Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragon Army BBQ - 06/12/08

Cooper-Man

ARE YOU READY????
Myself (peter AKA Cooper-Man) and Stel AKA Ourredv are planning a Dragon Army BBQ day to be held on the 6th Of December in the Kogarah/Carlton area. We feel we had a successful year in the contribution of growing the army and feel an end of year meet would be the ideal way to get together, have a couple of drinks and a feed, meet some new people and keep the season vibe and hype going for the return of Oki stadium, a new coach and a fresh start.

During the 08 season we created new friendships and invited new people to sit with the army. We had sucessful bus trips to canberra (great trip even though we lost) and newcastle and also some great flghts to the Gold Coast and Brisbane. We want to continue doing this for the 09 season and try to make it an even bigger success.

For the BBQ day, we feel a $10.00 cover charge would be ideal to cover the purchase of meat i.e steaks, or shish kebabs, snags and chicken scewers. And also some beverages I.e soft drink, juice and water. Also purchase some ice ,salads and also some heat beads for the BBQ. We would be cooking the BBQ ourselves and people would be free to eat as much as their stomach can take. As for liquor, as long as the park has no regulations against it then everyone would have to bring their own. However, if there is any money left over after all purchases are made, then we will put that towards buying beer to the amount left over.

To kick start the planning for this BBQ day, we need numbers of people who would be attending and also payment in advance. If anyone has any queries relating to the BBQ you could PM me or call me.

P.S, if anyone is a meat wholesaler and can help get some meat cheap, we would appreciate it because the less the meat costs, the more money we would have to buy BEER. LOL

check ourredv.com for updates in the next couple of days.

big pat

sounds good pete where were you thinking of having it, inside oki oval would be good check with doust,haha.

Sounds great Cooper man - a park with bbqs sounds like the best option.

Another great spot is the Kogarah School of Arts. It may be too costly to hire but its worth a phone call to find out.

Its an historic location for Saints fans - the same venue where a meeting was held in 1920 to form the St George DRLC's admission into the first grade competition.

From The St George Call (1920):
"A public meeting will be held in the Kogarah School of Arts on Monday, November 8 at 8pm to form a grade club for the district of St George, to take part in the 1921 competition of the NSWRL. All players and supporters are cordially invited to attend. J. McGraw, Convener."

There's a contact number here: http://www.kogarah.nsw.gov.au/www/html/209-functions-and-park-bookings.asp?intSiteID=1

Alcohol is OK but you just have to get permission from council when booking it.

It has an yard / outdoor area. When we checked it out a year or two ago I recall seeing a bbq already in place. And I think it may be partially undercover - but you need to have a look.

There's also a kitchen inside. In case of rain there's a hall and plenty of seats and tables.

Cooper-Man

Sounds great Cooper man - a park with bbqs sounds like the best option.

Another great spot is the Kogarah School of Arts. It may be too costly to hire but its worth a phone call to find out.

Its an historic location for Saints fans - the same venue where a meeting was held in 1920 to form the St George DRLC's admission into the first grade competition.

From The St George Call (1920):
"A public meeting will be held in the Kogarah School of Arts on Monday, November 8 at 8pm to form a grade club for the district of St George, to take part in the 1921 competition of the NSWRL. All players and supporters are cordially invited to attend. J. McGraw, Convener."

There's a contact number here: http://www.kogarah.nsw.gov.au/www/html/209-functions-and-park-bookings.asp?intSiteID=1

Alcohol is OK but you just have to get permission from council when booking it.

It has an yard / outdoor area. When we checked it out a year or two ago I recall seeing a bbq already in place. And I think it may be partially undercover - but you need to have a look.

There's also a kitchen inside. In case of rain there's a hall and plenty of seats and tables.

Willow you a legend thanks mate.

I guess it helps being friends with someone on Kogarah council aye. LOL

Cooper-Man

Well guys, i can tell you that we will have at least 100 people there so far.

Gee im good at arranging functions. LOl

big pat

is this going to be a family thing, can you bring your missus, girlfriend or mistress along.

Cooper-Man

Willow i had a look at that place you suggested. Its too small for our purposes. We are hoping to get more than 100 people so we are going to stick to a picnic thing. thanks

I will keep you all posted for the details of the park we will choose.

sting

haven't lived in the area for ages but what about something like Olds park in peakhurst/mortdale?

Willow i had a look at that place you suggested. Its too small for our purposes. We are hoping to get more than 100 people so we are going to stick to a picnic thing. thanks

I will keep you all posted for the details of the park we will choose.
No worries mate. As I said the park thing seemed like the best bet. But nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Look forward to seeing how it pans out.