Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragon Army BBQ - 06/12/08

brendothejet

Can we have a QLD edition?

I suggested to the lads that when we play Brisbane, Gold Coast, Melbourne etc we arrange BBQ/meet ups in the city we are travelling to. This helps bond the army together and also gives our large number of interstate fans the chance to have a day out.

So when we play the broncos at Suncorp we could have a BBQ the day before in brissie somewhere. A couple of the QLD members here could handle the logisitcal side of things and we can all have another epic game of touch footy!

saint-colesy

Yeah that sounds good, i live 3 hours north of Brissy but im sure there are brissy boys here who could get something together.

AJ_82

Lads seeing I have now become a Brisbanite, I am sure I can ensure something is arranged for the trips away - just depends on which day we cop when the draw comes out for Round 4 i.e. might be tough if Friday night ... however a Sunday arvo would be fantastic.

I suggested to the lads that when we play Brisbane, Gold Coast, Melbourne etc we arrange BBQ/meet ups in the city we are travelling to. This helps bond the army together and also gives our large number of interstate fans the chance to have a day out.

So when we play the broncos at Suncorp we could have a BBQ the day before in brissie somewhere. A couple of the QLD members here could handle the logisitcal side of things and we can all have another epic game of touch footy!

It's a fair way off but it'll be easy for me to arrange a Gold Coast BBQ when Saints play there.

Round 13 (June 5-8).

brendothejet

Further to these interstate adventures i have been looking at flights on Virgin blue and currently the flights for the weekends of Brisbane, Melbourne and Gold Coast game are around 65-75 dollars each.

The trip to NZ is only around 210 bucks atm!!!!

My flights to perth were 353.

Could be an expensive year as a saints fan...

Cooper-Man

I think the highlight of the day was 2 classic catchs. here is a short run down of what happened.

Catch ONE:

Tony was batting and brendo was bowling, there was about 35 fielders strategically positioned around the field. Brendo takes his run up and delivers nice slow ball, Tony being a left hander steps forward and produces a nice cut shot, BIG PAT was positioned near the water quietly when this ball comes straight towards him. Big Pat shuffles and shakes and gets to the ball while it is at chest height. He opens his arms and the ball falls into his hands...................this is not the end of it, he jugles and jugles and drops the ball, NOW craig AKA tinga express was near by and running in to support Pat, when he notices the ball fall out of his hands. just as the comes close to the ground, Craig makes this MASSIVE dive and takes a catch with his right hand. This all happened in a split second and was for sure a FORD CLASSIC CATCH.

CATCH TWO:

Mitch is batting and Coppo was bowling. Once again, there was 35 fielders all in key positions. Coppo delivers a fast ball and Mitch takes an awesome cut shot. NOW, to the right of Mitch..... Darren is standing. Now darren has his extra dry in his left hand and his balls in his right. We all look over and the next moment all happens in slow motion and was the most unexpected of the day. Darren looks up really casually, he takes his beer out of his left and places it in his right. He reaches up with his left hand and then.................................................................................... the ball just lands right in his palm, no sweat. Everyone just froze and then realised what had happened. Then we all went crazy and started screaming. :lol:

Awesome day. :D

brendothejet

I think the highlight of the day was 2 classic catchs. here is a short run down of what happened.

Catch ONE:

Tony was batting and brendo was bowling, there was about 35 fielders strategically positioned around the field. Brendo takes his run up and delivers nice slow ball, Tony being a left hander steps forward and produces a nice cut shot, BIG PAT was positioned near the water quietly when this ball comes straight towards him. Big Pat shuffles and shakes and gets to the ball while it is at chest height. He opens his arms and the ball falls into his hands...................this is not the end of it, he jugles and jugles and drops the ball, NOW craig AKA tinga express was near by and running in to support Pat, when he notices the ball fall out of his hands. just as the comes close to the ground, Craig makes this MASSIVE dive and takes a catch with his right hand. This all happened in a split second and was for sure a FORD CLASSIC CATCH.

CATCH TWO:

Mitch is batting and Coppo was bowling. Once again, there was 35 fielders all in key positions. Coppo delivers a fast ball and Mitch takes an awesome cut shot. NOW, to the right of Mitch..... Darren is standing. Now darren has his extra dry in his left hand and his balls in his right. We all look over and the next moment all happens in slow motion and was the most unexpected of the day. Darren looks up really casually, he takes his beer out of his left and places it in his right. He reaches up with his left hand and then.................................................................................... the ball just lands right in his palm, no sweat. Everyone just froze and then realised what had happened. Then we all went crazy and started screaming. :lol:

Awesome day. :D

hahah both of those were doozies. Also the lad who took two in a row was pretty special. Big pat was quite the square leg/point fielder. Nice returns over the stumps.

Another highlight was james aka Nathan Blacklock, putting on a double chip and chase to nearly score the try of the season.

big pat

yeah great double play pete, true team work, also the catch by darren with the beard, he might have been in the covers i think, took a good one handed catch with his beer in the other hand, didn't spill a drop, a great day look forward to the next one, always good to meet up with fellow saints supporters, and nice to catch up with willow and meet brendon, kogarah hill will be pumping next season, well done boys you did a fantastic job.

Pete, I've got some fotos too, if you want me to send em?? I don't know how many you actually took so plz let me know if you want some more :)

they're pretty much what's already posted, but Stel i'll send em to ya anyway

and pete, i never got to thank you for such a great day - had mad fun
oh and thankls to you too, stel for all ur organisation - wish you were there!!

Red'n'White

Looks like it was a great day, wish i could have been there. I see Skull was there, I havent seen him for years. Lets hope for a great year from the Mighty Dragons. Might see you all this year. Dragons forever.