Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

End nears for suburban NRL grounds

CrazyTiger

Depends on how the teams going, if we are finals contenders (well- even that dont matter)
It depends if its a sunny sunday arvo

Because if its not, if its a drizzly sat night, its your last home game for the yeary, your pommy import & player of the year for past three seasons is playing his last game, you need to win to stay alive for the semis, youre playing the benchmark in Melb....well...if that all happens - sometimes that can only drag a piddly 10k along as occured this season

The ground needs a lot of other things occuring for these crowds to rock up

Everyone loves a winner, that is not the function of the ground. The Tigers were in free fall.

elbusto

I had no problem organising a seat for my 89 year old uncle (life long tigers man)
as a surprise to go the Leichardt game when Robbie's mum died. Unfortunately he
refused to go so I had to watch the game at home with him (he reckons he is too
old for any stadium).

If you want a seat you can get one. If you go to telstra you can get a seat with no
trouble, because the place is basically empty.
'If you want a seat you can get one.' Actually I couldn't.

elbusto

I strongly recommend a gf who does everything for you :)
:lol::lol: She loves the Tigers so that is a start mate. The previous year we saw Souths v Tiges and we lost by 50. I was wearing my Tigers shirt and got mocked and laughed at all the way back to the hotel - stopped at three pubs on the way and all were fall of Rabbitohs supporters. At least we won at LO!!!!!

I still dream of being there on a sunny Sunday afternoon with a packed house and a few tinnies!

Depends on how the teams going, if we are finals contenders (well- even that dont matter)

Because if its not, if its a drizzly sat night, its your last home game for the yeary, your pommy import & player of the year for past three seasons is playing his last game, you need to win to stay alive for the semis, youre playing the benchmark in Melb....well...if that all happens - sometimes that can only drag a piddly 10k along as occured this season

I understand - but thats the same for all teams. 08 Cronulla v Melbourne prelim final, and 11 Manly v North Queensland semi are good examples.

That Tigers crowd was more to do with their sh*t end to the season and the fact that they were playing the minor premiers. If they were playing the Knights or Raiders - ie a game where they had a chance - more would have come.

There are a stack of factors that influence crowds, but - with everything - the biggest factor is convenience. Wests at least have choices. Also they have the unique situation - a bit like the Dragons - where they split home games, maximising the amount of locals at each home venue. Penrith, Cronulla and Manly havent got that option - and making them play at ANZ/SFS is f*cking lunacy, because it isnt convenient!

Anyway I think the biggest factor in the demise of Leichhardt will be if Balmain fold or not.

meltiger

Just out of interest, how many do you suggest would have turned up to the SFS for the fixture?

Or dare I say it, Campbelltown given it wasn't a Sunday arvo, or Manly

CrazyTiger

:lol::lol: She loves the Tigers so that is a start mate. The previous year we saw Souths v Tiges and we lost by 50. I was wearing my Tigers shirt and got mocked and laughed at all the way back to the hotel - stopped at three pubs on the way and all were fall of Rabbitohs supporters. At least we won at LO!!!!!

I still dream of being there on a sunny Sunday afternoon with a packed house and a few tinnies!

I went to that game too. The gf took a friend from work who looked like a model and
was apparently dating one of the Wallabies players (can't remember his name don't watch
union). She was an absolute tosser and had a smile at us for getting dressed up in Tigers
gear. I built the game up and told her what I thought of union in a polite fashion.

It was a very long game.

newman

Logically we seem to be heading in a direction where Leichhardt (sadly) and Jubilee get decommissioned, the Sharks present plans to the commission to improve The big boy to boutique status in a 5-10 year timeframe. Penrith get funding from this stadium consortium to make CUA the rectangular stadium in the west (along with improvements to Parra). I then reckon that the ARLC will chip in to improve Brookie themselves as they can't see another alternative for the Eagles.

Sure, that doesn't follow exactly what has been outlined in the press recently, but governments change over time and things do not remain constant.

Yosemite Sam

Logically we seem to be heading in a direction where Leichhardt (sadly) and Jubilee get decommissioned, the Sharks present plans to the commission to improve The big boy to boutique status in a 5-10 year timeframe. Penrith get funding from this stadium consortium to make CUA the rectangular stadium in the west (along with improvements to Parra). I then reckon that the ARLC will chip in to improve Brookie themselves as they can't see another alternative for the Eagles.

Sure, that doesn't follow exactly what has been outlined in the press recently, but governments change over time and things do not remain constant.

This sounds reasonable. The ARLC will still have the option of funding some upgrades themselves.

Although i can't see why Kogarah would be decommissioned any time soon. With all the money that has been spent on it recently it has by far and away the best facilities of all the suburban grounds.

BunniesMan

f**king bullshit that Leichhardt and Jubilee get decommisoned and Brookvale doesn't.

If suburban stadiums go Brookvale will be first to go. It doesn't hold a candle to Leichhardt and Jubilee.

And in your post you say Penrith to have "the" rectangular stadium in the west, then you mention spending money on Parra. Which is also a rectangular stadium in the west.

I reckon if one of those two go Penrith's ground would go before Parra's.

newman

f**king bullshit that Leichhardt and Jubilee get decommisoned and Brookvale doesn't.

If suburban stadiums go Brookvale will be first to go. It doesn't hold a candle to Leichhardt and Jubilee.

And in your post you say Penrith to have "the" rectangular stadium in the west, then you mention spending money on Parra. Which is also a rectangular stadium in the west.

I reckon if one of those two go Penrith's ground would go before Parra's.

The difference between you and me is I know what I'm talking about.

Lets just address the brookvale v LO "bullshit" that you talk about.

- manly have it in their constitution to play 10 games at brooky.
- lose brooky and you hand over Sydney north of the harbour to union.
- manly have no alternative ground to brookvale that their supporters enjoy and like it or not, that's proven.
- the tigers have 2x alternative grounds.
- the tigers themselves are realistic about the limitations of LO and are not lobbying hard for funding upgrades.
- they currently only play 4x games their against poor drawing opponents.

Just asking BM, when was the last time you went to either of these grounds? I went to LO last year and brookvale in 2010.

Stagger Lee

The difference between you and me is I know what I'm talking about.
Actually in this case no you don't. Kogarah is a very modern ground with all new stands and facilities and has got a long term future even if the 'bigger' games go somewhere else

also being an oval - it has cricket and afl uses, both under utilised. It is also not north of the M4 corridor like so many other grounds.

Sorry mate but Dragons have got lucky and done their rebuilding before the government stopped the cash flow

Just asking BM, when was the last time you went to either of these grounds? I went to LO last year and brookvale in 2010.

When was the last time you went to Kogarah ;-)

newman

I'm happy to be wrong about Kogarah. If they go down the centralised route they won't have Toyota and Kogarah and that's my point. One will have to go. At the moment they would probably be neck and neck in terms of facilities but I picked it as the merge have Wollongong and did ok playing out of SFS/ANZ (and I'm a sharks supporter). Could just as easily be Toyota.

newman

Kogarah for all it's upgrades is still miles behind being an all seated, lots of cover, modern stadium too.

Fire

Jubilee Oval now seats 22,000.
Woollongong Showground now seat 23,750

Both received government grants and were upgraded after we won our sixteenth Premiership in 2010, too. We won't be forced to go anywhere.

Cronulla and Souths doing some quality derping in this thread lol