Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

End of Year Coaching Changes

CyberKev

It is now certain that 3 clubs will dump their current coaches at year's end (if not before) and, unfortunately for all, there does not appear to be a solid core group of capable replacements handy. Frankly, I can scarcely recall potential coaching options being so lean and limited.

HAWTHORN... Its going to be a costly exercise to dump Schwab with a year to run on his contract, but had I been at the helm of the club I would have dumped him following the Essendon debacle. Your team has just lost a highly controversial match by 74 points after having been a mere four goals adrift and controlling general play midway through the third term, so what do you say to the assembled media throng? I can tell you what you should NEVER say when you've been smacked-up, and that is that you thought the side "went pretty well, all things considered"!!! How embarrassing! It is unacceptable for the Hawthorn coach to EVER publicly address such a defeat in this fashion, and the man must go! Even more frightening is the fact that he must surely be making similar overtures to the players, who should have been let know in no uncertain terms that they were appalling! If you throw in his disconcerting comments about scanning other lists for "tough recruits" then you hint at a man set to trade away precious draft picks for older opposition second-stringers! Sod that for a punnet of strawberries, get the man out of there! Alas, the following names appear to have been shortlisted for any potential changes at year's end - Terry Wallace, Rodney Eade, Gary Ayres, Mark Harvey, Gary O'Donnell, Neil Craig & Robert Hyde. Fruit me tingles! None of these guys fill me with confidence (with the possible exception of Wallace) and, at any rate, I think its time for Hawthorn to turn away from ex-Glenferrie types. There is one exception to this rule, however, and I think the Hawks should bite the bullet and reverse up Leigh Matthews driveway with a trailer full of cold hard cashin the hope that he may be ready to make good on his stated desire to return to Hawthorn in the head coaching role. It may yet come off, although it would appear to depend upon Brisbane failing to win the flag this year, and that prospect is beginning to look more and more remote with every round.

RICHMOND... I felt that the Tigers should have made the switch a couple of season's ago, given that Spud Frawley has floundered in the role throughout his tenure with the troubled club. They'll certainly do it now, with Terry Wallace hot favourite to snare the top job. He may be a shrewd choice, given that there are similarities between Richmond and the Bulldogs that he took charge of during his heyday. Both teams had a small core group of quality players, lost amid an overall list that about as weak as anything going around. Wallace must surely be haunted by that long ago preliminary final thriller loss, as it was clear that whoever would meet the Saints in the big one would win the title. That Wallace performed so well across several years with a minimalist list, suggests that he deserves another chance with a troubled squad, and it will only be a case of when, not if. One thing's for sure, Richmond is (as per Hawthorn) not the club for a rookie coach, and one would hope that Greg Miller is smart enough to ensure that such an appointment is strongly resisted. I predict that Wallace will beat Eade to the gig, but don't be surprised if the latter option builds some momentum as the year drags on.

ADELAIDE... Adelaide could, and most probably will, take the punt on a rookie coach. For mine, the support structures in place at this club are stronger than those on offer at the clubs mentioned above, which makes long term assistant, Neil Craig a shoe-in for the top job. Don't be surprised, however, to see Mark Harvey pushing hard for the job, even though he scarcely raises support from Essendon supporters when talk turns to a future replacement for Sheeds. The Crows will be a big challenge also, with their fast ageing and tiring list, and allowing for the huge expectations placed on the club by the Adelaide fan masses. I'd run with Craig who has a good reputation, and appears to have the confidence of all within the organisation.

Any other prominent possibilities that anyone would care to put forward?

CyberKev

Rustay

Well Ayres is gone. Craig has taken over for the season, and id guess that he will stay on next year too unless they are desperate for someone with previous AFL coaching experience.

I agree that Wallace will get Richmond....and good bloody luck to him!!!

CyberKev

Rustay said:
Well Ayres is gone. Craig has taken over for the season, and id guess that he will stay on next year too unless they are desperate for someone with previous AFL coaching experience.

G'Day Rustay...

I agree with you that Wallace has the job ahead of him at the Tigers, although many of the AFL sides are no better than average at the moment, and can expect troubled times over the next 2-3 years.
At any rate, the rewards for getting a side like the Tigers back in the picture would be very great indeed and I think it would be well worth the punt for Plough.

My prediction of Craig getting the Adelaide job now appears to be at long odds, with the club declaring an interest in an experienced big name (the sponsors must be restless), and even suggesting an approach to Sheedy. they're kidding themselves there, and I find it hard to see who else would fit their bill in this regard. There is also talk of Wallace to Adelaide, but I still think he's Punt Road bound.

CyberKev

Cricketer

CyberKev said:
Rustay said:

G'Day Rustay...

I agree with you that Wallace has the job ahead of him at the Tigers, although many of the AFL sides are no better than average at the moment, and can expect troubled times over the next 2-3 years.
At any rate, the rewards for getting a side like the Tigers back in the picture would be very great indeed and I think it would be well worth the punt for Plough.

My prediction of Craig getting the Adelaide job now appears to be at long odds, with the club declaring an interest in an experienced big name (the sponsors must be restless), and even suggesting an approach to Sheedy. they're kidding themselves there, and I find it hard to see who else would fit their bill in this regard. There is also talk of Wallace to Adelaide, but I still think he's Punt Road bound.

CyberKev
I sent an e-mail to my club this morning - advising them that they should bite the bullet now and advise the footy world that Frawley will no longer be with us next year. Frawley then should do the right thing and either (a) Leave or (b) stay on for the rest of the season and give the young kids a chance at the big time. I advised them that if they didn't make a decision in the near future, we would be lucky to pick up a "wallace" or an "Eade" as they would be snapped up by other clubs. I also stated to them that they should forget about Sheedy, I know the faithful would love him to come home, but never wait otherwise you'll miss the boat. I also stated that if the hard decisions are not made, I'll be making my feelings felt at the next board election.

CyberKev

Cricketer said:
I sent an e-mail to my club this morning - advising them that they should bite the bullet now and advise the footy world that Frawley will no longer be with us next year. Frawley then should do the right thing and either (a) Leave or (b) stay on for the rest of the season and give the young kids a chance at the big time. I advised them that if they didn't make a decision in the near future, we would be lucky to pick up a "wallace" or an "Eade" as they would be snapped up by other clubs. I also stated to them that they should forget about Sheedy, I know the faithful would love him to come home, but never wait otherwise you'll miss the boat. I also stated that if the hard decisions are not made, I'll be making my feelings felt at the next board election.

I agree with you, Old Son, but I'm betting you receive a stock standard, soft soaping, reply from the club.

I think Wallace would be good for Richmond and wouldn't mind having him at Hawthorn, but I seem to be in the minority among Hawk fans when it comes to this.

I think you're also right about Sheedy. I doubt he has any intention of leaving Essendon where he has grown old and comfortable, and if you put too great a stock in getting him (and ignore other possibilities) you risk coming undone as he once again uses your club to ensure higher pay and better conditions at Windy Hill.

Interesting times ahead...

CyberKev

meltiger

Great post mate.

CyberKev said:
RICHMOND... I felt that the Tigers should have made the switch a couple of season's ago, given that Spud Frawley has floundered in the role throughout his tenure with the troubled club. They'll certainly do it now, with Terry Wallace hot favourite to snare the top job. He may be a shrewd choice, given that there are similarities between Richmond and the Bulldogs that he took charge of during his heyday. Both teams had a small core group of quality players, lost amid an overall list that about as weak as anything going around. Wallace must surely be haunted by that long ago preliminary final thriller loss, as it was clear that whoever would meet the Saints in the big one would win the title. That Wallace performed so well across several years with a minimalist list, suggests that he deserves another chance with a troubled squad, and it will only be a case of when, not if. One thing's for sure, Richmond is (as per Hawthorn) not the club for a rookie coach, and one would hope that Greg Miller is smart enough to ensure that such an appointment is strongly resisted. I predict that Wallace will beat Eade to the gig, but don't be surprised if the latter option builds some momentum as the year drags on.CyberKev

Unfortunately, the problem is ... Would an experienced coach take the role on?

I was highly unimpressed with Mike Sheeans article yesterday daring Sheedy to take the role on ... Let's hope he re-signs with the Scummers quick smart.

Wallace is the man, he is the one we need to nab, I just fear with Adelaide being a position to trump us - ie, the Richmond FC cannot sack another coach mid-season for credibility's sake (C'mon Danny you know your gone, stand down PLEASE) and appoints Terry given his clear interest in the role.

Eade I am a fan of but not sure if he is the right man for the job at Richmond? Would he have the strength to stand up to the over rated members of the senior group and pull them into line?

Hopefully the club continues on it's way of trying different things over the remaining rounds (Like FINALLY playing Pettifer somewhere other than a forward pocket or the wing) and we see some hope for the future that Wallace would be keen on working with.

Of course we do also have his close mate Browny at the club ;-)

The club is obsessed with Sheedy though, you know no one else will get an offer until Sheedy has re-signed with the Scum :(

"I'm sure the Essendon president wouldn't like us talking about his coach" - C'mon Casey, be honest for once in your worthless :evil: tenure at the club and confirm or deny you've made Sheedy an offer.

meltiger

Cricketer said:
I also stated to them that they should forget about Sheedy, I know the faithful would love him to come home, but never wait otherwise you'll miss the boat..

This is what happened last time though remember, we waited and waited and waited on the scumbag and all he did was use us to push his asking price up.

& at the end of the day, what did we get due to the fact that no less than ten individuals turned the role down? Tony Shaw's assistant coach.

CyberKev

Stormin Norman said:
i think rodney eade would be fantastic at the hawks

Um... Sarcasm detector suffering malfunction, flying blind here...

I'll have to ask, Old Son! is this a genuine comment, or is it more that you're a Carlton fan who hates Hawthorn??? :lol:

Personally, I'm not a big wrap for Eade, and would only consider Matthews & Wallace (among the ex-Hawk options) as a replacement for Schwab.

As I've mentioned earlier, alas, Matthews will most likely re-sign with Brisbane, Wallace will go elsewhere, and all that's left are hacker ex-Hawk old boys or untried rookies that don't inspire confidence. :cry:

I think we may be seriously wallaby-edward!!!

Aw screw it, I KNOW that WE ARE seriously wallaby-edward! :(

CyberKev

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Great post mate.

Unfortunately, the problem is ... Would an experienced coach take the role on?

I was highly unimpressed with Mike Sheeans article yesterday daring Sheedy to take the role on ... Let's hope he re-signs with the Scummers quick smart.

Wallace is the man, he is the one we need to nab, I just fear with Adelaide being a position to trump us - ie, the Richmond FC cannot sack another coach mid-season for credibility's sake (C'mon Danny you know your gone, stand down PLEASE) and appoints Terry given his clear interest in the role.

Eade I am a fan of but not sure if he is the right man for the job at Richmond? Would he have the strength to stand up to the over rated members of the senior group and pull them into line?

Hopefully the club continues on it's way of trying different things over the remaining rounds (Like FINALLY playing Pettifer somewhere other than a forward pocket or the wing) and we see some hope for the future that Wallace would be keen on working with.

Of course we do also have his close mate Browny at the club ;-)

The club is obsessed with Sheedy though, you know no one else will get an offer until Sheedy has re-signed with the Scum :(

"I'm sure the Essendon president wouldn't like us talking about his coach" - C'mon Casey, be honest for once in your worthless :evil: tenure at the club and confirm or deny you've made Sheedy an offer.

Craig,

I know that Sheedy is one experienced coach who lacks the sincerity and backbone to take the job on! He has been treating your club with casual contempt for years now, happily using them up to feather his grimy little Windy Hill nest! Screw the obsession, he isn't worth it, and I'd love for the Richmond board to publicly deny interest in him to leave him lumbered cold in his current contract re-negotiations.

That being said, I still believe that the Tigers would be a good gig for an experienced campaigner, as a coach confident in his ability should jump at the opportunity to lift a great club back to the competition forefront. With the hoopla that invariably follows a Richmond purple patch, a Tigers premiership would almost be on a par with the 1990 Collingwood triumph, and would make the successful coach an instant legend. You have to think big to win big.

I remain confident that Wallace will take the Richmond gig, and I suspect he can do quite well in the role. You're right about the problems inherent with the Richmond board (we have a mirror problem at Glenferrie), but hopefully the club will be smart enough to let the new coach have his head.

CyberKev

Stormin Norman

no i am serious i think he is exactly what hawthorn need the only reason he went backward at sydney in the last season is he went a bit stail there the players got a bit ova him.
maybe a no nosence angry coach is just what the hawks need because for sure they have the player list to win a flag but i think a few players need to lift (hodge, dixon) a good kick in the arse might set these players to what they should be like pagan did to fevola. sorry i just think that hodge has always showed potenional but never delivered he should be as good as L.Ball(saints) and C.Judd(eagles).
its been years since he was at hawthorn and it might be the right time to come back. i could go on and on about how good crawford and sam mitchell are (btw i know his twin sisters) but its beyond that the other 38 players need to lift become a unit and get up there where they seriously belong atm. god it hurt watching them lose by 74 points to essendon.

CyberKev

Stormin Norman said:
maybe a no nosence angry coach is just what the hawks need because for sure they have the player list to win a flag but i think a few players need to lift (hodge, dixon) a good kick in the arse might set these players to what they should be like pagan did to fevola. sorry i just think that hodge has always showed potenional but never delivered he should be as good as L.Ball(saints) and C.Judd(eagles).

Mate, you are way too kind in your assessment of the Hawthorn list. I wish it was just a case of getting a few players to lift via a kick up the arse, but its more complex than that. The Hawk forward line is the worst in the comp and has been for the past couple of seasons. Thompson isn't up to it as a FF and Barker & Holland are shot to bits. If young Boyle was fit you could probably move Thompson to CHF (where he'd be better suited) and play Boyle at FF, but who else is there??? Hawthorn MUST finish last with a priority pick just to get two quality young talls to replace Barker & Holland with. On top of this, the young Hawk midfielders are good, but need plenty of work and gametime to come on. You're right about Hodge, who is a more complete footballer than either Judd or Ball, but constant injuries have geniused his fitness and development. Over recent weeks Hawthorn has finally been running him for extended periods out of the centre, and must continue to do so. Once his fitness comes up to scratch, he will set the side alight out of the middle.

its been years since he was at hawthorn and it might be the right time to come back. i could go on and on about how good crawford and sam mitchell are (btw i know his twin sisters) but its beyond that the other 38 players need to lift become a unit and get up there where they seriously belong atm. god it hurt watching them lose by 74 points to essendon.

Its always agonising watching anyone lose to Essendon... It wouldn't surprise me to see Eade get the gig, and if he did I would support him and hope for the best, but I always found him overtly defensive when with the Swans, whereas I always prefer a coach with an attacking bent.
No matter who is in charge, there will be no easy fix to the problem, and I'm expecting to be well and truly struggling again in 2005 and quite possibly 2006.

That being said, you did yourself much credit with your post, good stuff :)

CyberKev

CyberKev

meltiger said:

Here's how it should go down...

Casey & Miller should take Spud aside, confirm that the gig is up, and convince him to resign before he is officially sacked. This way, Richmond doesn't have to sack another coach and Spud can go out with a highly dignified press conference. The Tigers could also ensure that his contract is paid out for the rest of the year (despite him officially quitting) and everyone can stay happy.

CyberKev

Cricketer

It's been done. Frawley has done the right thing which gives us a chance of recruiting a good coach after round 22. I'm sure they will select one before then but it givesus a good chance of having some good recruiting and drafts during the off season. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

meltiger

GONE!

Thank god for that. :)

I do feel for Frawley, I have alot of respect for him but it just wasn't working.

Now they must concentrate on getting Wallace.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
GONE!

I do feel for Frawley, I have alot of respect for him but it just wasn't working.

In the media this morning they're calling Eade the early frontrunner. With Adelaide looming large on the horizon, the Tigers would be advised to commence with interviewing applicants toot-sweet. I'd be wanting to announce an appointment in no later than 4 weeks time. This would give the new guys a few weeks to watch the side intently and make conclusions on the current playing list with ample time before the draft.

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:
meltiger said:
GONE!

In the media this morning they're calling Eade the early frontrunner. CyberKev

The reasoning behind this concerns me. "Eade had a close relationship with Miller at Nth Melbourne"

So would he be appointed because he is the best man for the job or because he is buddies with Miller?

Could just be the media taking shots in the dark at this point. I do agree though, the new coach needs to be in appointed before the end of the season to work with Frawls.

There are two decent coaches at least on the market... This is our chance to finally get it right... Now is the time for the Alternate group to show their hand and hopefully give us something to vote for at the EGM ...

Rustay

It will be interesting to see if a coaching change at Richmond will make the difference. On paper they should be alot better than they are, although i may still be overrating their list like i have many times before by tipping them (to my own regret!!!!).

Frawley seems like a good bloke, so i feel sorry for him in that regard, but if ya dont got it, then ya dont got it!

meltiger

Rustay said:
It will be interesting to see if a coaching change at Richmond will make the difference. On paper they should be alot better than they are, although i may still be overrating their list like i have many times before by tipping them (to my own regret!!!!).

Frawley seems like a good bloke, so i feel sorry for him in that regard, but if ya dont got it, then ya dont got it!

The thing is I think Frawley probably does have it with the right list.

Unfortunately, he was too close to the players and couldn't force the best out of the likes of Bowden and co.

This is why I want Wallace, he won't take any shit from the senior group.

CyberKev

Good news for the Tigers.

Not surprisingly, the Bigfooty site is awash with tossers claiming that the Tigers job is the poisoned chalice.

I've said it before and I'll say it again, all things must pass and inevitably the Tigers will find themselves back atop the AFL tree. Getting the Tigers off the mat would be a great job for a coach with conviction and self-belief.

I was happy to hear the Tigers talking sense yesterday too. They've finally abandoned the "top-up" mentality and have admitted that their list is not an immediate contender, and that it needs work (Hawk board, take note).

They should make a 3-year appointment and let the new coach have his head with list restructuring and set reasonable expectations of the new coach for this 3-year period.

The brief should be to restructure and revive the club during this period, setting the scene for a strong Tiger era during the following contract period.

For the misplaced pride, the egos, the half-arsed expectations, and the miscreant player power on the list and get a fresh, vibrant feel around the club again. This is a crucial moment in Tiger history, and soft options are no longer an option.

CyberKev