Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ding Ding Ding - Game Day, Round 3

Weaponhead

The kicking is diabolical. Zero pressure applied.

The side to side shifts do nothing. The attacks is much better when they played straight. Gallen playing pivot kills us.

Barba showed some improvement in the second half. He needs to take the game by the balls.

Surely

Hmmm

Yeah his kicking game is merely awful not catastrophic

To be honest I think there was a lot of laziness
The fafitas needed to put more effort in in the first half

And wade graham is quite pointless

All the backs need to fight harder in the tackles and get up faster in defence

No repeats
No dangerous attacking kicks
No tries off kicks
Every kick they fielded easily or got seven tackles

Our three biggest issues though are
Long kicks
Short kicks
And Tactical kicks

It ain't gunna be solved by moving props around or sacking coaches

It's time to do something with the halves

I thought our biggest weakness apart from no kicker was Beale and barbas defence , storm had a picnic with them.

And Beale's bunny hop

Anyway you are right with the halves, can bird kick ?

His defence has got to be better than barba

shadowboxer

The only significant victory is that there is one more nail in the coffin for the coach. Aside from that the fans suffer

southland

Kicking again let us down.

We went ok in the first 10mins then completely lost confidence after a poor kick.

Last 20mins we looked ok.

Robson does offer a positive in defence but his time is up. He should be made backup hooker the rest of the year. Throw Murphy in if he is at all on the radar... We need a half who can kick. Urgently. Its time to take a risk... Ennis is not a kicker and putting pressure on him to do so takes away from what his strengths are.

Gallen needs to be rotated and of course should play as a prop...

Barba looked better in the last 20mins when we had nothing to lose... but he is not an organiser... Leutele and Beale are just not seeing the ball but thats not really their fault.

Issue is our halves...

f**k knows what we will try next week... Probably the exact same thing...

shaggs

I thought barbas defence was pretty good considering bakuya didn't really help and he had Beale outside him. Harris would have scored 6 times if carney was there

Madsharkie

Feki is obviously a centre! (playing on the wing)
Gordon is obviously a winger! (Playing fullback)
Holmes is obviously a fullback! (Playing wing)
Gallen is obviously a prop! (Playing 5/8)

FMD Flanno, just f**k right the f**k off you simple merkin!

^ this!

azzah72

Barba was no where near as bad as some will make it seem.

Yes the attack from both halves is ordinary at the moment but its a little more complicated than "the halves are shit"

I think both halves created opportunities, and no one was ever there except Gordon on occasion.

the back rowers weren't ever running holes, not were the outside backs coming in for a run.

I am wondering if it is communication as the biggest issue. that and everyone seems to be trying to do there own thing.

In the last 20, it seems Barba got a voice and so did Robson, all though no where near perfect, things started to kind of happen.

Barba also started to run it a bit and it also wasn't the usual 5 out and bomb shit.

There were very small signs of improvement, problem is, we need it to happen a lot quicker or the season will be gone before we know it.

Out biggest killer today was defence and discipline, f**king woeful on both accounts.

Also, f**k off Beale.

CM67

Everyone criticises Barba and Carney for their defence,but fuggs sake,how easily do opposition teams isolate them on our line.A defensive issue that isn't solely their fault.

Card Shark

Barba was no where near as bad as some will make it seem.

Yes the attack from both halves is ordinary at the moment but its a little more complicated than "the halves are shit"

I think both halves created opportunities, and no one was ever there except Gordon on occasion.

the back rowers weren't ever running holes, not were the outside backs coming in for a run.

I am wondering if it is communication as the biggest issue. that and everyone seems to be trying to do there own thing.

In the last 20, it seems Barba got a voice and so did Robson, all though no where near perfect, things started to kind of happen.

Barba also started to run it a bit and it also wasn't the usual 5 out and bomb shit.

There were very small signs of improvement, problem is, we need it to happen a lot quicker or the season will be gone before we know it.

Out biggest killer today was defence and discipline, f**king woeful on both accounts.

Also, f**k off Beale.

Fair comments 72. I don't think halves our problem either, unless ya counting Gal as 1.

Players don't have a defined role because Flanno won't implement simple structure.

Defence is attitude.....& our's is not up to professional sport.

Vin Fizz

We looked good when Menis took control. We started to look like the dergs and scored a couple of tries into the bargain. In my simple mind I reckon, Mick runs the show, Robbo takes his cues, BB runs lines into holes from offloads, the outside backs run angles and Flash will get space on the inside through the guts like Snake does. For the most part fo the match they all looked like they were walking on egg shells and didn't want to offend their team mates. At 36-6 they got the shits, said fugg this and took the game by the balls. We played good footy from then on. FFS Flanno and Pricey if you cant work out a game plan the works steal someone else's who is successful. Watch the Hartelys. Desie jayzuz!!!!!

Surely

Fair comments 72. I don't think halves our problem either, unless ya counting Gal as 1.

Players don't have a defined role because Flanno won't implement simple structure.

Defence is attitude.....& our's is not up to professional sport.

They are a problem because they can't kick for shit, if they were able to break the line it would help that glaring issue but they can't even do that.

Robbo at least saves a try or two a match with solid defence but that's about it.

Card Shark

Yes the kicking is shit....but it's only as good as the chase.

I'll go back a step.....its also only as good as the preceding 4 or 5 tackles.

We just don't get teams backpedalling enough

Our kicks are always defensive or under pressure.

Madsharkie

Melbourne smashed us during the period in the first half when their okay the balls were so fast. Love to see A Fif try running hard, then getting up quickly for a clean play the ball. No need for his sooking and trying to milk it all the time. Run hard and fast, get up quick, clean play the ball. And on we roll...

In fairness to Beale he gets no quality ball to do anything.

this is an issue for me, sometimes you cant expect to get all the ball you need to be an effective centre, we have centres who rely on this too much, we need players who can not only hit holes but who can bust tackles and create their own opportunities

Cant be a centre and say "i had a mediocre game because no one put me through a gap"

feki and salouma fit the bill

Card Shark

Another X for Flanno's coaching.

Sometimes it's best to dive in the tackle & get a super quick play-the-ball to catch the defence back-pedalling.

We prefer to fight in the tackle in a hopeless situation & waste precious seconds.