Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

End nears for suburban NRL grounds

newman

I reckon this is a pretty spot on description of where the NRL in sydney will be in about 2025.

And what will happen to Toyota, Centrebet, Campbelltown, Brookvale and WIN o wise and sage prophet?

Thats only 13 years off. Since 1999 (in the last 13 years) how many suburban grounds have we lost? None. Thats how many. A much more sensible course of events would be to decommision Brookvale and Leicchardt in that time-frame but that doesnt necessarily mean it will happen.

newman

And what happened to Redfern and Belmore. Times move on, people move on.

So all of them will be abandoned as NRL grounds? What the f**k are you basing this on? One article in the Telegraph?

Like I said thats only 13 years off. Until last week there was no talk of decommisioning any suburban grounds. You are so full of shit it is beyond comprehension.

2012....Sharks Year

So all of them will be abandoned as NRL grounds? What the f**k are you basing this on? One article in the Telegraph?

Like I said thats only 13 years off. Until last week there was no talk of decommisioning any suburban grounds. You are so full of shit it is beyond comprehension.
Go easy on bunniesman newman after all he seems to be quite the guru on every club's finances. Also with the bunnies being the new super-club of sydney and all. Unlike a lot of people I'm happy for the bunnies to be travelling well at the moment but I'm sure there is a connection between their recent good form and increased crowds. To assume that all Sydney clubs should follow the Souths and Dogs move to a bigger stadium is naive (sp) to say the least. I'm also guessing that plenty of Dogs fans would prefer to see them go round at Belmore v's out of Sydney sides if the ground was up to it.

taipan

The nostalgia of being at the leagues club before and after the game aside, I can?t see this being a big issue for any leagues club. The life blood of a club these days in NSW is pokies revenue; I doubt a spike in customers 12 days per year is going to make much of a difference to a club. Regardless, Sharks leagues has other issues which make it an undesirable place to go in general, not least of which is its lack of public transport, it?s size and it?s competition in the shire with the likes of Tradies, Club Menai etc.

You are forgetting the club will have retail development next door,new suburb being developed at Wanda,and 600 units next door within the next few years.A captive audience if you like.Not just 12 days a year.
Public transport aspect, already being looked into.

2012....Sharks Year

The nostalgia of being at the leagues club before and after the game aside, I can?t see this being a big issue for any leagues club. The life blood of a club these days in NSW is pokies revenue; I doubt a spike in customers 12 days per year is going to make much of a difference to a club. Regardless, Sharks leagues has other issues which make it an undesirable place to go in general, not least of which is its lack of public transport, it?s size and it?s competition in the shire with the likes of Tradies, Club Menai etc.
I agree that part of the Sharks problem over the years has been its distance from transport and isolation in general. The development as a whole will increase patronage and increase activity in the immediate area as well as giving the whole leagues club a much needed upgrade/facelift. With all due respect the tradies while modern is just a pokies palace and imo club menai is very ordinary. Each to their own i guess.

betcats

Go easy on bunniesman newman after all he seems to be quite the guru on every club's finances. Also with the bunnies being the new super-club of sydney and all. Unlike a lot of people I'm happy for the bunnies to be travelling well at the moment but I'm sure there is a connection between their recent good form and increased crowds. To assume that all Sydney clubs should follow the Souths and Dogs move to a bigger stadium is naive (sp) to say the least. I'm also guessing that plenty of Dogs fans would prefer to see them go round at Belmore v's out of Sydney sides if the ground was up to it.

It worked for Souths, of course it is going to work for the entire league, there are no variables that could effect this, at all.

Trust me, Bunniesman knows Sydney.

taipan

It worked for Souths, of course it is going to work for the entire league, there are no variables that could effect this, at all.

Trust me, Bunniesman knows Sydney.

So he is Clover Moore's lovechild.Knows what is right for Sydney,and stuffs up everything she touches.

Ozzy

And what happened to Redfern and Belmore. Times move on, people move on.
Redfern stopped being the ground you played your home games back in 1987. You moved to the SFS. The only reason you moved to the ANZ was that they paid you to. It has got nothing to do with capacity or easy access.

Pete Cash

Let's not derail the thread with clover talk but she is popular enough in the cbd to have survived attacks from the alp and the liberals and her hand picked replacement for her state seat easily won so she is doing something right.

the biggest issues with moving games from the outer west to me would be like putting a knife into one of the games heartlands while soccer and AFL are trying to take pieces of the outer west pie. I know to clueless imbeciles like bm who know jack shit about Sydney the outer west is a desolate bogan wasteland but there is a reason politicians fight over policy that appeals to that type of voter.

A lot of people live out there. Western Sydney has about the population of Perth.

betcats

Western Sydney is probably the most important Rugby League region in the world and people want to move footy games that are far from selling out away from there? It doesnt make sense.

betcats

Let's not derail the thread with clover talk but she is popular enough in the cbd to have survived attacks from the alp and the liberals and her hand picked replacement for her state seat easily won so she is doing something right.

You said more about her then anyone. Obviously a spporter of hers.

franklin2323

Seems the single blokes that in or near the city think this is a great idea and those who actually have families that they would like to take to the footy generally think it's a pretty bad idea, especially when coupled with the fact that 6 out of the 8 games each week are now played at night. As an example, in 2013 Manly play a total of 3 Sunday afternoon games (to round 20), 1 of which is in Auckland. If centralised staiums were already in use, Manly fans with families would be pretty long odds to get to many games at all.

Spot on. working in the CBD I could in theory make any ground in Sydney by kickoff at any day. However I enjoy taking the kids or going there with mates. Going to say Allinaz by myself after work then an hour 30mins train home would suck big time.

I wouldn't follow another sport. I certainly wouldn't be a full ticketed member. I would attend the odd game but Foxtel and ch9 would do me for most games.

I can remember us moving 2 games to other grounds. We got 7k in Adelaide about 2006. The GF replay us and the Roosters got moved in 2004. It got 24k. Centrebet held 22k in those days. So for the sake of 2k we had no atmosphere and we got our same seats yet was so much further away from the game.

Now Centrebet isn't the same place it was 5 years ago. The Chairman's lounge every game since opening has sold out. here's some pictures hardly a little run down tin shed.
http://penrith.panthers.com.au/Events/Corporate_Business_Events/The_Chairmans_Club_Lounge

So local Businesses want to be involved would the same businesses travel to host functions at these central stadiums?

franklin2323

Western Sydney is probably the most important Rugby League region in the world and people want to move footy games that are far from selling out away from there? It doesnt make sense.

The odd game I can handle. Brookvale, Centrebet etc should get atleast 10 games a year. If they want to take a game to ANZ or too the bush. I have no problem, Any more they can stick their membership up their ass!!

Ozzy

Ah using the Chewbacca defense, good move.

tumblr_m3dqhkdD8e1r7mvdfo1_500.jpg

Just a thought I brought up in another part of the forums (and probably brought up somewhere in the last 20 pages), what about a return to the old NSWRL match of the round to be played out of either the SFS or Stadium Australia, depending on the teams location? The Sunday FTA game I reckon would be the best kick off time for the match, and fulfils this apparent need of games away from suburban grounds while not abandoning these great venues full time.