Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Did David Peachey play on the weekend?

MightySharks

This is bad timing as it is Peach's last home game and he is my second favorite Sharks player ever but,

Fair Dinkum he was terrible on the weekend as were many others, but the Peach looked disinterested from minute one, I expect more from him.

He is starting to get the wobbles and return to his previous inconsistent form, maybe its dawning on him, its close to the end and as he is being pushed out of the club without that elusive premiership, maybe it is really affecting him?

But for the Sharks to be any chance we need him firing!

C'mon Peach you can do it, lets start by killing it in your last home game and take it from there!

MightySharks

It was the the little things Millers like letting the ball bounce of kickoffs. The Peach doesn't look happy and we all know what happens then.

Also thought he was quiet in our record win and terrible against the Roosters.

Seeeing he was faced with a front line of 70 missed tackles, I thought he went OK.
No co-incedence that his poorest games have been the games with highest missed tackle count.
He missed 5 tackles & semi missed another 3. But he stopped about 4-5 tries.

The Popper

Don't sack him. I reckon he'll turn in a big one. Final home game on a Saturday night. I think he could delight us.

Shark

He didn't have a go at all in the first half. Picked up a bit in the 2nd...too little, too late though.

Does anybody honestly think that if David Peachey had have played a miracle game, risked his health on 10 occasions with desperate defense & made 40 hitups from dummy half, it would have made 1 iota of difference in that game?
I know I don't & I'm glad he is healthy for his final home game & the semis.

I will be disappointed in him if he doesnt give it his all in the semis though.

Chondricthyes

Hello all , good to be back( wine conf in Vic) all be it briefly before I get a weeks much needed holiday.

Did anyone read that Peach had a dust up at a pub recently.

It seems if Peaches life is good- he plays good, if its not he's not interested- and I mean more so than most others.

Agreed with Reefy their aint much an FB can do when they miss so much in front and he did lay some tackles, but

his form has dropped a bit remembering he played well even when we played bad.

Sam

He did do something good, he pointed to the try line and told Simmons to run that way instead of going inside. There were a few glimpses of good play. He only played as well as the others around him.

Shark

reefy - Noddy but his arse on the line plenty of times in defence...He was the only bloke trying to stop that early try of theirs. Where was Peach then? Falling off in a half-arsed attempt at a tackle.

If we expect Noddy to put his health on the line every set in defence, then Peach can too.

millersnose

but peachey gets special dispensation from reefy

you see its all easy when you can blame kimmorley for everything

it absolves all responsibility for other players

Shark

millersnose said:
but peachey gets special dispensation from reefy

you see its all easy when you can blame kimmorley for everything

it absolves all responsibility for other players

LOL, I gather that.

He must agree though...Noddy does put himself in the line of fire in defence, doesn't he?

Reminds me a bit of how Deano used to run himself ragged in defence, although Noddy has the brains to keep a bit of petrol in the tank (somehow) for attack. He also manages to tackle a bit further up the legs than the Bull Terrier did. Keeps his head looking pretty.

Wobbygong

Regarding Peachey, it sounds more and more like Greenshields will be a shark next year, apparently after the Gold Coast baulked at signing him this season for 2007, he wants a regular gig, which he won't necessarily get when Hornby moves back to fullback.

Word at the Dragons is he is very close to being a shark for the next two years and no this is not a gee up!!!!!!

Craigshark

MightySharks said:
It was the the little things Millers like letting the ball bounce of kickoffs. The Peach doesn't look happy and we all know what happens then.

Also thought he was quiet in our record win and terrible against the Roosters.

Firstly, it wasn't Peachey who let the balls bounce. It was the useless hack Simmons..
Secondly, i don't think Peachey would be too happy when we are getting beat by 40 odd points. Though, i did notice him, when the players ran on the field (in the middle of the National Anthem), run over to Stevens, probably because it was both their last official away games, and shake his hand with a huge smile on his face. I also saw Peachey share a joke with Dykes when he got pulled a for a sheppard. Once again with a huge smile on his face.
He may not be happy that he is going, either am i, but i think he is still enjoying his footy and is still interested.

Wobbygong

He'd be a bloody great buy, apparently Souths were also quite interested but decided to keep Polglase instead ?????