Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dykes fulfilling his promise?

The Worm

When I heard Brian Smith talking up Adam Dykes during the pre season I though, " Yeah right"

But now he is showing true form and skill, the likes of which he has not shown during the previous two seasons. He's going great guns and he's become very exciting to watch. You'd have to say that at this point, he is one of the form players in the comp. He's won player of the match on two occasions this year I think.

During 2001 when the team were breaking records and then they contracted the 5/8 of the year, I thought the Eels would be a formidable force for years to come. Pity it didn't turn out that way, but I'm mighty pleased that this fella is approaching his best form again and guiding the troops around.

If, at the beginning of the season, you would have told me that Parra would be 3 from 5 at this point of the year, I would have been very sceptical - but now I'm cheering.

mate, i have stuck by him saying he would be great if he could stay injury free and fit, good to see the guy going great guns, hope he can keep it up and get an attacking partner soon. although morris and burt came into the game quite well i thought to help dykes.

The Worm

I'd love to see Burt in the centres. His kick returns are generally ineffective, I think he'd chime in a little better from the centres.

PJ Marshal

i think ashley graham will get the number 3 jersey and let burty keep the fullback one, but ya never know u may see burty in the centres

half

it was great to see burty injected into the kicking game... he's got quite a boot and will surely get us a few 40/20s throughout the season

dykes has been so awesome this season. a dynamo of fascination and intrigue. truly the wonder half we have all been waiting for since the unfortuate departure of the ever-tenacious stu gailbraith. to sum dykes 2004 up in a word - scrumptous

The Worm said:
When I heard Brian Smith talking up Adam Dykes during the pre season I though, " Yeah right"

But now he is showing true form and skill, the likes of which he has not shown during the previous two seasons. He's going great guns and he's become very exciting to watch. You'd have to say that at this point, he is one of the form players in the comp. He's won player of the match on two occasions this year I think.

During 2001 when the team were breaking records and then they contracted the 5/8 of the year, I thought the Eels would be a formidable force for years to come. Pity it didn't turn out that way, but I'm mighty pleased that this fella is approaching his best form again and guiding the troops around.

If, at the beginning of the season, you would have told me that Parra would be 3 from 5 at this point of the year, I would have been very sceptical - but now I'm cheering.

I have to agree with you there wormy, although I never really dobted Dykes potential.
He has just needed a few things to go his way......which they have.
It is good to see the forwards laying a platform for him, which hasn't happened for the best part of two years. Even Vella played alright in patches today.
That..........and no injuries (touch wood) and he is showing the potential that I always knew he had.

Misty Bee

You lost it when you mentioned the useless Stu Galbraith!

Dykes is our best performing 7 since Sterlo. I worry about not having an equally performing 5/8 - if and when Dykes gets injured, will Daniel Wagon be our chief ball player...?

Morris is a good deputy, and he must get some praise as well. Both their contributions are helping us greatly. :clap: :clap: :clap:

The Worm said:
I'd love to see Burt in the centres. His kick returns are generally ineffective

Can someone please tell Burty to run straight on his kick returns.
Fair dinkum, he runs miles in a game, but they are always sideways.

If he can have two of his four legs surgically removed, it would improve his metres gained stats a bundle.

ParraMatt

Dykes is excellent, One Problem, has to cut out the stupid kicks for touch of penatlies that dont find the sideline. He has to get everyone over the sideline.

Hes still got a bit to go.

4 or 5 over the dead bal line last week.

One out on the full today and the offside on the kick off was a brain explosion.

When he get those shockers out of his game, he will be what we all expect from a good No 7.

I have to admit, he is getting there.

booeycollector

Mate, that kick he put in for Morris' second try what ripper. He is playing great footy. On this form Witt will be in reggies for many weeks to come.

I was pretty happy with our win today.....3 from 5...thats tops but still need to work on our D.

fish eel

Amazing what a full off season can do.

He is now the go to man when we need points, ie the newcastle match.

Also, I think we have to expect plenty of mistakes from him, purely from how much ball he will see being the chief playmaker.

Agent Mulder

Burt in the centers :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
When it happens and it will happen as Burty is Smith's golden boy.

He isn't a center...Get Over it.
Burt will only be a Fullback or a Winger...Nothing else.

So lets stop this dumb putting wingers in the centers talk can we?

Hurriflatch

Dykes has always had this in him he just hasn't been injury free untill about round 24 last year.

Wagon isn't playing 5/8 if you watch the games Morris plays more like a 5/8 then Wagon it's just that he has the #9 on his back.

Goleel

Dykes got what, 4 or 5 try assists today? That's leading the NRL I'm going to assume, since he's got around 10-11 on the year. Two nice solo tries on top of that as well, sure his kicking game last week was poor, but that's the only real fault I've found in him in 5 games this year. He's been one of the form players of the competition, been involved in everything for us, and without him we'd be 0-5, simple as that.

Hurriflatch

Dykes was already leading the league with 6 try assists coming into the game he got at least 2 more (Vaealiki & Morris' 2nd tries) and I'm sure if I had a closer look O could find 1 or 2 more.

Redback71

Dykes is our best performing 7 since Sterlo. I worry about not having an equally performing 5/8 - if and when Dykes gets injured, will Daniel Wagon be our chief ball player...?

you forget about JT