Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dear Jerome

Skinner

How are you mate,

Just thought I'd drop you a quick note after noticing you picked up the
number 6 jumper for the Warriors this week (is it a blue moon this week
mate, or something). Twice last year wasn't it, and here we are at game
two and you're in the bugger all ready.

Just thought I'd give you the word, mate, on this board, and others there are
quite a few wannabes and tryhards, League experts, everyone of them.

Just to give you some examples Jerome, they say that you can't be a
Stand-Off because you haven't played enough at Centre - I'm not exactly
sure which Coaching Manual that came from but I thought I'd give you the
tip anyway (just in case). They also say that you don't have a kicking
game. I'd venture to say that your colleague in the number 7 doesn't exactly
set the world on fire with his boot either, but that doesn't really seem to
concern them. Oh yeah, and they also say that you can't tackle.....

Find it in your heart (and I know it's huge) mate, to forgive them, for they
know not what they say. They haven't watched you, from being a youngster
playing in the number 6. They haven't watched and applauded you in elite
teams, Rep teams, the St Pauls team that frightened the living crap out of
the Aussie College teams (perhaps I should get copies of those videos mate,
and give them to the "experts"). They haven't watched you being coached
by the very best this country and performing accordingly.

Whatever happens on the weekend mate, I wish you well, if it turns to crap,
come back next week and make up for it - but most of all, make that number
6 jumper yours, for it rightfully is.

PS the first one has come in below

NZ Warrior

That was beautiful, Skooter (The painful optimist above^). But, you do realise that someone could come along and say exactly the same thing about Lauaki.

The thing is, I'm watching the same matches as everyone else. And most people are obviously seeing the same problems that I have. If you've watched the game for long enough, you do become an expert. Unfortunately, you also become a critic.

My avatar didn't just get slapped on there because I did such a good job of a photo in Paint. I didn't just set up The Jerome Ropati Haters' Society for the hell of it. I generally think, that if the Warriors keep f**king around with Jerome Ropati at stand off, it is going to be to the teams' detriment.

He is going to turn out like Cliff Beverley & Shane Endacott, players that shone in the junior grades, but never quite made the step up to NRL level.

I honestly think his future lies as a centre. I think he could make something of himself there. But to do that, he has to develop a better passing game.

And Jerome, if you're reading this, I can't be found, don't bother looking for me.

Kind Regards,

Parramatta Warrior.
President of the Jerome Ropati Haters' Society.

ozbash

Skinner said:
How are you mate,

Just thought I'd drop you a quick note after noticing you picked up the
number 6 jumper for the Warriors this week (is it a blue moon this week
mate, or something). Twice last year was'nt it, and here we are at game
two and you're in the bugger all ready.

Just thought I'd give you the word, mate, on this board, and others there are
quite a few wannabes and tryhards, League experts, everyone of them.

Just to give you some examples Jerome, they say that you can't be a
Stand-Off because you haven't played enough at Centre - I'm not exactly
sure which Coaching Manual that came from but I thought I'd give you the
tip anyway (just in case). They also say that you don't have a kicking
game. I'd venture to say that your collegue in the number 7 doesn't exactly
set the world on fire with his boot either, but that doesn't really seem to
concern them. Oh yeah, and they also say that you can't tackle.....

Find it in your heart (and I know it's huge) mate, to forgive them, for they
know not what they say. They haven't watched you, from being a youngster
playing in the number 6. They haven't watched and applauded you in elite
teams, Rep teams, the St Pauls team that frightened the living crap out of
the Aussie College teams (perhaps I should get copies of those videos mate,
and give them to the "experts"). They haven't watched you being coached
by the very best this country and performing accordingly.

Whatever happens on the weekend mate, I wish you well, if it turns to crap,
come back next week and make up for it - but most of all, make that number
6 jumper yours, for it rightfully is.

PS the first one has come in below

:clap: :clap:

wonderful stuff skinna. i just hope the right people read it and realise the error of their ways.:-$

good luck on saturday night ropo, i,ll be cheering for you...\\\\:D/ \\\\:D/

-Dr.J-

GO JEROME!!!

Don't worry about the haters, you have the skills mate now please prove them all wrong.. You are what the Warriors need, a real six, someone with a difference!

NZ Warrior

-Dr.J- said:
GO JEROME!!!

Don't worry about the haters, you have the skills mate now please prove them all wrong.. You are what the Warriors need, a real six, someone with a difference!

:lol: The J doesn't stand for Jerome by any chance, does it???

MKEB...

I remain agnostic on the Ropati front.
Ambivalence is a neat thing...

Iafeta

I further wish to back up Skinner's sentiments. By the way, beautiful mate, beautiful.

Jerome, I really look forward to seeing you step off your right, dummy outside, and get thrashed by the right shoulder of a Nathan Cayless and Nathan Hindmarsh some 17 times in the game.

Jerome, I really enjoy watching the no frills no thrills no spills type of footy, the outside backs will be eternally grateful for the 4 times they touch the ball in the game which come courtesy of ill directed passes across the face of the halves or cut out passes missing the stand off.

Jerome, I thoroughly look forward to watching you direct us around the park with your kicking game. Adding to your tally of 0 effective NRL kicks will be interesting.

Go get 'em tiger! Maybe one day, maybe too late like the case was with Vinnie Anderson we'll realise he's in actual fact a no frills backrower and not a five eighth.

SpaceMonkey

Give the guy a break. He was signed as a 5/8 but how much opportunity has he been given there? I can't remember one game where he's worn #6, he's been constantly f*cked around positionally. 0 Effective kicks? Maybe that's because he's been playing at centre and he's been told it's not his role!!!

Iafeta

He has played 6 before. Only twice last year, but he played outside Stacey in 2003.

Its fine to criticise those with a negative opinion on him, but rather than discard those who do, why don't you tell us what you have seen from Jerome Ropati that indicates he is a number six. Not, oh I feel he's a number six, or oh he played all his junior footy there, what have you seen from Jerome Ropati that shows the skills required to play number 6. People have described him in forums as a specialist number 6, but aside from playing junior/bartercard card footy there, what skills has he shown that show he is a capable NRL number 6. Thomas Leuluai was a capable Bartercard #7, but he wasn't a capable NRL number 7 - the skills are different.

Iafeta

FTR, I'm not in NzWockas club even though he tried to offer me a pyramid scheme payment to join - I just think from the skills I have seen him display he is like Vinnie Anderson, a backrower playing out of position. Solid, not exceptional at creating opportunities.

speedy1

Give the guy a bloody chance you doomsayers.He needs a few games there with Fien to work up a combination.I'm sure he will have a better pass than Sione but if the $400,000 man Wiki manages 9 hitups for 52 metres again what chance have 7 and 6 got anyway.

Trent Barret looks pretty ordinary when his forwards decide to have a holiday

ozbash

Thomas Leuluai was a capable Bartercard #7, but he wasn't a capable NRL number 7 - the skills are different.

maybe mate, but thomas is having the time of his life in England (and france).
tevita latu is another who could prove everyone wrong.

what you have seen from Jerome Ropati

we have seen a young bloke who was touted as a fairly handy #6 2 or 3 years ago get shoved around into every position in the backline (except the one he was originally picked for) and had the absolute sh*t ripped out of him when he failed (or more rightly, the team failed) to fulfill everyone expectations as the warriors next bright young thing.

i reckon if kempy had named him fullback once more he wouldnt be there now.

so i reckon we give the young fellow a chance. he hasnt got a halfback inside of him (i dont rate fein as a halfback) so god knows how he will go.

at least hes got a chance to prove some of us wrong.

Iafeta

ozbash said:
Thomas Leuluai was a capable Bartercard #7, but he wasn't a capable NRL number 7 - the skills are different.

maybe mate, but thomas is having the time of his life in England (and france).
tevita latu is another who could prove everyone wrong.

what you have seen from Jerome Ropati

we have seen a young bloke who was touted as a fairly handy #6 2 or 3 years ago get shoved around into every position in the backline (except the one he was originally picked for) and had the absolute sh*t ripped out of him when he failed (or more rightly, the team failed) to fulfill everyone expectations as the warriors next bright young thing.

i reckon if kempy had named him fullback once more he wouldnt be there now.

so i reckon we give the young fellow a chance. he hasnt got a halfback inside of him (i dont rate fein as a halfback) so god knows how he will go.

at least hes got a chance to prove some of us wrong.

Ozbash mate, in all fairness, Dennis Moran carves up at halfback in ESL. Billy Peden was over there not long ago and making line breaks left right and centre.

See, I reckon we seem to have a problem evaluating players in league. It seems you start there in first grade going off what position you played as a junior - that isn't necessarily your best fit though. Think about it, in my opinion they should evaluate players skills once they reach, 15, and then every year periodically check them. For instance, a player that scores high in kicking should be pushed to the halves. A player who scores high in stamina and guts to the forward pack. A player who scores high in taking a bomb under pressure, fullback, etc. etc. I know Jerome has played a lot of footy at 6 in his younger days, but just to me, he hasn't exhibited the skills required to be a good NRL 6. I do however think he could be a good NRL 11-13.

NZ Warrior

speedy1 said:
Give the guy a bloody chance you doomsayers.He needs a few games there with Fien to work up a combination.I'm sure he will have a better pass than Sione but if the $400,000 man Wiki manages 9 hitups for 52 metres again what chance have 7 and 6 got anyway.

Trent Barret looks pretty ordinary when his forwards decide to have a holiday

Oh, don't forget Wiki's 31 tackles. And on average, Wiki was making about as many metres as Price. I think you could have chosen a few other non-performers before you started on Mr 400K.

As for Ropati's passing, I look forward to seeing him actually do it. At least Faumuina can draw a couple of men before he passes it.

Iafeta, are you sure you don't want to join the Society??? Just sign up 10 friends, and you'll get your joining fee back, 5 fold!!!

ozbash

Iafeta said:
Ozbash mate, in all fairness, Dennis Moran carves up at halfback in ESL. Billy Peden was over there not long ago and making line breaks left right and centre.

See, I reckon we seem to have a problem evaluating players in league. It seems you start there in first grade going off what position you played as a junior - that isn't necessarily your best fit though. Think about it, in my opinion they should evaluate players skills once they reach, 15, and then every year periodically check them. For instance, a player that scores high in kicking should be pushed to the halves. A player who scores high in stamina and guts to the forward pack. A player who scores high in taking a bomb under pressure, fullback, etc. etc. I know Jerome has played a lot of footy at 6 in his younger days, but just to me, he hasn't exhibited the skills required to be a good NRL 6. I do however think he could be a good NRL 11-13.

and to me thats the guts of the problem here.
they come through the grades and then there is this almighty leap in comp class to nrl level.

sure, we got bartercard but the step up even from that is huge.

the diff was plainly obvious on sunday when rovelli came on, it was obvious he had come from a comp superior to b/cup so he fitted in more easily when his time came for the nrl.

you get guys like lauaki who basicaly have to step up from a c grade comp to play against the elite.

dont work and wont till we either enter premier league or our dev officers get off their arses.

Shaun Hewitt

Iafeta, NZ Wazza...please have your own thread for negativity, as us LOYAL ones are trying to remain positive.