Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

End nears for suburban NRL grounds

Stagger Lee

Kogarah for all it's upgrades is still miles behind being an all seated, lots of cover, modern stadium too.

It is modern, which stand would you class as old?

And as for undercover ..... well the wettest I have ever been at grounds in Australia is the SFS and Olympic. How good are those roofs :lol:

I would also make a claim to Kogarah being the closest ground to a railway station in the NRL, I may be proved wrong by the Olympic stadium but strewth it would be a close call.

Suck it up princess :p

$31 million,profit..are you sure?
Slightly wrong. It was over 4 years.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...sions-over-club-poll-rise-20121205-2avls.html

The incumbent board, headed by chairman Roy Spagnolo, ended the 30-year reign of Denis Fitzgerald when it swept to power in 2009.
It has since posted an estimated combined profit of $35.35 million after inheriting a loss of $9.5million. On-field success has been harder to come by, with the Eels finishing in last and second-last position over the past two seasons, a steep decline from their 2009 grand final loss to the cap-rorting Storm.

And as for undercover ..... well the wettest I have ever been at grounds in Australia is the SFS and Olympic. How good are those roofs :lol:
But you dont have to look at grass. People in the 21st century HATE looking at grass!

I would also make a claim to Kogarah being the closest ground to a railway station in the NRL, I may be proved wrong by the Olympic stadium but strewth it would be a close call.
Campbelltown is one car park away from Lumeah station. Still, Kogarah is on a main line and its not far to walk. Bluetongue would have to be close too.

Fire

Staggers, me too. I got soaked in 2010 when we won our sixteenth Premiership there lol

newman

Suck what up?

I already said Kogarah and Toyota are about the same.... But IF the ARLC go down the centralised route they won't keep both. Considering the Dragons already have Wollongong, which way they gonna go you think?

Fire

Suck what up?

I already said Kogarah and Toyota are about the same.... But IF the ARLC go down the centralised route they won't keep both. Considering the Dragons already have Wollongong, which way they gonna go you think?

Ahhh, you tryin' to rustle some Dragon jimmie. Nice try, wanker lol

BunniesMan

The difference between you and me is I know what I'm talking about.

Lets just address the brookvale v LO "bullshit" that you talk about.

- manly have it in their constitution to play 10 games at brooky.
- lose brooky and you hand over Sydney north of the harbour to union.
- manly have no alternative ground to brookvale that their supporters enjoy and like it or not, that's proven.
- the tigers have 2x alternative grounds.
- the tigers themselves are realistic about the limitations of LO and are not lobbying hard for funding upgrades.
- they currently only play 4x games their against poor drawing opponents.

Just asking BM, when was the last time you went to either of these grounds? I went to LO last year and brookvale in 2010.
Brookvale in 2007. LO in 2006.

f**king bullshit that Leichhardt and Jubilee get decommisoned and Brookvale doesn't.

If suburban stadiums go Brookvale will be first to go. It doesn't hold a candle to Leichhardt and Jubilee.
And where would Manly play? Dee Why Beach? The f*cking Corso????
And in your post you say Penrith to have "the" rectangular stadium in the west, then you mention spending money on Parra. Which is also a rectangular stadium in the west.
Leichhardt is also a rectangular stadium in the west. So is the new ground at Mudgee. Memo to the coastal numpty - the west is A BIG AREA. The way you crap on Dubbo and Condobolin are right next door to Homebush. :crazy:

I reckon if one of those two go Penrith's ground would go before Parra's.
And again, where will the Panthers play then?

Suck what up?

I already said Kogarah and Toyota are about the same.... But IF the ARLC go down the centralised route they won't keep both.
The ARLC dont own either Kogarah or Toyota, so what choice do they have?

The ARLC can crap on all you like, but if they impose sanctions on clubs not getting a 20k average, then a few non Sydney clubs will cop them first, which will be pointless.

I read an old Big League program from 1980 the other day with the original plans for Parra Stadium.

It was to be 40,000 capacity, all seated and a roof, covering about 75 percent of the ground.

32 years later and it's half that capacity.

Progress...

Friends of Parramatta Park Brutus. Two years of legal battle resulted in the watered down version - still a f*cking awesome ground though.

soc123_au

Parra would be about 25 mins from Penrith on a fast train. It has been a while since I caught one but I think they go every hour. Then about a 20 min walk to the stadium.

Have you ever been to Sydney Perth Red?

BuffaloRules

Depends on how the teams going, if we are finals contenders (well- even that dont matter)
It depends if its a sunny sunday arvo

Because if its not, if its a drizzly sat night, its your last home game for the yeary, your pommy import & player of the year for past three seasons is playing his last game, you need to win to stay alive for the semis, youre playing the benchmark in Melb....well...if that all happens - sometimes that can only drag a piddly 10k along as occured this season

The ground needs a lot of other things occuring for these crowds to rock up

I think you underestimate the effect of the weather on crowds at LO where the hill turns into a quagmire when it rains

I was at that game, and was shocked at the size of the crowd, but to describe it as "drizzly" is an understatement.. it basically rained most of the day...

I dont think its just Sunday arvos where they get good crowds... For instance, they got 18,000 on a Monday game at LO in 2011 on a fine June night against Newcastle.. I doubt that would have happened at any or their other grounds....

franklin2323

Plans are under way to make Centrebet a 32500 seater or build a new stadium at Blacktown. Either is better then the hellhole that is ANZ or fighting through traffic at Parra. Although Penrith is better personally having Blacktown with access by train. M7 link does make sense.

Penrith's 20 mins by train to parra isn't it? Or is that too far for Sydney fans to travel?
Remember this from page 9 you dopey f*cking League hating bath hating Pommy piece of sh*t??????????????

Public Transport comparison - leaving venue Friday night 9.30

ANZ - Brookvale. 2 buses and a train - arrive 11. 23
ANZ - Macarthur. 3 trains - arrive 11.16
ANZ - Penrith. 2 rains - arrive 11.12
ANZ - Cronulla. Bus and 2 trains - arrive 11.40 (plus 3 other options after midnight!)

MCG - Ringwood. Tram and Train - arrive 10.14
MCG - Dandenong. Tram, Train, Bus. Arrive 10.59
MCG - Broadmeadows. Tram Train. Arrive 10.24
MCG - Altona. Tram, Train, Arrive 10.29

Yeah - everywhere in Sydney is only half an hour from everywhere else :roll: You clearly are the biggest ostrich on the forums. Just because Perth is an insignificant AFL loving blip on the radar of Australia's population that couldnt have it's own RL team for 2 seconds before whinging about life and f*cking off to Super League!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just f*ck off and dont come back until you get a f*cking brain transplant with something more intelligent - like a slug!!!!!!!!!!!!

Diesel

Plans are under way to make Centrebet a 32500 seater or build a new stadium at Blacktown. Either is better then the hellhole that is ANZ or fighting through traffic at Parra. Although Penrith is better personally having Blacktown with access by train. M7 link does make sense.

What are the plans for Centerbet? Seating at both the goalpost ends?

New NRL stadium at Blacktown. Lol at GWS

Panfas

Yep that is correct. The NSW Govt stadia strategy mentions a 2nd tier stadium for western sydney.

Penrith are currently in talks / have plans for upgrades to Centebet stadium, to the notion of 32,500 seats. It has been discussed that Rooty Hill (Blacktown sport park) could be a better option, mainly as more clubs and codes could use the ground so better return on investment. Problem with that is it will cost double of the Penrith plan.

Penrith's estimations on making Centrebet a 32,500 all seater world class stadium is about $150m. To build one the same size at Rooty Hill would be about $300m

As long as Penrith play within the Penrith local junior league district, then I am happy. That streches from Katoomba to Blacktown to Windsor and everywhere inbetween.

Diesel

Would the IC allow Cronulla to upgrade their stadium if the majority of others are playing out of SFS, ANZ, Parra, possible Western Sydney stadium?