Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ESL-NRL Pressure goes on to Internationals

ozbash

Plans for the international Tri-Nations rugby league series to continue over the next two years in England might not eventuate.

New Zealand League president Selwyn Pearson said yesterday the present series was putting considerable pressure on the players after their heavy club seasons, which was evident by the numbers not available.

He predicted the NRL and English Super League clubs would be telling the international federation playing the series over three consecutive years was too much.

Pearson said at this stage the Kiwis had just one home international next year, match one of the Tri-Nations against Australia at a venue to be confirmed. There would probably be an Anzac test again in April in Brisbane, he said.

He was happy with last Saturday's crowd of 16,500 at North Harbour Stadium for the opening Tri-Nations match against Australia, and he found "exhilarating" the Kiwis' performance in securing a 16-16 draw. The match receipts were above budget, Pearson said.

Meanwhile, it seems increasingly likely New Zealand referee Glen Black will officiate in Australia's first game against Great Britain in Manchester on October 30.

Black, of Christchurch, created a favourable impression with the Australians when he refereed last Saturday's curtain-raiser between New Zealand A and a New South Wales 13.

courtesy The Dominion

DIEHARD

----
If anything should break under the pressure it should be the ridiculously long ESL and NRL seasons. :roll:

Why is the ESL longer than our season when theyve got less teams than the NRL?? :?

There should be Tri series matches in Australia, I mean it is TRI NATIONS

It seems that the Kangaroos spend more time overseas than at home. :shock:

Misanthrope

I say cut the NRL back to 22 and get the ESL in the same region. Let them keep the Challenge Cup, since it's such an exciting tournament- but don't have ridiculously long seasons at the expense of the true showpiece games.

Fairleigh Good!

PARRA_FAN said:
Why is the ESL longer than our season when theyve got less teams than the NRL?? :?

There should be Tri series matches in Australia, I mean it is TRI NATIONS

It seems that the Kangaroos spend more time overseas than at home. :shock:

Because Australia flatly refuse to stage international matches because they know they couldn't sell 20,000 tickets for them. GB will average 25,000 at least , probably more.

GB Lion

Why is the ESL longer than our season when theyve got less teams than the NRL??

Ok here we go...

The ESL has 12 teams who play each other twice so that should be 22 rounds but then u play 6 extra games against the teams that finished in your section of the league (The TOP 6 or the BOTTOM 6). So we have 28 rounds plus playoffs which i think is 33 rounds altogether plus the cup rounds.

Fatbob

The ESL needs the extra games because the clubs are so badly run they rely on the extra games to bring in more revenue which they need to keep afloat. With the addition of Perpignan in 2006 you will see clubs complaining they need more games to compensate for the lack of away fans they'll bring.
The only way a shorter season will happen is if clubs can become self sufficient. Not much chance of that I'm afraid. :roll:

The Clan

Fatbob said:
The ESL needs the extra games because the clubs are so badly run they rely on the extra games to bring in more revenue which they need to keep afloat. With the addition of Perpignan in 2006 you will see clubs complaining they need more games to compensate for the lack of away fans they'll bring.
The only way a shorter season will happen is if clubs can become self sufficient. Not much chance of that I'm afraid. :roll:

Remind me again how many teams have flauted the salary cap in Aus?

Oh! and what were all those headlines about coffs harbour and mobile phone calls in the early hours of the morning.

Why has Andrew Walker retired?

Teams in the UK are badly run?

I'd drop the fat bit if I were you Nob suits you better!

nqboy

Wigan RL said:
Why is the ESL longer than our season when theyve got less teams than the NRL??
...then u play 6 extra games against the teams that finished in your section of the league (The TOP 6 or the BOTTOM 6)...
Why do they do that?

nqboy

There is a growing movement in the NRL to move towards 22 rounds, 16 teams would allow us to do that. It would mean one less home game each, hence it is up against stiff opposition from the clubs. But the proponents of such a move argue that a 24 round season plus rep footy is too taxing on our elite players and that cutting two NRL games would provide some breathing space and help to return rep footy to its rightful place at the top of the tree.

I agree with them.

Roo Stew

gday couldnt help myself and joined to have a say.

i cant believe what i just read.. if the powers that be drop the tri-nations in favour of club football, they have got to be kidding. the future of the sport is international. the pinnacle of the sport 'should' be international. but fair dinkum what better concept is there to build RL up for the world cup. the tri-nations tournament is the best thing that has 'ever' happened to league internationally. even better than the previous slapped together world cups.

i enjoy watching the nrl, go the broncs, love the origin, go the maroons but i couldnt give a rats about a one off lop sided anzac test that means nothing. go the roos in the best way for league to finish every year, a proper tournament that show cases the best players in world. a tournament that is better than its rival code because it has a final. a tournament that would keep players like tequiri, sailor & rogers on the right side of the fence. a tournament that is arguably better the traditional kangaroo tours.

20 rounds is plenty to decide which clubs make the final series.. surely the big bucks to be made are in the international arena.

dimitri

i agree

a tri-series means so much more than stupid one off tests

they are also more likely to be closer contests

hutch

Because Australia flatly refuse to stage international matches because they know they couldn't sell 20,000 tickets for them. GB will average 25,000 at least , probably more.

2002 aus v nz at aussie stadium sydney (above 30000)
2003 aus v gb at aussie stadium sydney (above 30000)
2004 aus v nz in newcastle (above 20000).

trust me, there are a lot of people out here who support international rugby league, i would go to aus v china if it was on. i dont know why we dont promote it better and make it a showpiece. the fact we moved the game no newcastle this year was a step in the wrong direction. it automatically reduced the crowd because of ground capacity, not because of support in the region.
keep aus v nz and gb to the major cities, move aus v developing nations to towns such as newy and townsville

Fatbob

Remind me again how many teams have flauted the salary cap in Aus?

To my knowledge The Bulldogs have been found guilty. Any others I don't know. I'm not that familiar with the Oz game. I am aware that Uncle Mo can't find enough room at Wigan for players yet Bradford can.

Oh! and what were all those headlines about coffs harbour and mobile phone calls in the early hours of the morning.

Your point being? What has this got to do with English clubs not being run properly?

Why has Andrew Walker retired?

For testing positive to Cocaine. And your point?

Teams in the UK are badly run?

Why did Wigan sell Central Park?
Would Wigan be ok if Dave Whelan stopped his funding?
How much debt are St Helens in at the moment?
What happened to Halifax?
Are you happy with Huddersfield's admission prices and what it does for attendance figures?
Why do Hull soccer team get so many people to 1st/2nd division games but the City's RL team having a good season can't?
Watersheddings?
What are Salford doing with their new found wealth? Helping Eccles, Langworthy? Forging links with Conference teams across the country? Bidding for Gower & Minnichello.

I'd drop the fat bit if I were you Nob suits you better!

Fatbob is the name of Paul Calf's sidekick who I totally relate to. Nob is a bit too general.

The fact is the extra artificial games are needed by clubs because they depend on the extra revenue they bring in. Isn't that so? If 11 home games worth of revenue on top of Sky TV money isn't enough to pay the bills what other reason can you give?