Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

The occasion when Cook scored the try and Moses just stood there. Listen mate I think it’s honorable but FFS stop justifying mediocrity. That Game was there to be won and we blew it again!! Have you seen how many injuries other teams have? Have a look at Canberra’s casualty list before going off half cocked. How are they doing it? More SOO players? We have plenty of semi finals experience. We f**ked up and the buck stops with the coach. I just hope our board aren’t like your gibbering best. He has had 7 f**king years is our second most capped coach. We have had enough stability. So we should say thanks but either take this gig or go on job seeker. He is a terrible finals coach and you are so predictable because you did it with every other coach. EVERY SINGLE ONE. You are an apologist for mediocrity which is fine but it gets so f**king boring.
It's not just the injury that is the issue, but the lack of depth to replace them. The Cook try was irrelevant because we were behind. We didn't need to stop him, we needed the ball back, which meant convincing the ref that Moses was obstructed. Bravely getting up to chase wasn't going to win us a penalty. At least Moses got the ref to take a look at it, which wouldn't have happened if he had gotten up without complaining.

You all get the shits when the other teams' whingers play the ref instead of the ball but then cry when our players try to do it.

Joshuatheeel

I think he's now one of the best playmakers. I'm starting to think he might be best in the halves.

yep I reckon that could happen once Moses is off contract.

I reckon we need to target a young rookie fullback, who can play wing. Gives them 2 or so years to develop.

I'm all about getting quality across the park. Yes Guth has been our best back and his energy, commitment, dedication and TA tally proves that. Go back last year and Moses was killing it TA's. Our halves need to do that next year.
Guth is the heart and soul of the team. I'm not disputing that. I'd say top 5 or 6 fullbacks not top 3.
You have Teddy, Turbo, RTS, CNK and Papenhuysen..
Anyway if we can get a gun fullback then im all for it. Its only a hypothetical so may never eventuate but certainly wouldn't be against it.
If we brought in another spine player we'd have one too many. I reckon Dylan Brown would be an awesome centre, moving into the halves after Moses leaves.

Soto

Im a massive fan of Gutho. Cant wait to watch him and Jnr in SOO. That said. A major part of a fullbacks role is to organise the defence. Given us being exposed and out numbered often I wonder how good he was at that aspect? Just a thought.
And has been caught out of position a few times this year. However the guy is the lifeblood of this team..if we had more putting in like him and showing the same application we would still be in this comp.
I would prefer him staying fullback too but not against him going to another position if it means the team strengthens as a result. Guth can play anywhere and will be a gun

emjaycee

Or move Gutherson to 6 now with Drown replacing Mennings.
Not if it means we miss out on our centre target, although I guess:

1. Some new Dude
2. Fergo
3. Drown
4. Staggs
5. Blake
6. Gutho
7. Moses

But only if the new dude for fullback is proven.
If we are going to put a rookie there, I wouldn't change it and would look for another quality centre or even make a play for Burton if Drown was moving to the centres.
1. Gutho
2. Fergo
3. Drown
4. Staggs
5. Blake
6. Burton
7. Moses

yy_cheng

Didn’t know Bennett knew what was going on at our club...
I’d argue we looked pretty fresh and up the last two weeks, exactly how I thought we would be after a few down weeks to freshen up.
I’ll say it again we don’t lose the injuries during the storm game we win that, and beat souths with the players that were out
It doesn't look like BA knows either.

We were not fresh. Did you see DBrown, Lane, Taka ... they were knackered. Our defensive linespeed was slow if you compare it to the other top teams and if you compare it to us just after covid.

Same with our rucks. We were able to ruck out and get to the opposition 40 most times but the last 6-8 weeks, we were lucky to make it to our own 40.

We didn;t have enough energy to sustain it.... look at the panthers, they can maintain that througout the whole 80.

Most likely, we were using up too much gas as they played big minutes from our top forwards in the last 3rd of the season.

This also applies to mental fatigue. RCG basically said he was sick of the bubble and when he said that other guys were too, I'd bet he meant other eels players.

That's on BA.

I'm not saying we didn't play well, but we regressed as the season went on.

Delboy

Interesting day today, went through the game with 2 Junior rep coaches and this is their observations.

Moses had a better than average game, let down only by that kick for goal, redeemed by excellent conversions, decent defence and general kicking

First Souths try was a play where Taka Didn’t appear to tell Gennings to cover his winger, centres role is to let his outside player know he has it covered, no sight of any comm7nicarion from Taka.

Second try, Evans and Stone read the play as going to Souths left and did not come across to cover the gap, very poor defence read.

Third try, one of the big issues is the way we defend, appear to be the only side that is trained to defend side on to prevent quick play the balls, but lack of front on defence just allows their shoulders to be turned and Davey was caught and Lane fell off the tackle as he came across to cover.

The kick was simply a poor adjustment by the team when the ball hit the post, coupled with Taka unfortunately not being a good lateral mover so the bounce of the ball hurt big time. They did make the observation that Jax Paulo moved the ball forward over Takas hand, didn’t see it as an issue.

The intercept was a result of trying too hard and moving away from what we were doing, in saying that Jax Paulo was obscured and it looked as if there was a chance to get a big break and possibly a try.

The final try when Moses chipped through, they were not sure as the referee impeded Moses by tripping him, they said that’s often a scrum to the attacking team , but it was what it was.

their final remarks were Cook should have been in the sin bin for the most professional foul on Junior, when their defence was out of position and we had a 4 on 2 on our right side, weak ref decision.
To wrap up 2 very important and crucial things, they said leaving our 3 middles off at the start of the second half was using replacements by the clock , not by what the game needed. We went back and taking them off 10 minutes before half time and bringing them back 15 minutes after the half was the norm for most of our games . Need to adjust to needs not the clock.

Defence was better, fanned out as play moves into our half, guilty of playing too narrow for the whole field in the past. Tackling style seemed to be side which leaves to offloads, that was a style used more than 5 seasons ago, front on defence is what the top teams use, quick off the line and front on.

Bit long, but it interested me, so thought others might feel the same.

Joely01

It doesn't look like BA knows either.

We were not fresh. Did you see DBrown, Lane, Taka ... they were knackered. Our defensive linespeed was slow if you compare it to the other top teams and if you compare it to us just after covid.

Same with our rucks. We were able to ruck out and get to the opposition 40 most times but the last 6-8 weeks, we were lucky to make it to our own 40.

We didn;t have enough energy to sustain it.... look at the panthers, they can maintain that througout the whole 80.

Most likely, we were using up too much gas as they played big minutes from our top forwards in the last 3rd of the season.

This also applies to mental fatigue. RCG basically said he was sick of the bubble and when he said that other guys were too, I'd bet he meant other eels players.

That's on BA.

I'm not saying we didn't play well, but we regressed as the season went on.

Dbrown just came back from an injury.. Taka?? You serious? The bloke has hardly played hahaha

You can have your points on how we looked during the season, I don’t think we ever got as bad as the BA bashers are saying when you look into the season.
I actually do a weekly video on League if anyone is interested message me and I’ll send you a link as I’ll be doing a parra review this week!

Mental fatigue? I would say every single player is over the bubble, it’s been what 3 months of being basically caged... how in the hell is that BAs problem?

like come on, it’s bordering on a joke some of the things people are putting on BA!
Next will be he wasn’t the personal chef for each player, or he doesn’t buy each players boots for them!
Fair dinkum

Joely01

Colour me shocked that a piece from James Hooper doesn't stand up as factual when put under closer scrutiny... The bloke is a massive douche who knows less about rugby league (and the concept of "Sliding Doors" lol) than just about anyone you could possibly think of

Sounds like he must control half the accounts on here going off some of the posters here haha

It's not just the injury that is the issue, but the lack of depth to replace them. The Cook try was irrelevant because we were behind. We didn't need to stop him, we needed the ball back, which meant convincing the ref that Moses was obstructed. Bravely getting up to chase wasn't going to win us a penalty. At least Moses got the ref to take a look at it, which wouldn't have happened if he had gotten up without complaining.

You all get the shits when the other teams' whingers play the ref instead of the ball but then cry when our players try to do it.
Some dude on Twitter summed it perfectly:

“Someone needs to be held accountable whether it be the coach or senior players. You don't go from leading 18-8 at half time and concede 30 points in 40 min in an ELIMINATION final without questions being asked. It was the manner of which those 30 points were conceded.”

Some dude on Twitter summed it perfectly:

“Someone needs to be held accountable whether it be the coach or senior players. You don't go from leading 18-8 at half time and concede 30 points in 40 min in an ELIMINATION final without questions being asked. It was the manner of which those 30 points were conceded.”
Like Bennett said, they were in control for 65 minutes. There was a 15 period where we were on top and we got very lucky. We also had some bad luck during the game but the worst was losing our best edge defender on the morning of the game.

Not if it means we miss out on our centre target, although I guess:

1. Some new Dude
2. Fergo
3. Drown
4. Staggs
5. Blake
6. Gutho
7. Moses

But only if the new dude for fullback is proven.
If we are going to put a rookie there, I wouldn't change it and would look for another quality centre or even make a play for Burton if Drown was moving to the centres.
1. Gutho
2. Fergo
3. Drown
4. Staggs
5. Blake
6. Burton
7. Moses
Why do you keep putting Staggs in the centre position?