who did offer Orford 450K signing Nathan Fien today azs insurance if PJ doesn't recover but if Marsh does get better I wonder if they will still go after Orford.