Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons Post Mortem

thommo4pm

Saints play such a predictable game with the wide running decoy runner. They are crap. Soward's amazing kicking game keeps them in the hunt.

Yes but his kicking game is part of our attack.
It's a bit rough to say our attack is crap when we scored just as many tries as what your team did.

Yes but his kicking game is part of our attack.
It's a bit rough to say our attack is crap when we scored just as many tries as what your team did.

Probably the wrong word. Lets say predictable.

PS

You were still the better side. I just cannot see many points in you guys as the season progresses.

parra pete

yeah, we struggled to get out of the 30 metres in the second half, whereas saints were clearing halfway.

Crucial play IMO was the Cayless dropped ball.

Probably was the crucial play but it was a great hit. He carted it up to them, and they belted him. That's good tough Rugby League.
Some days you're the pigeon, Some days you're the statue
unhappy kids 2.jpg

Glenn

Only a guess on Shack but somewhere around 6 weeks looking at the reaction from shack and the saints player.
Despite the loss some positive signs when the ball was moved around, and good scrambling defence. Negatives little impact from the forwards resulting in no go forward for kris keating, robson etc to work with.

aza

MK was total sh*t, KK was under used, it was like a carbon copy of last year with kingston, coaching errors cost us, but thats footy.

natheel

our props looked tired after every run they made....we have big forwards who will need match fitness

burt played well, inu i thought was ok other than his butterfingers!
tahu solid for his first game back.

thought we defended well actually against their attacks on our line

we will probably do the same old win lose win lose like we use to till we get the ball rolling

I don't think too many people can be that upset. We played very scratchy and were in with a good chance.

Still early and you can tell things will get better.

Fitz

MK was total sh*t, KK was under used, it was like a carbon copy of last year with kingston, coaching errors cost us, but thats footy.

Coaching errors???? Other than selecting Poore over Moimoi and draining the confidence Fui had after last year and the trials, what else did he coach do?? However, IMO was this a massive error. Fui should have been able to continue the momentum.

Did Anderson tell Keating to put that sh*t kick it??? Or didn't tell Grothe to drop back?? Or forced all those penalties?

anyone know how bad Shack is?

I thought he was looking pretty good.

Torn hamstring - three or four weeks at least. Was shame as when he came on he was hitting the ball up very well and straightening us up in attack.

Big test next week as to who goes in and takes his spot. Peletelese, Oake or Horo?

Fitz said:
Or didn't tell Grothe to drop back??

Actually you'll find the reason he didn't drop back was so Soward didn't have the opportunity to run the ball on the last.

Grothey blasted Hayne and Hayne agreed with him too after Grothe was trapped in goal - Hayne was way out of position and it wasn't the first time on the night either.

natheel

Coaching errors???? Other than selecting Poore over Moimoi and draining the confidence Fui had after last year and the trials, what else did he coach do?? However, IMO was this a massive error. Fui should have been able to continue the momentum.

Did Anderson tell Keating to put that sh*t kick it??? Or didn't tell Grothe to drop back?? Or forced all those penalties?

honestly we didnt play terrible. all dragons had was good defence (we still made 4 line breaks to their 2) what we need to clean up is our errors (16 to dragons 2).

our backline was fine robbo didnt do to bad and neither did morts its our big forward they need match fitness....next week we will see a marked improvement

Glenn

The lack of urgency by Hayne at the back tonight shows why Slater is the test full back

aza

As a coach, and a son of a eels player of the 60's, all I can say is KK should have been on before half time, waste of quality in my eyes. yes he made mistakes in the 2nd half but that is to be expected.

He's a tool for stating his opinion? Gee some of you Saints fans need to harden up. I think Saints will finish between 5th and 8th this season... does that make me a tool? If so you're a bloody idiot. Soft rooster.

You blokes shouldn't be too worried.
Nor should we about our attack.

Round one FFS. See all the games this weekend and then compare.

If anyone knows, then we ALL know that what we see in round one doesn't equate to end of season form. As for Saints attack, it is still a work in progress and when you lose your hooker.....well take number 9 out of many teams and see how they go. Our attack in the Charity Shield was infinitely more dynamic than tonight. So hard to judge form this early. I don't know what injuries you had. But we had a hooker out (2nd half) and a couple of centres out as well (Coopers replacement, who we have immense expectations on was out too). So as with many clubs, full squad looks good, few players out meh.

OK one negative comment. You can yawn if you wany avenger but saying Saints won't make the 8 after what you saw tonight is a bit ordinary. We all know that making the 8 isn't really THAT hard :sto:. Seriously there are some teams out there with much less to offer than both Saints or Eels.

Both teams will make 8.

If both teams play like tonight, they won't win the comp.

Surely if one team can improve, then possibly.....just maybe, so can both.

You blokes shouldn't be too worried.
Nor should we about our attack.

Round one FFS. See all the games this weekend and then compare.

If anyone knows, then we ALL know that what we see in round one doesn't equate to end of season form. As for Saints attack, it is still a work in progress and when you lose your hooker.....well take number 9 out of many teams and see how they go. Our attack in the Charity Shield was infinitely more dynamic than tonight. So hard to judge form this early. I don't know what injuries you had. But we had a hooker out (2nd half) and a couple of centres out as well (Coopers replacement, who we have immense expectations on was out too). So as with many clubs, full squad looks good, few players out meh.

OK one negative comment. You can yawn if you wany avenger but saying Saints won't make the 8 after what you saw tonight is a bit ordinary. We all know that making the 8 isn't really THAT hard :sto:. Seriously there are some teams out there with much less to offer than both Saints or Eels.

Both teams will make 8.

If both teams play like tonight, they won't win the comp.

Surely if one team can improve, then possibly.....just maybe, so can both.

Mate I could be wrong but I reckon you won't make it. You said it yourself Fein is a big loss. He could be out for the season.