Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Draft breakdown - By team

Big Mick

Here is the Bengals for Dogs of War so he doesn't whinge :p

Cincinnati Bengals

17. Dre Kirkpatrick, cornerback, Alabama
I love me some Kirkpatrick. He is physical, tall, good coverage guy who will be the best tackling CB in the draft and that is important to Mike Zimmer. They lost Jonathan Joseph last year and replace him with a genuine talent who'll contribute right away.

27. Kevin Zeitler, guard, Wisconsin
This isn't a sexy pick, but it is an awesome pick. This gives the Bengals another plug and play contributor who may never make a pro-bowl at guard, he's someone who'll come in, play guard for the next 10 years and the Bengals fans wont have to worry again.

53. Devon Still, defensive tackle, Penn State
Still dropped due to inconsistency with both effort and his hands. But he comes from Penn State so you know he is well coached. He's got fantastic body type and at this point in the draft was an absolute steal. A 2nd round pick for a 1st round talent.

83. Mohamed Sanu, wide receiver, Rutgers
Sanu unfortunately got prank called in the middle of the first round and told he would be playing for the Bengals. Fortunately the young man was picked by the Bengals, this time in the 4th round. He's got 1st-2nd round ability, but lack of speed hurt him. He's got great body control, great hands and ability to contribute in the slot and outside the numbers. Love the two WR's the Bengals picked to help Andy Dalton. Watch out in this division.

93. Brandon Thompson, defensive tackle, Clemson
Another absolute steal. There was one guy I loved on the DL coming out of the senior bowl and it was Brandon Thompson. He showed great initial burst, fantastic power and finesse moves. What I also loved is he had a bit of niggle in him. Started fights with his opposition Center and guards twice. Show's he has a bit of a mean streak. Love this pick and represents great value.

116. Orson Charles, tight end, Georgia
Another slam dunk value pick. Charles prior to off-field issues which resulted in this slide was considered a 2nd round pick. He isn't a blocking TE but he has excellent hands. He'll be the Aaron Hernandez to the Gresham's Gronkowski. He'll be a great mismatch and when the Bengals are in two TE set's that's going to be hard to cover. Good luck!

156. Shaun Prater, cornerback, Iowa
He'll play slot/nickel corner and will be a key contributor on Special Teams

166. Marvin Jones, wide receiver, California
The Bengals get one of my favourite WR's in the entire draft. When analysing his film you need to consider the coaching, the guy throwing him the ball etc. At the Senior Bowl he was amazing. His routes were crisp and every single analyst and scout came out of there absolutely impressed. He went from undrafted grade to a 3rd round grade. He managed to drop to the 5th in a steal for the Bengals. IMO he'll be better than Sanu when all is said and done.

167. George Iloka, safety, Boise State
I was pining for George Iloka in the 6th round for the Bills hoping he'd drop. But in the back to back 5th rounders the Bengals took BPA with Jones and Iloka. Iloka again had a 3rd round grade and will be a starter at Safety in this league. Not the best coverage guy...but good instincts, well coached & smooth.

191. Dan Herron, running back, Ohio State
Don't love the pick. I would have taken a flyer on Chris Polk despite the medical. It was late in the 6th round...Polk has better upside than Herron.

The Bengals put together a fantastic draft. Give credit to Mike Brown. He turned a guy who wasn't going to play for him again into Dre Kirkpatrick and some other picks as he moved up/down the board. He added weapons for Andy Dalton, gave Mike Zimmer some toys to kill the QB's in the division.

The only position I felt they didn't address was RB where I don't believe Dan Herron is a viable back. Also picking up Vontaze Burfict as another great talent to the LB core. If I was giving grades, this would be A+

Big Mick

Thanks for the write up on my Cardinals. I really appreciate your commentary on the Draft over the last few days.

I love the Michael Floyd pick especially after they took 3 late O-line picks. A great weapon to be paired up with Fitz and a clear #2 receiver for the cards instead of the 2 slot receivers (Doucet and Roberts) sharing the role last year.

I wasn't sure why they went with CB's in the draft, we had a pretty good set already (Peterson, Gay, Toler, Jefferson, Adams & the safety's Wilson and Rhodes), but after reading up on them it makes sense and fits in with Ray Horton's defensive scheme. He likes physical receivers who can tackle. Reading up on Fleming, it looks like he'll be a good fit.

On Justin Bethel (Also known as the youtube guy who jumped 60" vertical flat footed), it looks like Horton is going to use him like he used Richard Marshall last year. Switching playing time between CB and safety. Apparently he's a ST ace as well and has blocked more than a few kicks in his college career.

The Cards finally picked up some O-line talent on the 3rd day and from all accounts they picked up some good value. Bobby Massie should slot straight in a RT and as has been said, is a steal in the 4th round. Kelemete and Potter are great value picks as well and should be pushing for positions on our OL.

On the Ryan Lindley pick, I'm really not sure why they took him. Some are saying he may be a project QB, but they've already been doing that with John Skelton. Sure we still don't have a definite franchise QB, with Kolb and Skelton to battle it out for the starting position in the off season. But I don't know what he'll add to the team. Whisenhunt must have seen something he really liked about this guy so we'll see what happens.

With the exception of the questionable pick of Lindley, overall I'm pretty happy with the Cardinals draft. Drafting both for need and getting the best player available at their draft position. Bring on training camp so I can see how these picks turn out.

No worries dude. Happy to do it.

I agree with your point there. If they didn't get value at OT later on I would have slammed them if I'm honest.

On your CB's...apart from Peterson all the others were torched more than once last year. Fleming like you said is physical and will lay a beat down. Something Horton loves...that's why he brought in Gay.

On Lindley...the only thing I can think of is that maybe the Cardinals are looking at trading John Skelton potentially for a 3rd or 4th rounder and use Lindley as the project.

Dogs Of War

Love this photo of Vontaze Burfict

Burfict.jpg

Saying I am coming to get you Roethlisberger!

Big Mick

And then he got a personal foul penalty straight after that.

So hang on...I do the Bengals for you...and no comment? lol.

Dogs Of War

Sorry Big Mick, have been reading up all day on the Bengals. I did post a nice picture!

Burfict I don't see getting anywhere near the field this year. Practice squad so he can learn some discipline (plus he put on heaps of weight this year, he needs to lose that pudding). He is the sort of player you need in the AFC North though.

great reads mick, i think you've nailed it so far
looking forward to reading the rest as you get time.

The Bengals had imo, one of the best, if not the best draft in the league. Outstanding work

abpanther

I'm waiting to critique your analysis on the 49ers picks ;)

Hope everything is ok with your old man Mick

Big Mick

I'm waiting to critique your analysis on the 49ers picks ;)

Hope everything is ok with your old man Mick

All good mate. Thanks.

I like the 49ers draft.

Jenkins bit of a reach...but I understand the logic.

Love the Lamichael James pick

Absolutely LOVE the value of Cam Johnson in the 7th. Damn. Can rush...can't handle the run at all..but great value.

I don't mind Looney...but don't see him as starting right away but mid way through the year.

I like what they did around the draft. The moving up, down and around and getting picks for next year's draft.

They needed another WR and get it as an UDFA in Chris Owusu. If not for the 3 concussions, he'd be a 3rd round pick. I was shocked that the Colts didn't take him as Mr.Irrelevant tbh.

Your also bringing in 3 other Stanford guys who have the shot at making the team in Michael Thomas, S, Matthew Masafilo, DE and Johnson Bademosi, S.

abpanther

I really like Trent Robinson too, nice range, big hitter, should be a special teams demon.

Slowey's story is also very good, was an olympic shot putter which will help

AusKnightRKO

Good to hear everything is all good mick, never want to hear that sort of stuff.

Love all the draft analysis from you, its so in depth.

Just to pick your mind, what do think of WR Dale Moss, he reminds me of Sidney Rice the way he plays

Big Mick

Good to hear everything is all good mick, never want to hear that sort of stuff.

Love all the draft analysis from you, its so in depth.

Just to pick your mind, what do think of WR Dale Moss, he reminds me of Sidney Rice the way he plays

I was pissed Dale Moss was undrafted and Buffalo didn't grab him.

The more I watched on him the more he grew on me.

Former B-Ball player who is 6-3 and 221lbs.

He has fantastic speed (4.5) and has shown ability to separate and for someone who is so raw...he runs fantastic routes.

He'll be the hidden gem at WR in this draft. He's only played 1 year of football and led that team in catches & yards...and looks good in routes already.

In my opinion he went to the wrong team. He'll be buried on the depth chart. But IMO in 1-2 years he'll be the #3 receiver.

He has more natural ability than Cobb and Driver will be gone by then. I also think James Jones will be passed or traded by then. Jones is a great athlete but has bad hands imo.

Don't be surprised if in 1-2 years we aren't seeing a Victor Cruz like rise from Moss. He needs to stick with the teams roster but...because if he goes with final cuts...he's getting picked up.

You also got Marcus Rivers from U of Buffalo who isn't a bad player either.

Big Mick

Sorry havent finished these yet guys.

Been crazy at home.

I'll do my best to finish when I can.

all good mate
plenty of time between now and the season and not a great deal to talk about :lol: