Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons Post Mortem

Fitz

Both Keating's were shocking, expecially Kris.

Grothe caught out a couple of times.

Forwards were shocking...need to work out our rotation.

Too much drog ball, too many penalties.

But its round one, so we can work on it...

Mortimer was solid...

couple of good times we got ball going.

I thought Matt Keating defended well but was slow at dummy half, really missed Kingston. KK didn't get much game time and didn't look up to the pace of the game.
Cayless was good but Poore lacked penitration and Fui looked a shadow of the Fui we know from last year. Our defence was very good but we didn't good forward with the ball which made it hard for Morts and Robo and Hayne to work some plays. Still pretty good footy for rd 1 and if we hold the ball better next week we should beat manly.
Shame about shack's injury with a bit of luck he'll only miss 4 weeks or less.

Eelogical

Defence was excellent, especially the second half. They didn't turn it up. I for once can take a lot of positives out of the first game of the season considering how much time they had in the Dragons territory. Errors and penalties were a concern but I was proud of the ticker they showed.

basically the Dragons are very easy to defend against when they are attacking your line, all they do is go from side to the other get tackled and do it again. If they learn to run straight like they do getting out of thier own end then they'll score heaps of points.

lucablight

The dragons had all the possession but the Eels kicking game was quite ordinary which meant we barely had any good field position. The error count only made things worse. I thought the team did pretty well to only lose by 6. Still plenty of time for improvement though.

I still can't believe Matt Keating's kick in the dying minutes of the game.

cayless was our best tonight and burt, tahu, grothe and robson all did well.
I still reckon Grothe should be in the backrow he makes great metres from hitups.

I agree with Junior. I was pleased with our performance tonight. Dragons haven't learned anything from last year. They still played the predictable way they did during the latter stages of last season. It may have worked tonight, but teams are going to find them out. I liked the way we upped our tempo in the crucial stages. A bit rusty but that's expected. I thought Matt Keating played very well apart from that kick on our 2nd last set.

parra pete

Ben Smith saved AT least four tries with his on the line defence. I thought he was easily the Eels best player.....
Fui looked short of a gallop. The team will improve...so will St George. Good game I enjoyed it thoroughly. It is going to be a good close competition.
Timana added a bit of oomph out wide, and he too will get better with more miles in his legs, and Jeff Robson was solid at half back. He's a tough bastard, that's what I like about him.
Lot to like about the Eels effort and I think Anderson will be pleased.

Joshuatheeel

I was very happy with the eels, I know we lost but gee the Dragons will lead the comp again but they have the same problems as last year - they find it hard to score. Most other sides tonight would have lost to the dragons by 30 points. My opinion;

Dragins try to play the simple game, very easy to do this early in season . Tonight is how they will play for most of the season, they may improve 20 to 40 % not enoough to win the comp
Our style takes some time, our attack tonight was great comared to last year. It will take time but not as long as last year
We scored two tries each yet they had the ball for most of the game, We completed something like 18 out of 30 they completed around 33 out of 36 - they should have scored more points
Out defence was great - look at the stats on dragons on our line
I would say we have 60 to 80% improvement in our game.

My only disappointmnet was I think Fui should have been introduced earlier in the first and second half.

Also I think Robson was taken off in the last 10 as Keating was playing half. Does this say Anderson has more confidence on Kris ?

fish eel

quality effort for round 1.

we were dominated up front but the defence was great.

saints dominated field position but we kept them tryless for what, 60 minutes?

I think the Eels have showed the grit required to win the comp. Even when you were dominated, field position wise, you only lost by 6. Easily fixed with your roster talent. Add Reddy and things will be fine.

Gaba

basically the Dragons are very easy to defend against when they are attacking your line, all they do is go from side to the other get tackled and do it again. If they learn to run straight like they do getting out of thier own end then they'll score heaps of points.

without hayne the eels wont score many points like last year the eels were scoring less points then the sharks and warriors , will be the same as this year

the eels dont have any other option then hayne

Y2Eel

pfft wasnt too bad of a game actually..

Lets hope to god that Nathan Fien aint out too long for the dragons he was their best before getting injured.. I dont think their halves can score points soward was terrible (lets hope it was just bennets plan to keep it simple.. i still think soward will still be terrible he looks to get tackled and goes down)..
Having said that their forwards were great..

I thought taking Matt keating off and moving Robson to hooker was a bad move..Only Ben Snmith and Cayless were making Yards in attack Poore was Poor but i bet he was a nervous wreck...

Bring on round 2