Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Darwin game vs Cowboys team thread

Incorrect

I'd prefer to let Guth roam both sides of the field, his footballing instincts are very good.... for that reason I'd have him in the #1 and move French to the flank which would allow us to play Davis in his preferred centre position... I guess it depends though on which side he usually plays - Stags?

emjaycee

Surely BA knew on Tuesday afo Mannah / Vave were unlikely (or at long odds) to play and named his side accordingly. I doubt it was a surprise to BA they pulled out!!
I wouldn't disagree although i think he may have been confident one of them would of been okay. Otherwise why not name Windscreens in the 21 as coverage? He only named Gower and Niukore as forwards in the 21 man squad. Not enough coverage for both Mannah and Vave if he thought he would loose (sp) them both.

emjaycee

cheers mate, he wasn't mentioned in the article as to when he will be available

I'm starting to think we will never be back to full strength
Actually last weeks injury list has Jenko as returning Round 16 (that is our bye round so effectively round 17 I guess).

I wouldn't disagree although i think he may have been confident one of them would of been okay. Otherwise why not name Windscreens in the 21 as coverage? He only named Gower and Niukore as forwards in the 21 man squad. Not enough coverage for both Mannah and Vave if he thought he would loose (sp) them both.

Mannah hurt himself in session 2 and Vave did his calf in the captains run - I'm sure if BA was given more time he would of thrown Rory a jersey but now his busted with a dodgy ankle.

emjaycee

Mannah hurt himself in session 2 and Vave did his calf in the captains run - I'm sure if BA was given more time he would of thrown Rory a jersey but now his busted with a dodgy ankle.
Thanks Stagger - that was my point. Rory wasnt named in last weeks 21 because BA didn't know he would lose 2 middle forwards until after the 21 was named.

Will he pick a 4th forward for the bench and if so, who do you think?

Thanks Stagger - that was my point. Rory wasnt named in last weeks 21 because BA didn't know he would lose 2 middle forwards until after the 21 was named.

Will he pick a 4th forward for the bench and if so, who do you think?
It could've been Meehan if the NRL would stop dicking us about. Yet the Broncos are free to play Lodge any time they like. I'd ask how that's fair but obviously no one has the answer.

that's actually incorrect or am I missing 1 of these sarcastic jokes ???

Djay

I'd prefer to let Guth roam both sides of the field, his footballing instincts are very good.... for that reason I'd have him in the #1 and move French to the flank which would allow us to play Davis in his preferred centre position... I guess it depends though on which side he usually plays - Stags?
Agreed, the Guthbus has to have free roam, his too good honestly, his stint at fullback was awesome.

It won't hurt French to throw him on the wing, he certainly managed 19 tries in 13 games there last year, it wouldn't be all that bad. But I can also see why BA would wanna keep him there, it's a tricky situation simply because putting Guth on the wing is honestly a waste for me.

Sounds like Mannah will be fit and Normans a chance.
So Mannah comes in for Gower.
Norman for Hoffman with Gutherson to centre and Auvau if fit to wing.
I reckon we coukd throw Gjennings,Faraimo,Falou and could do a job.

I dont see BA calling up Twal,Tanginoa or Uelsai. I reckon he would just throw KE into front row. And with Jennings back soon Taka will move to bench utility.

Sounds like Mannah will be fit and Normans a chance.
So Mannah comes in for Gower.
Norman for Hoffman with Gutherson to centre and Auvau if fit to wing.
I reckon we coukd throw Gjennings,Faraimo,Falou and could do a job.

I dont see BA calling up Twal,Tanginoa or Uelsai. I reckon he would just throw KE into front row. And with Jennings back soon Taka will move to bench utility.

If we had to choose between those 3 blokes I'd run with Uelesi, he's playing his best footy of his career and is injury free ( f**k I've just put the mock on him )

What about gennings as a winger in front of Davis makes more sense

Gennings is struggling with an injury at the moment, the other bloke has been great form other than his hands which have let him down on occasions, he's also a big body and a handful for the opposition.

If we had to choose between those 3 blokes I'd run with Uelesi, he's playing his best footy of his career and is injury free ( f**k I've just put the mock on him )

Big kid. Never really kicked on. Still not that old. Would be great to see.

It won't hurt French to throw him on the wing, he certainly managed 19 tries in 13 games there last year
No he scored 13 tries in 11 games on the wing. He scored another 6 tries in 2 games at fullback.
it wouldn't be all that bad. But I can also see why BA would wanna keep him there, it's a tricky situation simply because putting Guth on the wing is honestly a waste for me.
Everything Gutherson is good at - support play, defence, running from dummy half - he can do at centre.