Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Crowds

Moffo

7,900 in Perth
5,000 at Central Coast
1,900 in New Zealand

I think that Johnny boy needs to realise that he has emerging problems outside of the strong Melb/Bris/Syd teams

Southernsaint said:
1,900?? Geez...

As we're in the AFC now, do we need to bother with Auckland & the OFC??

Probably not.

The rumours are getting stronger that next season could be there last being replaced Tasmania. The rumour of the Mariners being relocated to Wollongong won't go away either. I have from one of the Mariners board that in 2007 it could be an option.

DB

John O Neil has stated that they have to keep NZ in for 5 years, as they are in the original contract

perth sharkie

Glory would've gotten a bigger crowd if the FFA didn't make them play on a Friday night. Friday night matches don't work in Perth, and we never did them in the old NSL. The FFA will need to decide where their priorities lie next season - more TV coverage or bigger crowds?

As for NZ and CC, they're both sh*t and are both letting down the rest of the league. NZ is a lost cause, and CC doesn't have a big enough population to sustain a decent team (even if they had an NRL team, they probably would get some of the lowest crowds in the league). Shame that a six team league is far too small.

The CC is the biggest worry I think. But I thought Wollongong were in millions of dollars of debt so how could they come in? Also would a Tasmanian side work?

Tommy Smith

Unknown Pleasures said:
The CC is the biggest worry I think. But I thought Wollongong were in millions of dollars of debt so how could they come in? Also would a Tasmanian side work?
I reckon it would. They're starved of sport down there and im sure theyd love a national team.

Also, as ive said before, i reckon a team should be up here in Townsville. I know its hot, but when you look at NZ's crowd figures i dont see how you could go wrong. You'd get a good crowd every week up here as they support everything. Not just the Cowboys but the Crocs are big up here too and always draw a full house. Id go for sure.

If the league is going to succeed they need teams that will be well supported. It flows from there really. No good having teams that draw 5'000 every week.

Raider Ultra

The FFA has to strongly consider breaching their contract with NZ, they are an absolute disgrace. They could move that team to any city in Australia with a population over 50 000 and they would draw more. I was at the Adelaide match today, it was all but a sell-out with 15000, so there were some positives this weekend.

perth sharkie

Tommy Smith said:
I reckon it would. They're starved of sport down there and im sure theyd love a national team.

Also, as ive said before, i reckon a team should be up here in Townsville. I know its hot, but when you look at NZ's crowd figures i dont see how you could go wrong. You'd get a good crowd every week up here as they support everything. Not just the Cowboys but the Crocs are big up here too and always draw a full house. Id go for sure.

If the league is going to succeed they need teams that will be well supported. It flows from there really. No good having teams that draw 5'000 every week.

I agree, Townsville would be my first choice for an A-League team.

So possible areas:
Townsville
Hobart
Wollongong
Second sides in Melbourne and Sydney

Anywhere else?
I think the league should only expand to 10 teams at the most for the first six to eight years.

I doubt Tassie would work.

The Centy Coast has been a bit of a let down but it's one that is worth sticking with. Great stadium, only major code in town, ever growing population, derby games with Newcastle and Sydney ect.

I thought maybe the League should have taken a gamble and started with two teams in Melbourne and Sydney. As it is most game attending football fans in these cities have jumped on the FC and Victory bandwagons and that makes it so much more difficult for any new clubs coming in.

bender

2 teams in Sydney and Melbourne is against the whole principle of the A League and would have made it just another NSL failure.

Central Coast crowds are averaging over 5000. That is good by previous national soccer league average figures. It isnt all that much below the Central coast figures for the Northern Eagles rugby league team for their last year. Anyone who expected all that much more was kidding themself.

The New Zealand Knights might be pathetic, but anyone who judges their crowds this year is kidding themself. They are not competive and are an absolute rabble of a side. Much like the warriors were for a long time, back when people were calling for them to be kicked out (have the calls started up again, yet). Or much like the crowds Souths, Balmain, Wests, Norths, Newtown etc used to get in the old NSWRL in the years they were getting flogged. Like the warriors, the NZ knights will get better and have their chance to get a niche over in New Zealand.

The problem with most people on this site is that they try to judge crowds based on Rugby League standards. Soccer is not rugby league in Australia.

Moffo

people like rivalries bender. There are no genuine ones in the a-league. Perhaps Melb/Syd will develop but you will always have SFA away fans at games

Get 2 sydney teams going and maybe a bit of rivalry will develop. Watching two teams from other sides of the continent would hardly excite a lot of people

phonetic

I think there are serious issues with the quality of soccer being played. I have watched a lot of the games on Fox, but haven't been drawn to attend an actual match at all. Not an attractive product IMO.

Agreed NZ are the worst of a bad bunch.

phonetic said:
I think there are serious issues with the quality of soccer being played. I have watched a lot of the games on Fox, but haven't been drawn to attend an actual match at all. Not an attractive product IMO.

Agreed NZ are the worst of a bad bunch.

There have been a few good games . Sydney v Adelaide on the weekend probably the pick of them.

If you want top quality the A League isn't for you I guess. but if you want to spend your time supporting a club side having a laugh and going to the footy in summer as you do in winter well it's perfect for you.

The league is probably equivalent to league 2 in England a bit below for NZ.

Moffo said:
people like rivalries bender. There are no genuine ones in the a-league. Perhaps Melb/Syd will develop but you will always have SFA away fans at games

Get 2 sydney teams going and maybe a bit of rivalry will develop. Watching two teams from other sides of the continent would hardly excite a lot of people

Exactly.

And it's for this reason that I'm glad the NRL will never go national. Like I care about some nuff team from Perth.

Tyler Durden

sheeeesh -
real rivalries are not created overnight.
give it a few years, a bit of history, and the rivalries will set in.

d3@t3h

Moffo said:
7,900 in Perth
5,000 at Central Coast
1,900 in New Zealand

I think that Johnny boy needs to realise that he has emerging problems outside of the strong Melb/Bris/Syd teams

how no come no mention of the Adelaide game?