Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Effect of non NSW opposition on Sydney attendances

fanatique

Thought I'd look at the effect playing out of state, non NSW, opposition has on Sydney club home attendances.

After round 9 the 9 Sydney clubs have together played 39 home games. 23 against NSW opposition including the knights and 16 against one or other of the 6 other clubs.

Total 39 game aggregate 589,110 at average of 15,105
Total 23 game Sydney V NSW opposition average 17,031
Total 16 game Sydney V "inter State" average 12337.

Substantial difference of 4,694 or about 28%.

aarondoyle

That's sad. That's really f**ked. Why would a supporter only care about localised clubs.

All NZ, Canberra, and Melbourne home games are 'interstate', and the sheer majority of Titan, Broncos and Cowboys are the same.

miccle

Of COURSE there is a substantial difference.

Look, a number of Titans/Broncos/Cowboys/Storm/Warriors fans will travel to Sydney for any given game.

So it's surprising that a substantially larger number of, say, Parra fans will travel to their Sydney game against the Bulldogs than Broncos fans would travel to play the Bulldogs?

It's common sense, has nothing to do with the fans of one team not showing up when they play an interstate side.

Exactly, aarondoyle - what an ignorant thing to say.

skeepe

What it highlights is that a lot of the Sydney clubs don't have the dedicated fan base they'd like us to believe they have.

Kurt Angle

No, it goes to shows how big a supoprt base non-NSW clubs have.

For example.. the Broncos have around 30,000 hardcore fans, that's why their average is around 30,000+

At the other end, the Dragons have around 8,000 fans as part of their "huge dragons army"....

They get more at home games due to the away support.

All your stats show is that on average, a sydney club home game against another sydney club will have around 4,694 away fans... the difference that interstate clubs don't/can't bring.

yosh64

skeepe said:
What it highlights is that a lot of the Sydney clubs don't have the dedicated fan base they'd like us to believe they have.

So true.

Why cant footy clubs put some effort into getting more support, more memberships and creating stronger loyalty amongst their fans.

It can only help the game and help the club financially.

Heritage XIII

How bad was the Tigers/Dragons game attendance wise??

Surely, the attendance was due to playing at Telstra. On my visit to Sydney, I find Telstra a poor stadium to watch rugby league. This game should have been at Tigers other home grounds in front of a capacity crowd rather than a lousy 13,000.

Or do we blame club marketing? Honestly, I thought this game should have attracted 30,000 plus!

meltiger

^^ Mothers Day combined with Saints poor performances for most of the season.

No sport gets outstanding attendances on Mothers Day.

Sydney RL has to have one of the worse crowd bases of any major sport. Soccer in UK averages 40,000+, AFL in its heartlands averages 40,000+, American sports have huge attendances but in our NSW heartlands we get embarrasing crowds. Pokies or just poor administration to blame?

fanatique

Perth Red said:
Sydney RL has to have one of the worse crowd bases of any major sport. Soccer in UK averages 40,000+, AFL in its heartlands averages 40,000+, American sports have huge attendances but in our NSW heartlands we get embarrasing crowds. Pokies or just poor administration to blame?

Perth you are to be fair comparing witht he very best attended leagues in world sport. Fact remains that NRL is the best attended rugby competition on earth.

Yes AFL and English soccer are huge but look at Italian soccer where average attendance this year is less than 20,000. Look at Brazilian and Argentinian soccer where average attendances are way below 20,000 and yes they do have a huge middle class they are not all dirt poor. Look at Holland soccer. Similar population to us. Similar crowds.

Japanese soccer gets 18,000 per game despite massive city size. US crowds are huge but in Canada where the population is similar to us CFL and NHL crowds are only marginally bigger than NRL.

It is not as bad as you think. We tend to be blinded the admittedly enormous crowd pulling appeal of the AFL into thinking 40,000 averages are normal. They are not.

yosh64

fanatique said:
Perth you are to be fair comparing witht he very best attended leagues in world sport. Fact remains that NRL is the best attended rugby competition on earth.

Yes AFL and English soccer are huge but look at Italian soccer where average attendance this year is less than 20,000. Look at Brazilian and Argentinian soccer where average attendances are way below 20,000 and yes they do have a huge middle class they are not all dirt poor. Look at Holland soccer. Similar population to us. Similar crowds.

Japanese soccer gets 18,000 per game despite massive city size. US crowds are huge but in Canada where the population is similar to us CFL and NHL crowds are only marginally bigger than NRL.

It is not as bad as you think. We tend to be blinded the admittedly enormous crowd pulling appeal of the AFL into thinking 40,000 averages are normal. They are not.

True. But we could be doing alot better. Its down to poor administration.

We should be closer to what the afl pull. Not as much, but much closer.

I predict that Souths will lead the way in terms of crowds in the future (although they cant be bottom of the ladder to do it). They are hiring people with pure business skills and will look to increase all revenue streams. Manly also seems to be working towards this aswell, but i have only taken this view from a few little things i have read. Cant be too sure on them.

nqboy

I just dunno where Manly are going to put too many more. They are quite restricted by the set-up of Brookvale.

Alex28

Round 9 was pretty poorly planned as well - 5 games in Sydney plus another one in Newcastle on Mothers Day weekend. No game in Brisbane or the Gold Coast either.

Southernsaint

meltiger said:
^^ Mothers Day combined with Saints poor performances for most of the season.

No sport gets outstanding attendances on Mothers Day.

So it's Saints' fault that the Tigers draw a poor crowd?? Now I've heard it all...

Regarding the out-of-state teams. As a Saints fan, I know I'd rather watch a match against the Dogs (who we've played since 1935) or the Scum (since 1967). History and potential atmosphere have a bearing on people's decision whether to attend a game or not.

Southernsaint said:
So it's Saints' fault that the Tigers draw a poor crowd?? Now I've heard it all...

Regarding the out-of-state teams. As a Saints fan, I know I'd rather watch a match against the Dogs (who we've played since 1935) or the Scum (since 1967). History and potential atmosphere have a bearing on people's decision whether to attend a game or not.

Yep

12326 rd 2 Kogarah
10232 rd 3 WIN
9011 rd 5 Kogarah
9057 rd 8 Kogarah

You get bugger all at home, yet you expect us to believe you travel also???

hrundi99

Heritage XIII said:
How bad was the Tigers/Dragons game attendance wise??

Surely, the attendance was due to playing at Telstra. On my visit to Sydney, I find Telstra a poor stadium to watch rugby league. This game should have been at Tigers other home grounds in front of a capacity crowd rather than a lousy 13,000.

Or do we blame club marketing? Honestly, I thought this game should have attracted 30,000 plus!

The club put a hell of a lot of effort into marketing, with a specific emphasis on Mother's Day celebrations.

Mother's Day is always the exception to the rule. Mums don't typically see going to the footy as the ideal way to spend "their" day.

Southernsaint

innsaneink said:
Yep

12326 rd 2 Kogarah
10232 rd 3 WIN
9011 rd 5 Kogarah
9057 rd 8 Kogarah

You get bugger all at home, yet you expect us to believe you travel also???

Who were we playing?? I blame their supporters...

See how ridiculous your argument is now??

fanatique

Southernsaint said:
Who were we playing?? I blame their supporters...

See how ridiculous your argument is now??

There is no defending it mate. 10,000 average for a club said to have more support than any in NSW is simply awful. However badly you are doing onfield, however well supported on your travels the fact is you are responsible for your home crowds and they are atrocious - The worst in the league. It would be equivalent to say Collingwood or Carlton drawing least in melbourne AFL which i can't believe has ever happened or to The yankees or Cubs drawing least in MLB again a never happened thing.

10,000 is appalling and for anyone. For the Dragons it is indefensible.