Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cronulla Sharks slam NRL over poor handling of women’s com

kbw

I feel for Cronulla. Just because another club, Illawarra, have also done a great job with women's RL and they are close goegraphically, one had to miss out.
They really should have gone the 6 team option and included both. Sometimes you need to reward people that have worked hard.

I have a feeling Newcastle did not apply and Souths probably didn't have the money unless the juniors funded it

sharkman73

Good on Barry and the club for kicking up a stink about this. Currently the lead story on the Telegraph online. Nothing will change but we need to be pushing back on stuff like this now we're one of the heavyweight clubs.

Nah mate, we're not.

So this article 1 February, it looks like 6 licenses, of course we need to reserve one for Broncs and Warriors.

We are mentioned and dragqueens, but no mention of the Roosters but they get a run of course they do

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/nr...ce-to-womens-competition-20180201-h0rq6n.html

The NRL has granted clubs an extension to apply for licences in the historic women's competition set to be launched later this year amid a flurry of interest in the inaugural season.

Despite the initial deadline of February 1 for applications, clubs will be given an extra fortnight to finalise proposals as the bidding process heats up.

Giant leap for women's rugby league: Ali Brigginshaw and Caitlin Moran celebrate after winning the World Cup final.

Photo: AAP
The NRL will now accept expressions of interest up until February 16.

It is tipped to be a fierce battle to secure one of the coveted licences, with up to six on offer for the short-term competition, which will be played as double-headers leading up to and during the NRL finals series.

On the charge: Lucy Lockhart takes on the PNG defence.

Photo: AAP

The grand final is slated to be played as a curtain raiser to the NRL decider at ANZ Stadium.

The NRL has already indicated a preference for the competition to feature teams geographically spread throughout Australia and New Zealand, almost guaranteeing one licence for the Warriors and another for a Queensland team.

There is also an appetite for a regional-based team in NSW or the ACT, leaving only limited franchise spots up for grabs in the Sydney metropolitan area.

Arch-rivals Cronulla and St George Illawarra have led the way in promoting the women's game in recent years, the Sharks the first club to centrally contract a female player and the Dragons boasting a female competition within their region.

The inaugural women's competition will follow on from the success of the Rugby League World Cup, which drew outstanding television ratings and was widely applauded after Australia edged out New Zealand in a gripping final.

The NRL hopes to centrally contract Jillaroos stars for the competition and provide match payments for others who are picked up by the various licensees.

An expanded NRL women's program will also feature a standalone State of Origin match between NSW and Queensland during the representative weekend in June, nearly all of whom will be expected to feature in the NRL competition later in the season.

Despite it being almost certain to receive more nominations than there are licences for 2018, the NRL is likely to follow in the footsteps of the AFL women's competition and expand rapidly within the first four years.

AFLW plans to add an extra two teams to its eight-strong competition in 2019 before increasing the total number of franchises to 14 in 2020.

It is unclear whether the successful NRL franchises will look to other sports to bolster its playing stocks, as did the AFLW, which has scouted a variety of outstanding female athletes from other sports to headline their league.

And this article from December 2017

Again they say 6 licenses, Knights put up there hand geograpically they should be in over either Drags or Rorters, I could accept if this was 4 team comp and only 1 from Sydney but more look into more it looks like a rort again

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/nr...six-womens-team-licenses-20171206-gzzug1.html

Newcastle and St George Illawarra were the first teams to officially declare their interest for a licence for the inaugural women's NRL tournament in 2018.

The race for six licences could be hotly contested, with up to 14 clubs potentially bidding to be involved in the opening season.

NRL 2018: National women's competition set to run next season
A spokesman for the Broncos said that the club had supported the idea of women's competition for some time, as does their CEO Paul White, and they will definitely consider their options for 2018.

Cowboys officials, currently overseas, were not contactable. Fairfax Media was awaiting responses from the Warriors and Manly at the time of publication.

There is already a competition in the NSWRL well 2 one is juniors other for women.

Harvey Norman NSW Womens Premership, now lets see which teams are in this started last week

Bulldogs, Rabbitohs, Mounties, Cronulla-Caringbah, Cabramatta, Penrith Brothers, Bears, CRL Newcastle, Wentwortville.

webShark

.Sounds like the womens league will have "mismanagement "in common with the mens. Womens game is an important part of the puzzle if professional Rugby league is to survive,or even prosper.

I hope this is not cut and dried and the Sharks can be part of it.
Totally agree. The same clowns who made this call are running the Men' game.
They talk up participation in women's game then announce a 4 team comp!
This is hardly a favour to the Roosters.

Hierarchy overlook the main issues. Poor crowds and junior numbers.
But we will have a safe, rectangular stadium to get the 20 spectators out of the Roosters v Broncos women's game.

In a week , we see another nail in the cricket coffin, more idiots playing tennis under our flag we keep stuffing up Footy.

Obsession with women's sport after success of other codes. AFLW GF was free entry. Women's 7s Union is like League , a 2 team comp.
I went to Women's World Cup at Shark Park. Let's be honest ,it's not much chop. But all that apart, Sharks are the ONLY team with any players any good. Ridiculous decision.

Next they will take a women's double header to Perth.

Constant calls for expansion when we have lost the city heartlands and NSW Country.
Why not bring back Newtown or the Bears? After all we now have the Roosters women. They will never draw a paying spectator.

Not an NRL decision but good luck with the Denver Test.

I couldn't run the NRL but couldn't do worse than the incumbent clowns.
Bring back the biff :grinning:. Remember that was popular.
I go to games regularly but find myself questioning why not watch on Fox like everyone else.

Generalzod

http://www.theleader.com.au/story/5308127/sharks-left-out-of-inaugural-nrl-womens-premiership/

Cronulla Sharks CEO Barry Russell and chairman Dino Mezzatesta will seek a meeting with NRL boss Todd Greenberg to clarify why the club has been left out of the inaugural NRL women’s competition.

The Sharks were told by the NRL’s head of football Brian Canavan and senior manager women’s elite program Tiffany Slater on Monday they would not be granted a licence for the first season of the NRL women’s premiership.

Only four teams – Brisbane, New Zealand, St George Illawarra and Sydney Roosters – were accepted from six bids.

The news comes as a major disappointment for Cronulla given their status as pioneers of the women’s game. The Sharks were the first to contract women’s players last year and built a women’s pathway in recent years through their league touch program and Tarsha Gale Cup team.

Cronulla’s support for the women’s game was highlighted by the club hosting the women’s rugby league World Cup at Southern Cross Group Stadium late last year. Entry into the inaugural NRLWP looked to be the perfect culmination to the club’s long-term strategy and support for the female game.

Russell said he was extremely disappointed and dumbfounded by the decision.

“We have sound experience and in-depth knowledge of women’s rugby league after launching the Cronulla Sharks women’s series team and hosting the women’s rugby league World Cup in 2017,” he said.

“The focus our club has given to the women’s pathway, from the Tarsha Gale team, to the introduction of league touch and the commitment to offer the same opportunities to women as we do men, which all makes this decision difficult to comprehend.

“We have already shown a commitment to make a women’s team and program work within an NRL club setting and have been pioneers in women’s rugby league.

“We have numerous key learnings from our experience in 2016 and 2017 and first-hand practical knowledge of what it takes to ensure a sustainable, financially sound, entertaining, and game changing NRLWP team, program and competition.

“Our fans and members want our club to be one they can believe in. They want us to do things that matter and align with our club’s vision and values. Having an NRLWP Team would have helped to complete us as a club, while adding to our purpose.”

Greenberg said geographical reasons were part of the final decision, with the Broncos and Roosters representing Brisbane and Sydney, with the Warriors to be made up of the bulk of the New Zealand Kiwi Ferns Test team.

South Sydney were the other unsuccessful bidding club.

FTR
Sharks 52
Roosters 20-ish a couple of consolation try’s after a shark was binned at the end.

The roosters were so far off being any good it’s embarrassing.

bruce28

Source - https://www.sharks.com.au/news/2018...CMURQd0F5U3h6OFRVM0x0aGplRnlSXC9ic0dCSDNwTiJ9

Club Statement: NRL Women's Premiership

Author
Sharks Media
Timestamp
Tue 27 Mar 2018, 09:32 AM
The Cronulla Sharks were yesterday informed by the NRL of their decision not to grant our Club a franchise licence for the NRL Women’s Premiership (NRLWP).

With just four teams accepted from the six clubs to submit bids, the Sharks met with the NRL’s Head of Football Brian Canavan and Tiffany Slater, Senior Manager Women’s Elite Program, where they learnt their application to take part in the inaugural Women’s Premiership had been unsuccessful.

Not only did the Sharks break new ground in contracting women players in 2017 and in fielding a team in a series of promotional matches as curtain-raisers to NRL games, they have also put enormous time, effort and resources into the Club’s Tarsha Gale Cup team and in creating female pathways.

The Sharks surprise and disappointment at the NRL’s decision stems from the thoroughness of their licence presentation, a submission they were told was amongst the best of those entered, emphasising their commitment to Women’s rugby league in the Sutherland Shire and to the NRLWP.

After being informed of the NRL’s decision, Sharks CEO Barry Russell expressed his frustration.

“I am extremely disappointed and dumbfounded by the decision,” Russell said. ‘’We have sound experience and in-depth knowledge of women’s rugby league after launching the Cronulla Sharks Women’s Series team and hosting the Women’s Rugby League World Cup in 2017.

“The focus our Club has given to the women’s pathway, from the Tarsha Gale team, to the introduction of League Touch and the commitment to offer the same opportunities to women as we do men, which all makes this decision difficult to comprehend.”

With the Club’s history of support for Women’s Rugby League, adding to the experience, expertise, resources, commitment and passion at the Club to ensure the competition would be strong and sustainable, the Sharks were confident they were in the best position to be one of the inaugural clubs in the NRL Women’s Premiership (NRLWP).

Financially the Sharks Women’s Premiership team had also received strong commercial support, including a six-figure jersey naming rights partner, should the licence submission had been successful.

“We have already shown a commitment to make a women’s team and program work within an NRL club setting and have been pioneers in women’s rugby league,” Russell said.

“We have numerous key learnings from our experience in 2016 and 2017 and first-hand practical knowledge of what it takes to ensure a sustainable, financially sound, entertaining, and game changing NRLWP team, program and competition.

“Our fans and Members want our Club to be one they can believe in, they want us to do things that matter and align with our Club’s vision and values. Having an NRLWP Team would have helped to complete us as a Club, while adding to our purpose,” Russell concluded.

Russell and Sharks Chairman Dino Mezzatesta will request a meeting with NRL CEO Todd Greenberg and NRL management seeking further clarification as to their unsuccessful licence application.

So originally they wanted 6 teams, only 2 other teams missed license us and Rabbits, there is your 6 NRL, only the NRL could screw this up.

Might i add all these games will be played as curtain raisers in the finals, so no way of telling fan interest

Totally agree. The same clowns who made this call are running the Men' game.
They talk up participation in women's game then announce a 4 team comp!
This is hardly a favour to the Roosters.

Hierarchy overlook the main issues. Poor crowds and junior numbers.
But we will have a safe, rectangular stadium to get the 20 spectators out of the Roosters v Broncos women's game.

In a week , we see another nail in the cricket coffin, more idiots playing tennis under our flag we keep stuffing up Footy.

Obsession with women's sport after success of other codes. AFLW GF was free entry. Women's 7s Union is like League , a 2 team comp.
I went to Women's World Cup at Shark Park. Let's be honest ,it's not much chop. But all that apart, Sharks are the ONLY team with any players any good. Ridiculous decision.

Next they will take a women's double header to Perth.

Constant calls for expansion when we have lost the city heartlands and NSW Country.
Why not bring back Newtown or the Bears? After all we now have the Roosters women. They will never draw a paying spectator.

Not an NRL decision but good luck with the Denver Test.

I couldn't run the NRL but couldn't do worse than the incumbent clowns.
Bring back the biff :grinning:. Remember that was popular.
I go to games regularly but find myself questioning why not watch on Fox like everyone else.

Web you might be able to run it better for example all these penalties this year for offisde, are they warranted or not, does the NRL ever ask the fans.

Last few years ratings have dropped so have crowds, never do you see the NRL ask the fans what annoys you about the game.

Yes they cant change everything fans want but how about they listen.

Example it might be just me, but i hate all these trainers on the ground, they should only come on for injuries, if they have to be on, maybe can only go 10 metres n from sideline, if its just me dont change it, but if say 20% of fans the NRL should look at it.

We drive the game, so how about they listen to us for a change

Card Shark

Who cares. Womens league...really...

Probably more than you realise mate.

Probably a 3rd of the NRL fan base are females, so there’s a bit of support straight up.

My 17 yo daughter actually started playing last year -not something I’d want my daughter doing (id rather her be a lady) to be honest but in a weird way, I’m proud.

A 4 team comp is “laughing stock” material. Why not take all 6 applications - do they want to grow the woman’s game or not?

Card Shark

You just need to look at woman’s soccer & cricket.

They are very skillful & many know the game as much as blokes...they just need a chance to show their skills.

Watched that footy show with Gal & Gus last night, on BBB recommendation, & I thought Ruan Simms was very knowledgeable on the game...she comes from a footy family. There are thousands out there like her...she can play the game but I bet she’s not the only chick that knows the game like the back of her hand.

Sadly she’ll be lost to the Sharks!