Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Craig Fitzgibbon

Big Mick

According to the paper today we are chasing him and have publically stated we are.

In my opinion this would be an awesome 1 year signing, particularly given his form, experience and leadership that he'd bring.

I can see a pack of:

8. Woolnough, 9. Iosefa, 10. Civoniceiva, 11. Pritchard, 12. Waterhouse, 13. Fitzgibbon
RES: 14. Aiton, 15. Grant, 16. Moors, 17. Paulo

That pack would do big damage on teams and I reckon Fitzgibbon's signing would and should be applauded.

Black Majik

If he did sign for us I think it would be 2 years and on the proviso he didn't have to play the Roosters.

I would be as excited as when we lured Petro. I'm glad we have made it known also.

Pantha-Boy

Why would we want Fitzgibbon when we have Paulo and Blair, both younger, stronger and faster. All we need to do is 'coach' them to increase their workrate to equal that of Fitzgibbon.

We need experience in the halves. I say we throw the bulk of our spare cash into securing a quality expierenced half or 5/8th.

hindmarsh4pm

Fitzy will help the likes of paulo and blair develop into better players, he will only be around for a year or 2 max, paulo and co are still young and have plenty ahead of them

The Nature Boy

I would rather penrith go after Heighington,Hannant,Lillyman or Southern than waste their time on someone who won't leave the roosters and wants to join Fittler in the coaching ranks when he is retired.

maple_69

While I'd be happy to get Fitzgibbon (and get one back from the dirty Roosters), I'm mainly pleased to hear that we are in the market for a marquee player.

Also I'm hoping we don't sign up a "quality half". Name one on the market that would be around for 5+ years or 1 year that is actually quality. Kimmorley is probably the only option, but he wants 2 years.

murraymob

Mick leary has just been on local radio station kick here in penrith stating the story is wrong .Penrith are not interested in Fitzgibon and will not be making him a offer

choc_soldier

Mick leary has just been on local radio station kick here in penrith stating the story is wrong .Penrith are not interested in Fitzgibon and will not be making him a offer

Not the first time that a CEO or club official has trotted out that line, only to be true sometime in the future.

Not saying that we are talking to him and will sign him, but Leary could have stated it as a diversionary tactic.

Personally, I think he would be a good pick up - on the proviso it's for one year only, with an option for a second. Outside of Petero, Waterhouse and Pritchard, it'll still be a relatively young pack in 2009 - his experience will valuable.

murraymob

sounds more like a player manager trying to beef up a contract for his client .The story stated 7 other clubs where also interested.But with our ceo anything is possible

Kilkenny

Fitzgibbon IMO could have been a similar acquisition to the likes of Petro.

Yes he is at the back end of his career, but still playing great footy as was in evidence when the Roosters comfortably accounted for us a couple of weeks back.

Alas, we will no doubt be chasing players from the Queensland Cup.

Dave Q

The mighty rugby league recruitment cloak and dagger!

Smoke and mirrors, hocus pokus, things are never what they seem!

The sun is setting on Fitzy's fine career and the foot of the mountains should never be drenched in shadows for too long.

Penrith is a club that thrives on youthful enthusiasm. The pitter patter of little feet stomping over CUA should never be sacirificed for knuckled- headed golden oldies.... except perhaps for born leaders like Civo.

I prefer the well coached junior.

Kilkenny

I am an advocate for promoting our junior talent from within but every once in a while someone comes along such as Fitzgibbon who could really add value to our existing roster as well as playing a key role in the junior development. Alas we are not interested, dont quite know why thou.

I wouldn't mind seeing Fitzy in Panther colours. Sure he's had a couple of lean seasons but he's been playing out of his skin this year, and his form pre-2005 speaks for itself.

He and Petero would have played together in the Aussie colours as well. Two old heads together could really inspire the junior forwards, as well as re-ignite some passion in the likes of Waterhouse & Pritchard.

Dave Q

If juniors are off the agenda, I wonder if Petro could give his mate Hannant a ring.

He's absolute gold this bloke. Goes hard all day and fast for a fair chunk of it.

Entering his prime too and not ready to kick back like Fitzy.

Fibroman

Paulo, Blair and Moors in the backrow. Grant, McKendry and Blackett in the front row. Why would we need to spend big cash again on stupid 1 or 2 year deals ala the Williams boys. Spend big money on a quality player for 3 years.