Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dear FFB, I would like advice

Although I don't know any of you personally, I'd welcome your thoughts and advice on a situation of mine. Pisstakes are welcome too, but tell me what you reckon......

In 2001 while I was travelling in Europe I spent some time Travelling in the Scottish Highlands. I was with a backpacker tour and amongst other places we spent a night at Inverness, at the base of Loch Ness. After a midnight swim in the Loch (Faaaaarrrking freezing - middle of winter) we went back to a local pub for a few drinks. And I met her....

The pub was full of people singing and kicking it right off, an awesome pub. Her name is Gemma. she came into the pub with a few of her friends, and damn near knocked me over, she was gorgeous. Pretty soon I went over and started chatting to the group, and me an Gemma got talking. We were both amazingly keen on each other and a bunch of us all went back to our hostel to continue the night. We both pretty much stuck with each other, apart from when her friend hit me up for a threesome (yes, its true). She was pretty hot too, but had a fair bit to drink. As the rest left G stayed, and we danced to the beats on the stetch, made out, and talk until sun-up (no sex). I got her number, she gave me a goodbye kiss, I left town the next morning, and that's the only time I've ever seen her.

We kept in contact for a long time over the phone & email. She was gonna come out to OZ the following June, but some family dramas prevented it. Then we lost contact about 2 years ago, in which time I'd pretty much let it go, thinking that was the end to the story. That was, until yesterday when she rang me while I was driving to work....

As it turned out, we had both been trying to reach each other (wont go into the weird reasons why it didnt work) but we failed to recommunicate. In this time, I've had & lost a girlfriend, and she a fella. But we spoke for a good hour, and it stirred up all the old feelings again. I had never been the "love-at-first-sight" kind of guy, and never thought I would be. But when I saw her that first time it fair & square punched me between the eyes, and she said the same thing. Talking again on the phone, I can't stop thinking about her.

I've just started dating a girl here who is adorable & lovely, and there's definite potential for a future. But now there's been a huge spanner in the works.

I'm actually heading over to London for New Years, and I'm reall tempted to Head up to Scotland and meet her again. I really don't know what to expect, but I've thought that if it happened all over again I'm not gonna want to come back. She was 19 when I met her, and even though its been 5 years I know (and she does too) that the feelings were still overwhelming

Its one of those moments in life where your at the crossroads. I'm the kind of guy who doesn't want to die wondering, and always takes a chance (you don't want to be sitting on a porch when your 60 thinking of the things you should have done rather than those you have done). Should I see her or is it best to leave it be???

She would definitely be the one, and will always be in the back of my mind no matter what. But due to personal circumstances neither of us could move to each others country to live.

Sounds like a D-grade romance flick, get your sick bags out eh?? Thoughts??

Utey

omfg, tbh I felt the same thing for every foreign chick I was with while one holiday. They are a diff brand of woman no doubt. Nice story though.

Utey

Mate if you cant put up with a bit of PMS, you'll be single for a long time.

id suggest taking the current cute and adoreable chick with you to met the scottish lass, and then the friend aswell and make it a orgy... but thats just me

outside that, id go and see her, if the feelings are still there and she is the one, forget personal circumstances, make it work, some how, some way find a way to make it work. No point stringing along the poor girl your with atm if you've got stronger feelings for someone else

[furrycat]

<UPtheEELS> said:
Mate if you cant put up with a bit of PMS, you'll be single for a long time.

There is a difference between 'a little PMS' and PMT/PMDD

Read my thread from a while ago. You want to put up with that, you'll be the unhappy one for the rest of your life :p

[furrycat]

[furrycat] said:
There is a difference between 'a little PMS' and PMT/PMDD

Read my thread from a while ago. You want to put up with that, you'll be the unhappy one for the rest of your life :p

I'd add more :p

Being accused of going into her emails and deleting things
Being abused for nothing
Having really off things said
Being accused of ridiculous things
1000 other things

Read my thread- quite a good read :p

Utey

lol i had a pyscho ex, it forced me to jump off her balcony and she stole my clothes.

2 True Blues

You obviously still feel heaps for her and that makes me think it is likely your feelings for her are stronger than those you currently feel for the girl you have recently met over here, as otherwise you would not have posted this thread.

In that case chase that dream and find out for sure either way.

You posted that she currently broke up with a guy she was seein over there. If you had not have posted that I was already thinking it to be the case. Thus why she had not contacted you for so long. It was obvious she was seeing someone to me.

I would enquire as to if that guy she was seeing sleezed on her and left her, ETC, as she may just be on the rebound from a hurt she is still feeling from that relationship. That other guy was obvioucly enough for her to stop contatcting you in the past, is she just trying to use you to get over him ETC. Having said that you obviously made an impression on her mate, as when she broke up with him she thought of contacting you first ( or so it would appear ). Or is she contacting and seeing other blokes over there and you are just one of the many she is using to retore her self esteem, ( if he left her ). Although getting an honest answer about who left who is another question with chicks anyway !!!!

Anyway mate. could go on, however you only live once, and dont die wondering. See how it goes. You did not even sleep with each other yet she still contacted you. There must be something there for sure, and she obviously never forgot you. You obviously are not more attracted to the girl you just met over her, and have some unsettled business ( questions ) to attend to.

I say go for it. !!!! Wether you let the girl over here know about it, or keep her on the reserve bench is worthy of an entirely seperate thread...LOL...

Good luck cobber either way !!!!!

Mr. Fahrenheit

Chaase the dream mate, no two ways about it, if you stay here you will alwayd wonder what might of been? So when you head over to england tell this chick you are seeing now that u 2 need a 'break'. and then Go over to scotland and see how that works out... if it doesnt you can alwayys come back to australia...

Maggie

I reckon go for it.
If these feelings have lasted this long then i dont see why you shouldnt give it a go.
If it doenst work out at least then for the rest of your life you wont be thinking "what if" and life is too short for that.

f**k going overseas and travelling hundreds of kilometers to hook up with a chick you met for less than a day.

I reckon it is lust more than anything. Stick with the aussie chick.

Believe me, I know lust and this aint it. Lust doesn't last for 5 years, and can easily be fixed by a one-nighter etc etc.

I'll continue dating my new interest and see how that pans out. What I do as far as Scotland is concerned will depend on how things progress there.

gee i hope your aussie bird does decide to join up to LU
ive had that happen once, talked to my raider pals over at another forum about an issue a few weeks latter the chick found the site and looked up my history... me = f**ked!

Raider_69 said:
gee i hope your aussie bird does decide to join up to LU
ive had that happen once, talked to my raider pals over at another forum about an issue a few weeks latter the chick found the site and looked up my history... me = f**ked!

Errrrrrrrrr...if that happens...........then I'll definitely be heading up to Scotland.........