Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Embarrassment.

Tutt Army

My goodness Taxi Driver are you being serious?

I'm glad your not the P.M, I think John howard has a hell of alot more important things to worry about right now other than his football teams home ground, and always will whilst he is P.M.

Iam with MFC on this one, what do you expect from him? To sit with the dragon army every week? I mean he was the patron of the St George RLFC, might mean nothing and he might of done nothing, but at least he still had an association with the club and seemed to be supporting it. He could of down right refused to be the No.1 ticket holder of St George Illawarra but graciously accepted it in support of the club. He also has never missed the St George Grand Final breakfast for as long as I can remember.John Howard whether you like it or not is a Saints supporter and has shown so in his associations with the club.

L

legend

Kev, I agree with most of what you said but I never mentioned a superior policy capaign from the Liberals.

Like him or loathe him, Howard is a lot more stringent in his views whether they be right or wrong in the eyes of voters and people at least know what he stands for whereas Beazley had a perceived image problem and came across as weak. I personally thought Kim Beazley to be a genuine, honest and caring man who would endeavour to do his best for the community but his cabinet I found to be a major worry with possibles like Cheryl Kernot and Laurie Ferguson. No thanks!!!

St George would have no doubt lobbied Mr Howard and offered him the title of number one ticketholder in exchange for some exposure and possible preferential treatment somewhere down the track. I would like to know what each member here would have done if asked by the club you support to be the number one ticketholder?

CyberKev2002

Legend Thanks for the reply... 1) You're certainly correct about bloody Kernot! Personally I think it was an elaborate stunt that blew up in Labor's face and they won't be missing much by having her gone. Generally though, I don't have concerns about the Labor frontbenchers, as they're usually capable enough. With Labor, the biggest problem comes from those behind the scenes, wherein ridiculous pandering to factions has long been the party's biggest stumbling block. The biggest strength of Bob Hawke was his ability to override factional power games for the greater good of the party and this is the biggest challenge facing Simon Crean right now. I was pleased to hear him say that this is his priority and I hope he follows through, even if the fallout from it results in another 3 years on the opposition benches. Its not something that can be easily accomplished, as the media will be falling over themselves to highlight any semblance of party disunity (whether it genuinely exists or not). 2) With the Liberals, I actually worry about the opposite. Gough Whitlam once said that "not all Liberals are fascists" and he was very correct. The Liberals have some genuine people, but unfortunately they invariably get weeded-out and isolated to the backbenches while unworthy, charmless thugs like Costello, Reith, Woolridge, Ruddock, Vanstone, Bishop, Allston & Downer get to run the show with all their lack of vision and talent. I think the "wet" Liberals have the potential to do some good, but alas the party is definitely run whollus bollus by the "Dries" at the moment, much to the countries detriment. Oh well, Reith & Woolridge are no longer an issue... CyberKev

L

legend

Kev, I agree with you about Reith and Wooldridge. I think Bishop is destined for the backbench as her seat of McKellar(I think) is quite a safe Liberal seat so if she decides to retire and hence a bi-election, any candidate should be able to still win the seat. I'd like to see her go along with Vanstone and give Pat Farmer a run on the frontbench(pardon the pun) with Ross Cameron who has shown great fighting qualities to retain his seat after a redistribution had the seat falling into Labor hands.

Now we have narrowed it down to Costello, Downer, Alston and Ruddock who are all virtually assured of getting a spot on the frontbench. Not much we can do there unfortunately.

Just one more thing on the Howard/Dragons issue. Isn't Beazley the number one fan of Newcastle and Keating for the Bulldogs? This door swings both ways.

Legend, Beazley is a bit of a club whore. Im pretty sure he is an 'avid' AFL supporter of the Eagles (i think), as well as an 'avid' Brumbies supporter....pfff, and Newcastle!
Point is, pollies have always used sport as a tool to promote themselves as 'men for the people'. Even bloody Bob Carr, who wouldn't know a football from a frisbee tried getting in on the act when Souths signed up their first sponsors. I can't think of a major pollie who didn't have alligences to a rugby/league/afl club.
Keating is an avid Doggies fan...remember seeing him at the '94 and '95 gfs. 94 was rather unmemorable, i can't even remember the score now. The game didn't happen, did it Legend?
Kev, i agree with a fair bit of what you said, but its a bit hard to criticise the libs for basing a whole election campaign on one issue when labor went one worse and made the fact that Howard might not stick around for 3yrs the crux of their argument! I dont know how many times Beazley said that on the radio and in his adverts. Their main 'point' was not even a policy, just a speculative dig at the opposition! Hardly good politics, almost politics without policy. I really didn't see a hell of a lot of differentiation between the parties on a lot of issues.
MFC.

imported____

Johnsy, umm sorry I didn't realise it was mandatory to write our full names here. Should I write my address as well? What about my phone number....oh and I have a mobile as well should I write that in too? I suppose your name is just "Johnsy" kind of like "Cher" or "Madonna". Well call me a little dumb-witted but I didn't realise one was judged by their name. What was it that some stupid English playwright said....."What's in a name? that which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet".....how weak he must have been.

Legend, Willow, MFC.....geez thanks guys, as managers, you could have stepped in to prevent me from making such a dick of myself over such a long period of time. You could have told me that everyone had to write their real names in. What the hell was I thinking when I thought that in this community posters would be judged on their posts rather than their names. I didn't realise that honour, integrity and the true measure of a man were all defined in their name.

_____, didn't we mention that?? I'll scan my birth certificate and put it in here, my name by birth is MFC. The M is for Melodramatic, the F is for Fruitloop and C is for Charisma. Don't worry mate, im sure Johnsy is just over-reacting a little here.....Keep using the name, i may take a leap out of your book and change my name to _-_-_-_-_
Sound good?
MFC.

Actually, in order to avoid confusion, I changed my name by deed poll to Willow some time back.

CyberKev2002

MFC Kev, i agree with a fair bit of what you said, but its a bit hard to criticise the libs for basing a whole election campaign on one issue when labor went one worse and made the fact that Howard might not stick around for 3yrs the crux of their argument! I dont know how many times Beazley said that on the radio and in his adverts. Their main 'point' was not even a policy, just a speculative dig at the opposition! Hardly good politics, almost politics without policy. I really didn't see a hell of a lot of differentiation between the parties on a lot of issues. Not exactly, Old Son, although given the usual one-sided media portrayal of the election you could certainly be forgiven for thinking this way. What you're speaking of here is the old-fashioned gutter by-play engaged in by both parties (the Howard camp were awash in the media with scare material on Beazley's past and the prospect of Simon Crean taking the reins). In actual policy terms the Liberals ran on one thing and one thing only, a dubious approach to immigration that was effectively bipartisan in tone anyway. That aside they ran only on the myth of superior economic management, which is not a policy but merely an oft-repeated election time mantra. Similarly, in 1993 & 1998 the Liberals ran on one issue and one issue only - GST. The only time the Liberals have run on a multi-policy platform was in 1996, when overnight (a month out from the election) they proposed an exorbitant raft of some 30+ policies. At no stage of course, did the media choose to question the financial credibility of this approach (which was fantasy land stuff in this regard, and would have been hammered ad nauseum on the front pages if Labor had of proposed it), but it all came to nothing anyway with all but two being rejected as infamous "non-core" promises after the poll. Labor actually ran on three domestic policy fronts this time around -- Knowledge Nation, GST rollback and revised health care. All 3 were identified as key voter concerns, but all 3 were totally overshadowed by the Tampa affair. Plenty of media attention was focused on Knowledge Nation, however, mainly involving specualtion as to how it would be funded. Admittedly, the notion (as good as it was) would have had to been staggered across many years to make it financially plausible, but at least is was a well-intentioned visionary concept. Which leads me to my next suggestion... 1) All government terms should run for four years exactly. 2) Four months prior to the election date is the time at which the sitting government should be fully independently audited. From this moment, until the election result is made final, it should be made impossible for a government to initiate new spending ideas or pre-election "sweeteners". 3) The auditers should make the results of the audit available for inspection by all political parties three months prior to the election date. 4) This gives the parties another month to revise and clearly articulate their policy platforms with a clear idea of the economic health of the country. 5) All parties should be free to float their policy programs two months out from the election to get a final sense of how they will be received. 6) Parties are to finalise policy platforms and election strategies by the date preceding the election by one month. This final month will be the true election campaign period and will be the only time that political parties are permitted to advertise in the media. What do you think, too idealistic? CyberKev

For Christ's sake space kev,what planet are you on?
This idea of establishing fair play rules in a democratic society, incorporating the media to be bound by legislative orders,so that elections can be fair,in terms of how the party's may present their philosophy and agenda for a fixed term, is a concept that you mildly describe as idealistic.
Your idea of substance,as opposed to poll driven superficiality, is deadset f**ken queer in this day and age of shallowness,when critical analysis is described as elitism.

CyberKev2002

Lord Ted And I think it's gonna be a long, long time Till touch down brings me round again to find I'm not the man they think I am at home Oh, no, no, no I'm a rocket man... Rocket man burning out his fuse up here alone. There's no doubt in the world that I can tend to be a bit of a "daydream believer" at times, but if there's noone left to think radically in this depressing age of overt economic rationalism then surely we're all rooted! I had to laugh though, as your response to my suggestions mirrored those of my brother almost mirror perfectly
emteeth.gif
I believe I can fly CyberKev

P

pepe

firstly i am a labor supporter and an old saints supporter,i have no problem with john howard being the number 1 ticket holder,john appearsto bea decent bloke,perhapshecomes across more likeablemerely because he is surrounded by asshole ministers.

remember paul keating was the number one ticket holder at collingwood football club a few years back,now what the f#$k did he know about sport,at least little john loves his sport which in my eyes makes him not a bad bloke!!!

pepe

Kev mate, it probably does sound a little bit to idealistic for most, but im in your boat. I live in my own little utopian world, where the fairies fly blissfully and every person is a top bloke/woman. But don't forget, its the people that think differently that change the world, not those who live off familiarity ;)
I wouldn't definitely love to see auditing of the governments before elections, and budget projections of how they intend on financing their policies. It would be great, and i dont think it is asking to much.
About the GST rollback, labor never really explained (or at least i never heard it) how they intended on compensating the state governments for a drop in revenues from the GST. Its all good and well to come out and make these promises, but unfortunately, we do not live amongst fairies and 'Club Whore' K.Beazley would have had to have come up with ways to get this money in another way (increased income tax anyone?????)
MFC.