Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Curious

Hooper

I am sorry if this one has been posted previously. I am just curious as to what the best game of football is that you have seen a Sharks side play. Some might say it was when we put 60 on Manly in 2005 or 60 on Newcastle in 2002 or came back from 18-0 down at half time against the Cowboys and won last year.

For mine, the best game of footy that a Sharks 1st grade side has played would be the play off for 5th spot on the Tuesday night against the Brisbane Broncos back in 1989. I was lucky enough to be at Parramatta Stadium that night and see the boys play. Great memories!

ah...depends.

games i was at

all girth backs to the wall gutsy win - this year vs dragons

best team performance - 2001 Semi vs Bulldogs. 52-10

great win in a quality match vs good opponent - 2002 mid year vs the roosters. quality game. peach scored a good try.

Ausguy

knights game was the best to be at... 42-0 at half time all tries scored pretty much right infront of me

knights game was the best to be at... 42-0 at half time all tries scored pretty much right in front of me

That's my favorite game of all time.

The stunned look on Andrew Johns face was priceless.

The wrecking ball run of Paul Mellor which finished in a try was very funny.

snoozer

the hiding we gave manly in the mid 2000's.
remember it well because it was my birthday and was watching at the club with a heap of manly fans who all pretty much left at half time.

the hiding we gave manly in the mid 2000's.
remember it well because it was my birthday and was watching at the club with a heap of manly fans who all pretty much left at half time.

I'm pretty sure a young Besty would have been playing on the wing in that game, Langy's last year at the Sharks, before the Anderson 'dark ages'!:roll:

Home game in 88 shortly before the semi's v's Caturbury.. Really hard game, both good teams smashing each other to bits, Bulldogs up by 2 with 5mins to go. Barry Russell gets the ball from the scrumbase and shoots around in a brilliant run with the defense just caught napping for a milli second to score a try underneath the posts. Big crowd errupted. Happy days.

snoozer

Home game in 88 shortly before the semi's v's Canturbury.. Really hard game, both good teams smashing each other to bits, Bulldogs up by 2 with 5mins to go. Barry Russell gets the ball from the scrumbase and shoots around in a brilliant run with the defense just caught napping for a milli second to score a try underneath the posts. Big crowd errupted. Happy days.
was that the game that terry lamb belted speechley?

There is only one game I am dreaming of now. And it is in the future (I hope)

Pig Champion

Belting the knights was special but the comeback at brookie to actually end up flogging them was even better. Was there, my only time. At half time it was very depressing and that was just the fact they stopped serving full strength beer. Sometime in the early 2000's maybe. It's all a blur.

Plastered

A bit of an odd one. Round 4, 1990, Caltex Field, Sharks 8 - Raiders 7.

Was your classic arm wrestle type game against THE Raiders team. ET scored at the death to win it (with an Alan Wilson conversion). He was ambling sideways across the defensive line, then just hit the afterburners and sliced through at an angle from about 15 out to score under the posts. One of my most cherished ET memories. I remember our mate Ricky being quite bitter about it too :lol:

Our team that day (thanks fluff forum)

Full Jonathan Docking
Wing Alan Wilson
Cent Andrew Ettingshausen
Cent Mark McGaw
Wing John Davidson
5/8 Michael Speechley
Half Laurie Spina
Prop Danny Lee
Hook Luke Massey
Prop Dan Stains
Sec Craig Dimond
Sec Gavin Miller
Lock David Hatch
Int Michael Porter
Int Mitch Healey
CoachAlan Fitzgibbon

Plastered

Yeah I'm amazed we won any games with Laurie Spina at half, although we did have the best ball playing 2nd rower of all time in the team. Also notice the 3 prop front row.

shadowboxer

Dunno...personal one..
sitting in peter burns, free ticket, cold beers, freezing cold sat night playing manly and preston campbell came to life..exciting to watch and thrilled to watch his rise and actually think we were onto something as a team etc..cant remember the score although we did smash em and presto waved to the camera after a try and said gday to his pop...
Stellar year that one...I think last home game was Father and son langs last game, belting sunshine, cold beer and a cracking game.........ah the memories..
Tear down the grandstand....