Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dear Ivan

Vozzy

We basically have a whole new team next year if rumors of other players are true.

1. Lolahea
2. Noufaluma
3. Fonua
4. Suli
5. Thompson
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Mckillrick
10. Matulino
11. McQueen
12. Lawrence
13. Taylor

14. Sue
15. Aloia
16. Twal
17. Liddell

I'm looking forward to a fresh start. Will probably take time for team to gel.

It's a team with a lot less stars but it look likes a solid first grade team. Honestly I think this year our squad is potentially better but these merkins have created so much drama the season is f**ked.

I really hope we pick up a solid performer or two in the backs prior to next season.

We basically have a whole new team next year if rumors of other players are true.

1. Lolahea
2. Noufaluma
3. Fonua
4. Suli
5. Thompson
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Mckillrick
10. Matulino
11. McQueen
12. Lawrence
13. Taylor

14. Sue
15. Aloia
16. Twal
17. Liddell

Shouldn't take as long as the current team. The core have been together for about 4 years and they still haven't gelled.

Tiger Ted

1. Lolahea
2. Noufaluma
3. Fonua
4. Suli
5. Thompson
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Mckillrick
10. Matulino
11. McQueen
12. Lawrence
13. Taylor

14. Sue
15. Aloia
16. Twal
17. Liddell

I'm expecting another 3 - 5 recruits & hence an even stronger team than this one.

I really hope we don't sign Eastwood as we can do better with spending of our cap.

Also expect marsters & hopefully 1 or 2 others from state cup to b pushing for a spot in the NRL team next season.

All in all things r looking good for next season & beyond.Fingers crossed that the wheels don't fall abysmally apart for the rest of '16.

Tigers Tale

I think some of the players we are linked to are all waiting to see what happens with their current teams. For example Milne. If the Dragons lose Dugan they will have money to keep players like Milne and they wont come across to us. We just have to wait to see how the merry-go-round ends up.

Tigers Tale

Just on that subject, are we supposed to be signing Alex Johnson from the Bunnies. A mate was telling me last night we have him wrapped up.

Anyone know if that is on the money?

sensesmaybenumbed

Shouldn't take as long as the current team. The core have been together for about 4 years and they still haven't gelled.
And that's the problem. For all of their supposed ability and potential, they were simply incapable of consistently lifting the team around them. The fact that they appear to blame others around them for this lack of success is just ridiculous. They are the spine of the team. That's their job.

Hand that man a Tooheys.

dallas1

Once we're rid of turnstyle tacklers like Moses,10 games a season Tedesco, and a front rower who thinks making a couple offloads a half is great - Woods, we'll start moving forward. Kevvy Naquama and Noufaluma out back with Suli ,Brooks and the Grub in the halves, Mcilwrick at hooker, Packer Taylor Lawrence Sue up front, is Dugan off contract? That's 11 of 13 that would not take a backward step. Tommy as assistant coach and we're top 4

leaguelegend21

Lads trust me we cannot have Thompson and Fonua on the wing. They are both literally 5 foot 5 they make Matt Utai look like Naynay Macdonald. I think Fonua on one flank with another decent outside back. Thompson can be an apt reserve.

I think Thompson will be a fringe signing, can push for a spot but not guarenteed. He is small but is quick and a good finisher, interestingly he played all his juniours as a fullback and was pretty highly rated.

Fonua has played all his ESL career at right center, my guess is thats where he is signed to play for us too

super_coach

1. Lolahea
2. Noufaluma
3. Fonua
4. Suli
5. Thompson
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. Mckillrick
10. Matulino
11. McQueen
12. Lawrence
13. Taylor

14. Sue
15. Aloia
16. Twal
17. Liddell

We need at least two very good NRL standard players in addition to your team. Okay the above team is solid, but will still struggle to beat a lot of teams. The 14,15,16 and 17 are still not consistent enough for the NRL. We need at least one more fast outside back and a class backrower and even another bench front rower, but I guess the kids can fill that role

I think Fonua is more of a winger than a centre. That is the position he has been playing in England. I have no idea if Lolahea is going to make it at fullback.

I'd love one impact forward and an impact back plus another option at fullback. Getting those types of players though is extremely hard. If we get them we then look to have a team that can win plenty of games. You can even get younger players to fill out those roles.

Even without those additions though I think our squad is looking decent.

super_coach

I think Fonua is more of a winger than a centre. That is the position he has been playing in England. I have no idea if Lolahea is going to make it at fullback.

I'd love one impact forward and an impact back plus another option at fullback. Getting those types of players though is extremely hard. If we get them we then look to have a team that can win plenty of games. You can even get younger players to fill out those roles.

Even without those additions though I think our squad is looking decent.

There will be some big fish come onto the market when the final salary cap figure is announced. So I say sit back and be patient and hey we might actually get a player that another club is picking up half the tab. Be a nice change

super_coach - you have a good point there. I'd be inclined to start fishing for backrow and outside back talent at other clubs. I think now the highest priority though is the backrow.

I think the team already though is stating to look solid.

1. Lolohea
2. Nofoaluma
3. Watene-Zelezniak
4. Suli
5. Fonua
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Packer
9. McIlwrick
10. Matulino
11. McQueen
12. Lawrence
13. Taylor

14. Grant
15. Aloia
16. Sue
17. Liddell

I think those players are basically already signed up for next year.

To me the weaknesses are as follows:-

Lolohea. Can this guy play ? Seriously he is a reserve grade player for the Warriors. I suppose Cleary has shown he knows what he is doing.
Fonua. Is he an NRL quality winger ? I'm heaps less concerned over Fonua though compared to Lolohea. Can he play on the left side (Nofo plays right side) ?
Sue. He is completely average. So many dud plays for the occasional good play. I don't see how he makes first grade unless he improves his discipline significantly.
McQueen/Lawrence in the backrow. We really need a backrower who can bust the line.
Bench. Grant & Sue are pretty uninspiring.

I know I'm being critical here. At the same time I'm pretty positive because it'll only take a couple more quality signings and the team looks good. A backrower like Hess or Cordner. Someone like Fifita off the bench. I know that these players aren't going to be at the Tigers but a couple of quality signings in the pack and if Lolohea can do the job at fullback and that team could compete.

Shredder

05 Grant is off contract
I suspect that Suli and nofo will play the same side.

I agree, we are still way average in the bench. I think we still need another prop and another two back rowers.

Keeping in mind we also got that young giant from Parramatta Twal.

BrotherJim05

I reckon the team will shape up in 2018 something like:

1. *Lolohea
2. Nofa
3. Suli
4. *Fonua
5. *New signing (not Thompson)
6. Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. Mautilino
9. McIlwrick
10. Packer
11. Mcqueen
12. Lawrence
13. ET

14. Sue
15. Twal
16. MCK
17. Liddle

This is a solid team, but it is not a world beater team. I reckon we will make a push to finals but we will struggle a bit to gel like all new teams do. I'm pretty worried about fullback position as well. It's such an important position and Lolohea is fairly untested. Sucks that we couldn't keep Tedesco.

We will likely not even spend our full cap with the above team and probably front load a number of players contracts. We can then add to the above with a couple of bigger signings for 2019 (into a team that is starting to really gel) and make a really strong push for a premiership.