Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

dykes injury update

shadowboxer

Better news, potenially

Injured Dykes not ready to pull pin on season just yet
By Glenn Jackson
May 10, 2006

SHARKS halfback Adam Dykes quickly went from shattered to stoked last night when it emerged his ankle injury might not be as bad as first thought.

Dykes, 29, had tests on his ankle late yesterday that showed he may avoid the need for a pin to be inserted, which would put him out for about five months.

The Sharks initially lost Dykes for three months after results of an MRI scan confirmed yesterday he had ruptured an ankle ligament, but just hours later after visiting a specialist the halfback was far more upbeat.
"It's pretty good news," Dykes said. "He [the specialist] is not 100 per cent but I'll have an arthroscopy on Thursday. They originally thought I'd have to get it pinned but from what he's saying, he doesn't think it needs to get pinned. It could be only four or six weeks."

There remains the chance, however, the in-form halfback will need a pin inserted to repair the injury, suffered on Sunday in a dominant Dykes performance against St George Illawarra. That would put him out for the rest of the season.

"He's pretty sure it'll only be four or six," Dykes said. "He'll clean out the cartilage but he said he can't promise me anything - if he opens it up and it needs to be pinned, he'll just pin it on the spot. I came out of there pretty excited, considering I'd originally gone in there to book in for an operation to have a pin put in. I'm stoked at the moment."

Sharks coach Stuart Raper has named Brett Kearney as halfback to play Canberra on Sunday. There is some hope, however, that Brett Kimmorley, who suffered a similar injury to that of Dykes, may return the following weekend against the Bulldogs. "There's a slight chance, but it'll probably be the week after," Raper said.
=========================================================

Heres hoping the short term, we are due for some luck in the injury department. Is Kearney really up to half back?? I think he has been okay, i guess we will see sunday

Well that's better news or is it? I guess we'll have to wait til after the surgery. It's 4weeks or 5 months until after that.

Surely

No way is kearney up to halfback, he is barely a 5/8, lacks any creativity.

His first couple of games he was always sniffing around looking for an offload from a forward, that seems to have gone from his game now.

So this week we will have two support players playing 6 and 7 ... doesn't bode to well for us really.

Inferno

Surely said:
No way is kearney up to halfback, he is barely a 5/8, lacks any creativity.

His first couple of games he was always sniffing around looking for an offload from a forward, that seems to have gone from his game now.

So this week we will have two support players playing 6 and 7 ... doesn't bode to well for us really.

True, I kind of fear the same thing that happened to the Kiwis will happen to us.

Who knows, Kearney might step up big time, happened to the last guy that went from 6 to 7.

ghoti

Leaves a lot of responsibility sitting on the shoulders of Kingston and Latu. Kearney will go better considering he's the primary playmaker...it looks to me as though he's been instructed to let Dyke's run the show...OR Dykes has been overcalling him. If Kearney knows he has to run the team around the park from first reciever, then he'll do it...but that wasn't his role with Dykes running the show.

Remember when he hurt his knee a few years ago ?

He had surgery and played again that weekend.

It was some sort of new new fangled OP they did with his knee iced upo the whole time.
He then spent the next week in a neighbours freezing pool keeping the swelling down.

carcharias said:
Remember when he hurt his knee a few years ago ?

He had surgery and played again that weekend.

It was some sort of new new fangled OP they did with his knee iced upo the whole time.
He then spent the next week in a neighbours freezing pool keeping the swelling down.

Cryosurgery. I remember it. Was during the semi campaign, the year the Warriors knocked us out I think.

Not many know it but there are few harder, more resilient blokes in the NRL than one A Dykes. The man is just the definitive footy head.

Frenzy. said:
Cryosurgery. I remember it. Was during the semi campaign, the year the Warriors knocked us out I think.

Not many know it but there are few harder, more resilient blokes in the NRL than one A Dykes. The man is just the definitive footy head.

No mate that was when M.Johns was 5/8 in Opes first year.
Peach had a farged hammy and got run down.
Mellor ribs were rooted .
Johns shoulder was rooted.

The we were rooted.
Dykes was at Parra by then I think.

carcharias said:
No mate that was when M.Johns was 5/8 in Opes first year.
Peach had a farged hammy and got run down.
Mellor ribs were rooted .
Johns shoulder was rooted.

The we were rooted.
Dykes was at Parra by then I think.

Was the year before then. Newcastle ran us down.

What year did Stevo leave hospital to play in a semi.

Geez we have bad luck with injuries at the and of the year.

Should be the Cronulla Porcupines!

Frenzy. said:
Was the year before then. Newcastle ran us down.

What year did Stevo leave hospital to play in a semi.

Geez we have bad luck with injuries at the and of the year.

Should be the Cronulla Porcupines!

Thats the one...we played the Knights up there at night.

I remember a semi against the Broncos ( super league I think ) I went the club to watch.

When the team ran out ET was missing...he had a virus and we got slaughtered.

and the time Barry Russell got hurt and couldn't play against the Tigers in a semi.

and the time .....do I go on?

mr_sharks

carcharias said:
I remember a semi against the Broncos ( super league I think ) I went the club to watch.

I remember that night, it was in Townsville I think. A PNG player we had on the wing as a replacement let a ball bounce infield and Tuqiri pounced. We got smashed up big time.

mr_sharks said:
I remember that night, it was in Townsville I think. A PNG player we had on the wing as a replacement let a ball bounce infield and Tuqiri pounced. We got smashed up big time.

Brian Laumatia?

carcharias said:
Thats the one...we played the Knights up there at night.

and the time Barry Russell got hurt and couldn't play against the Tigers in a semi.

and the time .....do I go on?

Please don't :lol:

Although carch at this point I am "Comforably Numb"

The Dodger

kearney should do well this weekend.
but don't forget, we have tony caine who ripped PL last weekend.

i have a gut feeling of the follwing scenario;

noddy comes back next week and rips sh*t up and continues our great winning streak (thats if we dont lose this weekend). then when dykes comes back in at 5/8, things will just go back to the way they have been before noddy left.

any thoughts?
i hope not, but i wouldn't be surprised if it does...