Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Day or Night Grand Final?

Would you prefer a Day or Night Grand Final

NRL Grand Final - Night or Day. And why?

Me - Night.

Why? Better atmosphere IMO (been to last 3 GF's, and 3 Day GF's before it). There's just something about the night that makes the crowd get more involved, and breeds and a tense vibe at the game (alcohol perhaps??). Also, its better exposure for the game - higher ratings nationwide.

I know most of my mates prefer days and know their reasons. But let us know yours either way.

lockyno1

Not sure. I am 50/50 on it. I can see the advantages of a night grand final though for revenue purposes. The best GF'S I have been to were day GF'S!

Utey

Bring back John Fifita said:
NRL Grand Final - Night or Day. And why?

Me - Night.

Why? Better atmosphere IMO (been to last 3 GF's, and 3 Day GF's before it). There's just something about the night that makes the crowd get more involved, and breeds and a tense vibe at the game (alcohol perhaps??). Also, its better exposure for the game - higher ratings nationwide.

Ditto!

Night for mine.

Ice777

Day. I think you can make more of an occasion of it with watching it during the day and party into the night. I know you can still have that at night but for me it's just better during the day. I know i'll spew if they ever change the AFL GF to night time, it just wouldn't be the same i don't think.

Sugar

DAY for me live in qld no public holiday monday so prefer bbq, beer, gf in the arvo and the kids dont have to stay up late to see it (they get grumpy b4
school if they stay up) imo not so social at night can make a big party of the
day more of a family thing at night

Master Vippo

I dont really mind. They are both pretty good, but probably leaning a little more toward night. Especially if Nine make a day of it and have Flegg and PL GFs on TV as well with heaps of analists and pregame hype.

Red Bear

Day feels more like a footy game to me in some ways

Night seems, i dunno, slightly fake at times (probly moreso in the regular season).

petetheileet

the first time they did it i thought it was a great idea...however i miss the GF day atmosphere and being able to do something after it...i think it would be day for mine + i still havnt seen my team in a night one, that probably has a bearing on my opinion

Leagueguy

You can argue it either way. I think people need to realize though that David Gallop doesn't personally pocket the extra revenues it generates. That money goes back into growing the game.

BrisVegas

Day, although Saturday Night would be acceptable. By the time the game is finished on Sunday night you have to start thinking about going to bed for work the following morning. The Grand Final used to be a great excuse to throw a BBQ/party, now that has almost been wiped out. A move to Sunday afternoon/saturday night could reverse the tend.

imasharkie

Definetly day for me. Being a Queenslander we don't have the priveledge to have the Monday off. NSW gets it's way again.

Although having said that I would prefer the Grand Final to be a Saturday night/day wouldn't matter then because the hangover would have subsided by Monday morning unless the Sharkies won. Then I'd have to have a months annual leave.

I dont mind both, night GF is good cause it is a good atmosphere, build up and there's a public holiday the next day. They should put it on Saturday if they wanna keep night Grand Finals.

But I prefer day GF's, the Sunday Grand Final BBQ was always a great thing. You get up in the morning, then about 10am the 3rd grade comp, then while you start preparing the food the reserves, then finally game time 3pm. There's great build up. I dont mind the Sunday night GF's, but now since theyve scrapped Sunday alvo semi's, its just wont be the same as any other final series. Why do the NRL have to take away the tradition?:(

ledzep

I don't mind night, but, as others have said, Saturday night
The administrators need to realise not everyone has a Public Holiday the day after.