Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels the real test

Nages

I think how we play against the eels this weekend will say more about our chances this year than last week's performance. In my opinion, this is the crunch game.

For almost a month now we've been underdogs, but not anymore. We need to aim up, big time. Win and win well. And in saying that I don't mean by a million points - but with sound defence.

The best result would be to keep them under 10.

I don't think we've ever been the world's best favourites. This weekend will show how far the boys have come.

Go you Sharkies.

One point that needs to be made - we've struggled at home this year. Who knows why, but we're playing our best football away from Shark Park.

In the long run, this bodes well for any finals campaign we might find ourselves in.

But in the short term, it means we need to be very careful this weekend against the Eels.

Jimbo

Reality check - we're talking about a side three points ahead of the spoon. Anything less than a 30 point win would be alarm bell time.

Nages

Exactly - and that's just why it is so important. Will be interesting to see if Stuey can pump them right up for this one.

ok jimbo but it's been a pretty tight comp this year and the games often depend on who turns up to play. eels beat chooks a few weeks back, souths smashed us, tigers smashed souths, etc.

having said that, if we do turn mentally switched on we should have too much class and i'd personally be hoping to be able to eat away at some of our negative points differential

Jimbo

Absolutely, we need to turn up and not take them lightly. Which is why it would be quite worrying if we didn't...

imasharkie

Geezez I'm not coming all that way to see us lose, a win in all 3 grades would be a happy result.

Jimbo

Apparently Parra have been going like a busted in PL and Flegg too, much to Ray Hadley's delight...

newman

I think how we play against the eels this weekend will say more about our chances this year than last week's performance. In my opinion, this is the crunch game
Youre damn right it will. Im very nervous about this game. More nervous than I have been in weeks. Great win against the chooks, but was that our grand final?

beekershark

you are 100% right mate, we are not good favorites and need to turn that around this week, of the 6 times we have favorite this year, we have won ONLY 1.

but of the 15 times we have been underdogs,we have won 9 times

Nullajet

Let's not forget, as badly as parra are going, they have beaten the roosters and the broncos ....

they are simply unpredictable form wise and thats what is scary!!!

a real worry this game, i reckon, especially since they were held embarressingly scoreless against the tigers in their last game....

we need to be very very careful not to under estimate them.

Glenndonna

8) Dont forget the rooters got flogged by the eels 4 weeks ago,,,so it will be a close one,,,Go Sharks,,,Oh yes have a drink for me Coolum sharkie 8)

The Eels also pushed the Storm all the way at Olympic Park. The Eels are a team we have had awful trouble beating since about 1999.

Jimbo

Parramatta rely on getting a good start. If we can hold them out for the first 15-20 minutes they'll give up, sully comes on, and you know the rest...

quote]
One point that needs to be made - we've struggled at home this year. Who knows why, but we're playing our best football away from Shark Park.

In the long run, this bodes well for any finals campaign we might find ourselves in.

But in the short term, it means we need to be very careful this weekend against the Eels.
[/quote]

especially as we have not beaten Parra at Toyota since 2000

Booyah

I don't think the Eels will be as hard as some of us think. I might be very wrong, but watching them the past few weeks, they have been very flat and Hindmarsh looks bloody wasted.

Sure he still does a thousand tackles and hit-ups, but he doesn't have anywhere near as much impact as he did. He hits the line and thats it. In the old days he's hit the line, bust through and look for support or keep running etc.

Also they still have that joke Wagon at 5/8.

That being said, we still have to treat the Eels with respect or they WILL walk all over us.