Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

IFR33K

OK so you're unhappy. So is every Parra fan. So you want to do better. So does every Parra fan.

But generally to win the GF you need a GOAT or be on a once in a generation roll.

From a few posts here it sounds like the HOF is changing a few things, so let's see how that goes.

From my POV our team has come a long way. The gap between our good and bad games are not that far apart. We generally don't lose by a great deal and we go down fighting.

I get that some people are hurting but all I can see is positive moving forward.

I think you need to go back and watch some of our games and remember we finished 3rd. In particular the manly one, where they absolutely reamed us. And then tell me how close to ‘good’ that performance was.

Delboy

I think you need to go back and watch some of our games and remember we finished 3rd. In particular the manly one, where they absolutely reamed us. And then tell me how close to ‘good’ that performance was.
Manly jumped us for sure , but have you forgotten it was 4 tries all and time ran out after an awful first 25 minutes. Most sides would have conceded the game and looked to next week. Our boys fought baak as they did in most games except Souffs, and let’s face it with the new rules apart from the Riff every team got handed a big defeat at some stage.

It was more than a decent season

IFR33K

Mate we went 15/5 in the regular season. Going back to a loss and using that to define our season is flawed.

If that’s flawed, what would you say is saying our best and worst football aren’t far apart? That’s the entire argument by many here. We’re too inconsistent and been so for all of BA’s years.

IFR33K

Manly jumped us for sure , but have you forgotten it was 4 tries all and time ran out after an awful first 25 minutes. Most sides would have conceded the game and looked to next week. Our boys fought baak as they did in most games except Souffs, and let’s face it with the new rules apart from the Riff every team got handed a big defeat at some stage.

It was more than a decent season

If we’re chasing decent seasons or more than decent, we should follow the tigers. Then when they occasionally finish above 9th it’ll be like a premiership win.

Kornstar

You know I respect you and your opinion, but I often wonder what opinions you’d have of BA if you didn’t know him.

We’ve got f all juniors in the team.

We lacked defense up until this year in BA’s entire tenure here.

We’ve looked lost with the ball this season, always reverting back to one out shit and lacking any attacking flair.

we’ve seen this season players continually getting selected in absolutely atrocious form. Remembering in past seasons we’ve seen BA drop fui and mannah, when they weren’t playing too badly. And said players out of form, remained out of form.

we’ve seen BA make absolutely horrendous recruitment decisions, to the point they’ve taken any decision making off his hands

we’ve seen BA absolutely f^*k bench rotations and hideous team selections, week in week out.

BA has gone into this season with only one genuine number 9. A position where most teams attack from, yet BA is happy to have an 80 minute tackling machine. No wonder moses doesn’t pose a threat.

we’ve seen BA make the most outrageous positional changes. Some we’re stupidly funny.

God help us if DA ever done these things. And you question Anderson’s integrity as a coach.

BA has his shortfalls and it’s about time you think all of the shit BA has done. Unbiasedly

Maybe our juniors are all precious? Maybe they think if they show some promise we should hand them a contract worthy of a superstar? Maybe it is easier for other teams to identify the good ones and offer them more money and instead of showing any loyalty they chase the almighty dollar (which is fair but something we can't compete with)? What is a junior? Where did they have to start to be mentioned as a junior?

Is it possible that there is a longer term plan with players and the club us willing to ride that plan to get the relevant results?

It is also possible that we are just f**ked and there is no direction........

Really none of us know but it sure is fun telling everyone how much we know and that we know more about the inner working of the club than the actual people in the club.........

3/6 games were against the storm. The other 3 games were against teams below us, where we should of won. We’ve capitulated in all but two games, and only won the one.
The problem was your expectations. Don't look at ladder position because it lies about the quality of a team. We are very good (or lucky) at winning the close ones, so our ladder position is usually higher than it should be for the quality of our roster. In 2017 we finished fourth but we only had a points differential of +39. The Cowboys had +24, only a bee's dick difference from ours. They had plenty of big game experience, with all the QLD Origin players and a premiership two years earlier, plus they were in form, beating the Roosters and the Sharks (defending premiers) in the finals that year. Their luck ran out against the Storm though and they got smashed.

In 2019 we were +60 and set a finals record against the Broncos, who we outclassed (they had -57). The following week we were again up against the f**king Storm (+331) who shat themselves in week one and didn't repeat the error against us.

This year we were +104 (our best ever under Arthur's) but were unlucky to face two better teams (Storm +258 and Souths +169) in the finals.

But we are improving steadily. You need to look at our for and against, not an all or nothing metric like whether or not we won a finals match. As a fan we want to win these but if you're analysing our trajectory as a club they're a poor metric for making judgements. Personally I'm still very concerned about 2018, and whether that could happen again. The finals losses tell me nothing about this coach or this club other than that we still need better players.

IFR33K

The problem was your expectations. Don't look at ladder position because it lies about the quality of a team. We are very good (or lucky) at winning the close ones, so our ladder position is usually higher than it should be for the quality of our roster. In 2017 we finished fourth but we only had a points differential of +39. The Cowboys had +24, only a bee's dick difference from ours. Plus they were in form, beating the Roosters and the Sharks (defending premiers) in the finals that year. Their luck ran out against the Storm though and they got smashed.

In 2019 we were +60 and set a finals record against the Broncos, who we outclassed (they had -57). The following week we were again up against the f**king Storm (+331) who shat themselves in week one and didn't repeat the error against us.

This year we were +104 (or best ever under Arthur's) but were unlucky to face two better teams (Storm +258 and Souths +169) in the finals.

But we are improving steadily. You need to look at our for and against, not an all or nothing metric like whether or not we won a finals match. As a fan we want to win these but if you're analysing our trajectory as a club they're a poor metric for making judgements. Personally I'm still very concerned about 2018, and whether that could happen again. The finals losses tell me nothing about this coach or this club other than that we still need better players.

I only read the first line. Do you think BA and the team is gutted they’re out? Or were they expecting to be out is straight sets.

I hope they're gutted. They play to win, and even if they're outclassed they'd hope for some luck on the day. Instead we lost our most experienced player on the morning of the game. I was gutted when I heard that and I was gutted when we lost. But I expected it - I had $520 on Souths at $1.50. They were specials but I still thought we were a slight chance. I would have preferred to lose my bet.

IFR33K

I hope they're gutted. They play to win, and even if they're outclassed they'd hope for some luck on the day. Instead we lost our most experienced player on the morning of the game. I was gutted when I heard that and I was gutted when we lost. But I expected it - I had $520 on Souths at $1.50. They were specials but I still thought we were a slight chance. I would have preferred to lose my bet.

So why is the board seemingly reacting to our straights sets exit? Maybe you should send them a memo too, that they’re expectations are to high.

emjaycee

Maybe our juniors are all precious? Maybe they think if they show some promise we should hand them a contract worthy of a superstar? Maybe it is easier for other teams to identify the good ones and offer them more money and instead of showing any loyalty they chase the almighty dollar (which is fair but something we can't compete with)? What is a junior? Where did they have to start to be mentioned as a junior?

Is it possible that there is a longer term plan with players and the club us willing to ride that plan to get the relevant results?

It is also possible that we are just f**ked and there is no direction........

Really none of us know but it sure is fun telling everyone how much we know and that we know more about the inner working of the club than the actual people in the club.........
We made an early decision not to outbid the Tigers for Stefano and let him sign for them for 2021.
After his 3 games in the top grade this year, I reckon we made the right decision.

Gazzamatta

OK so you're unhappy. So is every Parra fan. So you want to do better. So does every Parra fan.

But generally to win the GF you need a GOAT or be on a once in a generation roll.

From a few posts here it sounds like the HOF is changing a few things, so let's see how that goes.

From my POV our team has come a long way. The gap between our good and bad games are not that far apart. We generally don't lose by a great deal and we go down fighting.

I get that some people are hurting but all I can see is positive moving forward.
I read an article which stated BA has been instructed to work closely with O'Neill to sort out the issues and to get things on the right track or words to that effect.
It implys that there is a disconnect between the two or simply the old "BA does the coaching and reports directly to the CEO" statement made by Bernie upon O'Neill's appointment is now not the case. Of cause it could also be BS reporting. I always thought it was weird not having the Head Coach reporting to the HoF and the reason it was stated categorically by The Bern. Im probably just a suspicious bast*rd.

I read an article which stated BA has been instructed to work closely with O'Neill to sort out the issues and to get things on the right track or words to that effect.
It implys that there is a disconnect between the two or simply the old "BA does the coaching and reports directly to the CEO" statement made by Bernie upon O'Neill's appointment is now not the case. Of cause it could also be BS reporting. I always thought it was weird not having the Head Coach reporting to the HoF and the reason it was stated categorically by The Bern. Im probably just a suspicious bast*rd.
I read that and had the same thought, then too figured it's probably bullshit.

Joely01

Exactly, we have been improving each year... is that what you’re suppose to do to be successful?
The old Rome wasn’t built in a day comes to mind...

Eelogical

We made an early decision not to outbid the Tigers for Stefano and let him sign for them for 2021.
After his 3 games in the top grade this year, I reckon we made the right decision.
I think when a person commits themselves elsewhere they generally don't put in their best at their current place of employment any longer. However, you might be correct in your assumption.

Rome wasn’t built in a day people!! By BA’s 15th season he might of actually figured out how to pick a bench and then get his rotations right.

It will be very exciting when it finally happens!!

3/6 games were against the storm. The other 3 games were against teams below us, where we should of won. We’ve capitulated in all but two games, and only won the one.

Using injuries as an excuse doesn’t cut it with me or many here. Nor will it cut it with BA. You think he told his team it’s ok to lose on Saturday night because of injuries?

The media aren’t fools they’ve caught on to what Gus has been saying for a while. To what many here have been saying for a while. The team lacks killer instinct especially come semi final footy. If BA can’t motivate them enough to be up for the challenge, then there’s an issue.

You keep banging on about the roosters going out in straight sets. If you haven’t noticed they are back to back premiers. They can’t win it every year, nor will they.

No body is saying BA is a bad coach. Or a shit merkin of a person. But he’s stubborn and set in his ways, and takes him forever to make changes. Or fix things across the team. Basically he’s limited. If it’s an assistant thing, then he should be looking into changes.

We won’t win f%*k all under BA in the current regime.
Well said. I agree with all of that, except the last sentence.

With the right support for him I think we can win a GF with BA. He also needs to change his ways to make that happen.