Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

JokerEel

Job for life and a child with autism and it took him 3 clubs and 13 years to decide he preferred Canberra? Pretty convenient. The point is that it was a better option for Stuart, just like the Storm is a better option for Bellamy and a whole bunch of clubs are more attractive to Wayne Bennett. If we were that f**king desirable for the top coaches, why haven't we had a single one since 2006? That's almost 20 years of coaches unwanted by other clubs.

Well there was no way Bennett was ever coming to us....

Same with Bellamy he is Semi retired.

Most coaches wouldn't touch us with a 10 foot pole due to the way the club was run before it all blew up in 2016.. Fairly sure Ricky saw this and took the chance to get away asap..

What other coaches with first grade experience were available when we signed up BA or even Ryles?

chiefy1

Anyone know what's happening with the usual coach's captain's run presser ?

The Bush Coach usually had his presser put up on Thursday or Friday of a match week. Is Rylsey's presser on Parra plus or something, or is the club leaving it to the players for pre game ?

Johnny88

I was a ratbag’: Jason Ryles’ rise from fiery forward to Parramatta coach
ByAdrian Proszenko
March 8, 2025

You can usually pick the footballers who will become coaches. Often you see them a mile away.
Maybe it’s because they are the on-field general, or a footy nerd, or because they have a passion for the game that won’t allow them to consider a career outside of it. Maybe it’s an intangible quality that can’t be identified. Whatever it is, they just have coach-in-waiting stamped all over them.

Think Ricky Stuart, Craig Bellamy, Craig Fitzgibbon.
And then there’s the other type. The ones you don’t see coming.
Jason Ryles belongs in the second category.
When he was carting up the ball, all fire and brimstone, nothing about Ryles screamed future coach.
In fact, when you ask him to reflect on it now, you get the impression the Ryles of 20 years ago probably wasn’t the sort of player the Ryles of today would want to coach.
“I was a ratbag,” Ryles says. “I knew I was. In saying that, I’ve grown up a lot. I’ve gone to different clubs, seen other ways of doing things and learnt from some pretty successful people along the way.
“I didn’t foresee this 20 years ago, that’s for sure.”
And yet, here he is, the new guy in charge at Parramatta, the third club that had identified him as the NRL’s “next great coach”. There were other candidates for the post, each impressive in their own way, but none had completed a more rounded apprenticeship. The blue and golds wanted someone with a growth mindset and a clear vision for the club’s future. The fact that he had attended the best finishing schools in league and rugby union meant all the boxes were ticked.
In short, the Ryles who got the nod as Brad Arthur’s successor was a very different man to the tearaway prop of days gone by.
So what happened?
“I reckon I was 26 or 27 and I just thought, ‘What am I doing?’” Ryles tells this masthead.
“I met Alana, who is now my wife, and everything just changed. Five years later we were married, then we had kids. That was the thing.
“It wasn’t a lightbulb [moment] or a catalyst, it was just things were starting to change and you grow up.
“You don’t think the same things are funny any more. Meeting my wife, about 17 to 18 years ago now, that was a big turning point in my life.”
There have been others.
Ryles first dipped his toe into the coaching caper at one of his junior clubs, Wollongong’s Western Suburbs Red Devils. With his great mate Mark “Piggy” Riddell as his lieutenant, Ryles led the Red Devils as captain-coach about a decade ago.

When you get to the end of your career, it’s like, ‘What are we going to do now?’” Ryles recalls.
At the same time, to help make ends meet, he was working as a sales representative at True Blue Chemicals, flogging cleaning products to distributors.
“I wasn’t good at it,” he admits. “That was a humbling experience because nobody cares how many games of footy you’ve played.
“The biggest thing I learnt about was relationships, getting to know people.
“It was very, very humbling, I had some days where I was, ‘Wow, I’m in the real world now’.”
Of the two gigs, coaching held more appeal. He was good at it, too.
Within two years, Ryles was invited back to former club Melbourne, to learn from master mentor Craig Bellamy. That led to a stint on the coaching staff of then-England rugby mentor Eddie Jones, then an assistant role under Trent Robinson at the Roosters, before again returning to the Storm.

Everywhere he went, Ryles left his mark. Which is why, when St George Illawarra sacked Anthony Griffin, the job was his if he wanted it. A return to the Red V, a stone’s throw away from where he lived, with the security of a four-year deal. If you’re an aspiring head coach, it doesn’t get any better than that.
And still, he knocked it back. While most rookies would jump at the first job they’re offered, Ryles realised it was the right place at the wrong time. Instead, he returned to Melbourne, earmarked as the man to replace Bellamy, only to find that waiting for Bellamy to retire is like waiting for Godot.
When a spot opened up at Parramatta, Ryles felt it was the right fit.
“Everything I learnt along the way in regards to the front office – whilst it’s not perfect and nowhere is – a lot of the infrastructure was in place to help me do my job every day, which is to coach the footy team,” he says.
“It was a lot to do with the timing and the way the club has been set up. I saw a good opportunity there.”
Change was needed at Parramatta. Change is hard.
The most obvious difference is in personnel after three stalwarts – Clint Gutherson, Reagan Campbell-Gillard and Maika Sivo – were allowed to leave. All were contracted, all were beloved, but after narrowly avoiding the wooden spoon, a reset was required.
“It happened pretty naturally in regards to those guys,” Ryles says. “They needed to know what was in store for them in the future and I couldn’t give them a definitive answer. They then got some opportunities elsewhere that were pretty good for them personally, and I didn’t want to stand in their way.
“Those things happen along the way, and you just try to make the best decision for the club at the time. I thought that was the best way to go.”
However, the biggest change during Ryles’ first pre-season in charge has been cultural.
“I always talk about how the badge connects us all,” Ryles explains.
“It connects our families, it connects our fans, every past player, all our admin staff. It’s something we’re privileged to do. To do it at a club so steeped in history, it’s an honour to come to work, put the gear on and represent.”
Still, there was a disconnect between the current generation of players and the previous one. Nor was there a proper appreciation of the history of the club. Which is why Ryles issued all players and staff with a 69-page booklet detailing the club’s past.
When the squad was put through a boot camp, it was conducted across all seven Parramatta sites deemed of historical importance, from the town hall to the NSW lancer barracks.
‘I’ve grown up a lot ... I didn’t foresee this 20 years ago, that’s for sure.’
Jason Ryles
“I’ve seen it at the Storm and the Roosters, and they do it well,” he says. “I see it as a really important part, knowing where we come from.”
While keen to forge his own path, he borrowed another idea from Melbourne. The entire squad was sent into the workforce for a few days of their summer. It was a chance to spend time with the community they represent and remind them how lucky they are to play footy for a living.
“We’re not the first place to do it, but I thought it was appropriate for where we are at,” he says. “It was really successful for us because the players bought into it. They didn’t complain, they just got out and did it. I think it was very beneficial for them.”
Earlier this year, a select group of fans were invited to an Eels members forum at Parramatta Stadium.
For many it was the first time the faithful got to hear from the new coach. The first line he uttered after being handed the microphone is: “Obviously there’s going to be a fair bit of change, there has been so far.”
When a club insider is later asked what is different about a pre-season under Ryles, the answer is “everything”.
More focus on the fundamentals. Less work without the football. Add speed into the side and work out how best to use it.
“I don’t know everything, far from it,” Ryles says. “It’s the start of my journey. My belief is to get better at footy, you need to do it. As often as possible.”
The players appear to have bought in, albeit they are yet to be truly tested. That will happen on Sunday. Parramatta take on Ryles’ former team Melbourne, who haven’t lost an opening-round encounter in 22 years under Bellamy.
It is the first step of a journey he is taking his players on.
“I see it as being important to have a good, honest relationship with them,” he says.
“Sometimes you just need to check yourself that you’re not too matey with them, but you learn that along your journey.
“At the end of the day they look to you for guidance and direction. I find I’m pretty understanding of where they’re at, having played and been around footy for so long. I’ve got a pretty good feel for what they’re going through, I don’t know everything, but I just try to help them as much as I can.”
For proof that change for the better is possible, they need look no further than their coach.

Johnny88

Brutal start to Jason Ryles era​

Dean Ritchie and Lance Jenkinson

Welcome to the NRL, Jason Ryles. The new era at Parramatta got off to the worst start imaginable, with the Eels dismantled by the Storm and the new coach humbled by his former mentor.

Welcome to hell, Rylesy.
After 12 seasons as an assistant, Jason Ryles finally became a head coach on Sunday - and it became a bloodbath.
His humiliated Parramatta side conceded eight first half tries and a further two in the second half to be embarrassed 56-18 by Melbourne at AAMI Park.

It was 35 degrees at AAMI Park – and Parramatta certainly felt the heat.
Parramatta was missing star playmaker Mitch Moses, and backrower Ryan Matterson, but their defensive effort and commitment was woeful.
Melbourne led 46-6 after 35 minutes.

A brutal start to coaching life for Jason Ryles. Picture: Quinn Rooney/Getty Images

It was the sixth worst loss by a first grade coach on a debut in Australian rugby league’s 117-year history.
And it was the second highest points tally in a first half by a team in Australian rugby league history. Newcastle scored 48 points in 2003.

Even the most heartless rugby league fan must have felt some sympathy for Ryles.
cce3367f48285f21e1e7fc3937883263ae4917f2.jpg

“I know that ‘Rylesy’ is a great coach and a great bloke. They have a really good squad and he can do something with them,” said Storm skipper Harry Grant. “The score line probably doesn’t suggest that today but ‘Rylesy’ has plenty of footy in him as a coach. It was really sad when he left us.”
The Eels were totally outclasssed. Picture:Quinn Rooney/Getty Images

After Grant’s Fox League interview, former Test forward Bryan Fletcher, said tongue-in-cheek: “Harry, just say they’re shithouse.”
The Eels did show commitment and passion in the second half, scoring two tries and actually won the second 40 minutes 12-10.

“It’s a good introduction to coaching for Jason Ryles,” Cooper Cronk said on Fox league.
Parramatta missed 47 tackles.
Ryles was a senior assistant to head coach Craig Bellamy at Melbourne Storm between 2016 and 2020. He was at the Storm for the club’s 2017 and 2020 grand final triumphs.
Returning to Melbourne on Sunday was meant to be a celebration. It became a nightmare.
Dylan Brown tries to tackle Tyran Wishart. Picture:Quinn Rooney/Getty Images

It was an unfortunate game for Eels five-eighth Dylan Brown, who played the Storm game aware he must make the biggest decision before round ten - to remain at Parramatta or sign a ten-year worth $13m offer from the Newcastle Knights.
Brown was pushed off badly by Eli Katoa. Who scored a 26th minute try. To be fair Brown shouldn’t shoulder all the blame for Sunday’s result
But the pressure will remain on Brown with Moses unavailable for another five games.
“Moses wouldn’t have made a difference,” said Eels legend Nathan Hindmarsh.
Pre-game, Parramatta was $6 favourite to claim most losses, according to TAB. Their odds could drift after the Storm loss. The Eels are clearly getting used to playing without Clint Gutherson and Reagan Campbell-Gillard.
The rout started in the seventh minute when Storm fullback Ryan Papenhuyzen – with his bleached blond hair - scored. Melbourne’s ground speed blew Parramatta away.

Johnny88

Eels coach’s blunt admission after historic opening round beat down​

Parramatta Eels coach Jason Ryles did not mince his words after his team suffered a historic loss to kick start the 2025 NRL season.

Parramatta coach Jason Ryles’ tenure got off to a nightmare start after the Eels were demolished by the Melbourne Storm.

Speaking after the historic defeat, Ryles made a blunt admission about the current state of his side, cautioning fans the rebuilding side needs time.

“I take full responsibility in regards to the amount of change I have brought to the club, but at the same time it doesn’t happen overnight,” he said.

“I’ve got no doubt over the course of time and the buy-in the players have given us is enormous. It’s one of those things, we got a tough lesson tonight.

“We’ve had a lot of change and a lot of change in personnel. The program has changed and then I’ve changed a lot of things we’re doing on the field.

“So it’s going to take time and a lot of that comes back onto me. There were periods of the game where we had really good periods, but then we just fell away.

“Obviously come up against a quality opposition tonight against the Storm … they made us pay for our little errors.”

“Our commitment to contact in that first half probably wasn’t where it needed to be.

“But in the second half we turned that around, within 15 minutes we went back out there and turned it all around.

“In regards to our missed tackles, I think we had 30 in the first half and 17 in the second half, so that’s a massive improvement.”

I won’t say I’m sitting here wondering what to do, because having someone like Nathan Brown sitting next to me who has done this numerous times has been a great resource,” he said.

“But I’m seeing all the little parts of where we are going to get better, we’ve got some players, two debutants, Isaiah (Iongi) has played one game.

“That’s not an excuse, but the reality of it is, they need to play more footy and the only way is to put them out on the field.

“I know they’re not flash in the pan players, they’re going to be around for many years if they keep tracking the way they are.”