Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowd attendances

WithTheDawn

I guess that is what 5 years without making the finals will do to an otherwise popular team. To be honest, most of the teams have fairly shameful numbers though.

Diesel

Canterbury surprises me but they do get a Good Friday and Labour Day Monday to boost crowds.

Well done to the 12000 on average that do turn up.

SpaceMonkey

I guess that is what 5 years without making the finals will do to an otherwise popular team. To be honest, most of the teams have fairly shameful numbers though.

This is exactly it. Our numbers from 2001-2011 were pretty decent most of the time because we made the finals in 7 out of 11 of those years (and still played pretty well in 2006 when we missed out due to the salary cup rort).

Ive been told the club are in panic mode with whats happened this year
Couple of sponsers are likely to go and they cant sell memberships either combine that with low attendances and its almost crisis mode

ozbash

Couple of sponsers are likely to go and they cant sell memberships either combine that with low attendances and its almost crisis mode

That's what makes it so frustrating. We have one of the best teams on paper... we have a nursery aussie clubs can only dream about.. we have probably the loyalist fans in the entire nrl, and yet we are a rabble.

We won't get the spoon but we'll be damned close and you just got to ask why..

SpaceMonkey

Loyalest fans? Only a small core group. In general teams like Newcastle, the Cows, Dogs and Dragons have larger loyal supporter contingents, we seem to have 6-8K die-hards and maybe 3 times as many fair weathers.

Diesel

This doesn't surprise me but where did you hear this?

When is Vodafone signed until?

Would love to know how they'll turn this around.

Penrose Warrior

Yep. Started with the Panthers game (the one we shat the bed in over there) where they were looking decent ticket-wise for Hamilton, there was some good will building...then bam. The jersey burning happened. Well short of budget for the Dragons game and never recovered from there. Memberships, well they can cop that for wheeling out shit performances for six years and actually increasing the price without much if any value add. I doubt Vodafone is going anywhere as name sponsor but they may find some of the others reconsider what they're getting out of it all.

Penrose Warrior

That's what makes it so frustrating. We have one of the best teams on paper... we have a nursery aussie clubs can only dream about.. we have probably the loyalist fans in the entire nrl, and yet we are a rabble.

We won't get the spoon but we'll be damned close and you just got to ask why..

I think we need to bury the old thought that we have this amazing nursery. Physique and pure ability to do things on footy fields we might, but the basic skills and ability to play the game? That's a huge thing and our nursery sucks for that. Sub-par coaches, underdeveloped players.

LeagueNut

Warriors average home crowd attendances:

2017 so far = 12,436
2016 = 14,302
2015 = 14,704
2014 = 17,130
2013 = 16,197
2012 = 17,092
2011 = 15,197
2010 = 13,313
2009 = 15,561
2008 = 12,532
2007 = 14,419
2006 = 8,829
2005 = 13,235
2004 = 10,171
2003 = 16,795
2002 = 16,376
2001 = 12,765
2000 = 12,388
1999 = 11,178
1998 = 9,992
1997 = 15,442
1996 = 19,943
1995 = 25,877

2011 - 2013 were boosted by 30k+ crowds at Eden Park and Wellington. As recently as 2014 we had three crowds of just under 20k at Mt Smart.

ozbash

I think we need to bury the old thought that we have this amazing nursery. Physique and pure ability to do things on footy fields we might, but the basic skills and ability to play the game? That's a huge thing and our nursery sucks for that. Sub-par coaches, underdeveloped players.

So union has become more attractive ?

SpaceMonkey

So union has become more attractive ?

Why wouldn't it? Well run competition, worlds best coaching, five pro teams feeding into one of sports most revered jerseys. League is the poor scruffy cousin living at the caravan park

Blair

Warriors average home crowd attendances:

2017 so far = 12,436
2016 = 14,302
2015 = 14,704
2014 = 17,130
2013 = 16,197
2012 = 17,092
2011 = 15,197
2010 = 13,313
2009 = 15,561
2008 = 12,532
2007 = 14,419
2006 = 8,829
2005 = 13,235
2004 = 10,171
2003 = 16,795
2002 = 16,376
2001 = 12,765
2000 = 12,388
1999 = 11,178
1998 = 9,992
1997 = 15,442
1996 = 19,943
1995 = 25,877

2011 - 2013 were boosted by 30k+ crowds at Eden Park and Wellington. As recently as 2014 we had three crowds of just under 20k at Mt Smart.

It makes for some head-scratching reading. Take 2008, for example. Arguably our best year as a club, but a comparitively poor roll up of fans. It'll be about the same as this year. Were people as unenthuisiastic then as they are now?

Warriorsoul

I think the fans are giving the club a clear message.
Start winning games.

This, but also, the Warriors have become something I didn't think they would ever this year. They're boring to watch. 2nd man plays and runarounds. The occasional flashes, then back to the plod.

I mean, Newcastle have a much crapper team than us but they're slogging their guts out to the last minute, even when they're obviously hopelessly outclassed. And so the fans respond to that a bit, and are willing to cut Brown some slack. He's also been upfront about where they're at. We've got a team that on paper is a million dollars better than the Knights, but our guys compete for about half the game, then heads go down and they just seem to give up. And then we hear the same lines about how, nope, we're only this far from getting it right, it's only the little things letting us down, we just need to trust the processes and everything will be fine.

No signing or even sniffs for next year. I don't necessarily want to see marquee signings, but we're reduced at the moment to scraps, and the ones we're supposedly chasing (Folau?!) don't in any way plug the gaping holes in our roster.

I used to get p1ssed off when the Warriors lost, almost embarassingly so. This year... Meh. Sure, I'm a bit annoyed, but I get over it pretty quick. And I hate that.

This doesn't surprise me but where did you hear this?

When is Vodafone signed until?

Would love to know how they'll turn this around.

Know a couple of peeps that report directly to the club in regards to memberships. Ive been asked to help out and try and sell memberships at the Warriors Soufs game at ANZ in a couple of weeks by being given 100 caps to give out as a sweetner. Easier pushing sh!t uphill i reckon

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Know a couple of peeps that report directly to the club in regards to memberships. Ive been asked to help out and try and sell memberships at the Warriors Soufs game at ANZ in a couple of weeks by being given 100 caps to give out as a sweetner. Easier pushing sh!t uphill i reckon
Good on ya Stealth.