Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fallout from the debacle...

Timbo

T.Thompson has to go. Not to Souths-Logan, but to an island somewhere where he can't do any harm.

McCrone needs to have some sort of 'accident' befall him (think James Caan in Misery) so we never need to worry about him again.

They were the major ones. Many more are necessary.

If that's our standard, we're in for a very long year.

shear_joy9

troy thompson needs to put down. He is the most consistent player I've seen; your guaranteed a few drop balls and acts of complete stupidity.

mccrone needs a good beating to the head. What a nuffy. Send him to qld with no return date.

If waddell's out I don't even want to know what furner will do.
Obviously Buttriss should come in but it's still leaves us with Tongue stuck at hooker.

Milne should come in for Stuart, Mogg will probably go to centre pushing JT to the backrow. But does it matter? Tilse and Shilo are playing like lumps of crap, terrible uncreative halfs, the comps worst hooker and a brain dead coach.

How good is campo going. $500k per year for a good long kicker and tackler...

Timbo

Vidot has also had an awfully slow start to the season. He isn't the bloke who lined up at the back end of last season.

As far as I'm concerned, only the following are safe:

Dugan
J.Thompson
Croker
Campese
Fensom
Logan

The rest are all on shaky ground, with T.Thompson and McCrone to be dumped immediately.

shear_joy9

vidot's been great, he just can't catch a bomb.

why should croker's position be safe? He's done nothing to warrant automatic selection.

we desperately need millers workrate and enthusiasm. Is he back next week?

Pete Cash

I don't know if there is something wrong with my TV or fox feed but whenever Tilse runs the ball its like the very time around him slows down.

nickraider

Our attacking options are woeful. What were these blokes doing in the off season. Desperately need a halfback - rotating Herbert and McCrone or whatever the f**k he's doing is a joke. So frustrating to watch. ANOTHER long year :x

mean_maori_mean

so many overated players in this canberra squad. Its like the furners feel sorry for them and offer them a contract.

Troy Thompson wouldnt get anywhere near anybodies top 30. no nrl club.
If he wants to continue to play he needs to look for a country side.

Mcrone/ Herbert have so little talent no funny. So many people have backed them neither have showed one glimpse of talent.
Furner should either clone campese send an SOS for a mid-season replacement . . .
Can undestand why so many canberra fans are prepared to give them time.

I could name have a dozen fringe NRL or reserve grade player who could
be a great link man on the right side.
It wouldnt hard you have three of most dynamic bloke in the team in joel T, Harrison and Vidot all capable of line breaks & scoring tries.
Problem w/ Mcrone / Herbert they think they are creating gaps and run it themselves or in mcrone cases kick. it a joke.

Canberra only team I know who run a backdoor play for a sh*t halfback to crash the ball.

I know these blokes are average but would better than either mcrone or herbert.
Ben Barba, Ben Roberts, Dale Chery Evans, JOSH LEWIS, Eddie Paea.
Isaac John. Liam Foran.

Dugan is great talent no doubt. But he also needs to harden the f up. Fair enough when he gets smashed but any tackle and he struggle to get up.
Also wipe scratch that permanent moan on his face.

Croker was awesome last year. Struggling a bit this year - hope he doesnt become a Dean Collis and simply wait in the wings and do a wanna gidley shuffle.

they need to be giving him the ball in space and wid some momemtum.
under utilised.

aussies1st

Troy Thompson definitely out bring in Joyce and Cy or someone other than him. Want to drop McCrone but then the other option is Herbert which does jack all. And Mick Picker/Sam Williams are next to no chance although I would take a chance on both as they seem to have the organisational skills but Mick is playing halfback for South Logan.

I agree Troy needs to be dropped and with TLL and maybe Miller that should happen. Joyce apparently hasnt been playing for SL so he isnt in the frame.
Hooker is another issue , we cant survive with Tongue there , he looks decent for about 20 then it goes down hill from there at dummy half.

We defended for an extra 70 tackles, our completion rate was horrible. Those 2 stats are enough to show you wont win a game of footy.

Our defence was good but after last week it was never going to hold out for 80min especially when we gave them so much ball.

Hold the ball and its a completely different game.

Dugan is great talent no doubt. But he also needs to harden the f up. Fair enough when he gets smashed but any tackle and he struggle to get up.
Also wipe scratch that permanent moan on his face.

I disagree on Dugan , he got hammered early in the game and it effected him all game. I reckon a lesser bloke woulkd not of finished the game.
He is one tough bugger and puts his body on the line with no fear.

Timbo

I go to alot of NSW Cup games, and there are seriously better #7s running around in NSW Cup than McCrone or Herbert. Liam Foran at Newtown is one that springs to mind, but there are others.

Furner needs to stop f**king around. He can't rotate these guys indefinitely and hope one of them turns into the next Ricky Stuart. He needs to accept that neither of them can cut it at first grade level and make an emergency mid season signing.

We are never going to string wins together with either of these blokes at halfback. Yes, both are occasionally capable of very strong games, but the fact is neither are capable of consistently performing to a level that a first grade half needs. You cannot make it far in this competition without a consistent first grade half. A replacement needs to be found now, I'd be doing it this week and throwing him in against Penrith. Or we're cactus.

Troy Thompson is a no brainer. He has to go and be replaced by Learoyd-Lahrs. Immediately. Wouldn't mind seeing Joyce come in for Tilse either.

Macko8

I personally have had a gutful of those tackle 3 kicks campese does,yes he did get one 40/20 but its an absolute joke.Kicking on the 3rd tackle when theres still 2 more tackles left in the count.
No wonder they can make field ground.
T.Thompson worst hands ever.
Why cant we just have a playmaking Halfback who can control and set up tries,how hard is that to do

I go to alot of NSW Cup games, and there are seriously better #7s running around in NSW Cup than McCrone or Herbert. Liam Foran at Newtown is one that springs to mind, but there are others.

Furner needs to stop f**king around. He can't rotate these guys indefinitely and hope one of them turns into the next Ricky Stuart. He needs to accept that neither of them can cut it at first grade level and make an emergency mid season signing.

We are never going to string wins together with either of these blokes at halfback. Yes, both are occasionally capable of very strong games, but the fact is neither are capable of consistently performing to a level that a first grade half needs. You cannot make it far in this competition without a consistent first grade half. A replacement needs to be found now, I'd be doing it this week and throwing him in against Penrith. Or we're cactus.

Troy Thompson is a no brainer. He has to go and be replaced by Learoyd-Lahrs. Immediately. Wouldn't mind seeing Joyce come in for Tilse either.

Far as Im aware he isnt even on the Radar. He hasnt played with SL all season. Unless something has changed this week.

Mullins_y2k

See I knew McCrone wasn't up to it yet, if herbert played and T. Thompson didn't! the result could have been different woful performance

Cryptic

Herbert and McCrone are both below par but we lost that game because people couldn't hold on to the f**king ball and the refs just gave it back to the Titan's whenever they droped it (which was semi rare, at least compaired to us). Nothing appeared to be wrong with the passes just the amount of droped ball was insane...

On the plus side defence was awesome again considering how much of it we needed to do...

Oh and on Vidot... He is a good player but he is always out of position... It always gets kicked his side as he doesn't drop back on the 5th tackle and they just kick it to the open ground he leaves... If he can get that in hand I'm happy for him to stay...

Oh and on the list of players who are safe... You would drop Tongue? I still think he does well enough from hooker although I agree he does drop off... We should get another hooker in there at the 20 minute mark and I think he would be fine... And honestly McCrone wasn't THAT terrible... We never had the ball, the forwards never did sh*t (we only just made 200 metres in the first half FFS!) so there was never much he could do... Granted that kick was a brain explosion but so was Crokers last week and you're still happy to have him as a "100%" starter...

Cryptic

Oh and one other thing (just finished watching the game on-line).

Yes we were terrible.

Yes we couldn't hold on to the ball.

Yes we lost the game and it's no one elses fault.

However... The refs were the only thing out there almost as shocking as we were... And it's not about the 50/50 calls, I'm use to never getting them, it's about jaws being broken, 20 metre taps suddenly (after what? 10 years?) being allow to be taken as soon as your team is ready not BOTH teams... The touchies, while generally terrible, stopped in their tracks a few times on the side line (and I'm assuming said something into the mic at the same time) only to have the controlling ref ignore them... f**king terrible performance all around... but... as the refs didn't f**k up the a close game they get away with it....

mean_maori_mean

I here shark are trying to bring down Timmy Smith.
If that the case I would be bringing Josh Lewis down to canberra instantly.

Hes currently playing NSW cup for them.

The bloke a genuine vision on attack and a great kicking game.
Not a strong defender but a genuine talented half.

Cheap as Chips also.

Easily better options than the two no-hopers in the squad atm.

I here shark are trying to bring down Timmy Smith.
If that the case I would be bringing Josh Lewis down to canberra instantly.

Hes currently playing NSW cup for them.

The bloke a genuine vision on attack and a great kicking game.
Not a strong defender but a genuine talented half.

Cheap as Chips also.

Easily better options than the two no-hopers in the squad atm.

Its a done deal apparently.

Is Lewis any better than what we have?