Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week 1 (spoiler)

ME SO HORNBY!

Dogs have beaten Manly 30-24.

Therefore we have officially avoided Canberra and will be playing either Souths or Manly next Sunday.

What's everyones thoughts on avoiding the hoodoo team?

smi962

Didn't really bother me who we played tbh.

It makes our game this evening a whole lot more interesting, Souths will be so fired up now. In particular, first 20 minutes should be very intense, hopefully its going to be good for the dragons to be exposed to a semi final intensity a week early.

ebbedfred

I think Manly will be ready for the picking. Suspensions are going to hurt Manly and they aren't playing that well. On the other side south's would need to beat us twice in 2 weeks at Kogarah and if they fo that they deserve to go through but I can't see them doing it.

hardbaby

Thank God we don't play the Raiders. I think they will fizz out but I reckon they would lift against us. Bring on the Eagles. They are ripe for the plucking. As for the Bunnies? Should beat them but they aren't as easy as the Eagles.

AJ_82

Fox Sports has official said no Hornby, Soward, J Smith or D Young!

Cam King to debut from the bench. Stanley and Fien to play halves and Priddis starting hooker. Also, Souths now know what they need to do as Burgess is being interviewed and knows what they have to do to win!
progress.gif

smi962

Didn't really bother me who we played tbh.

It makes our game this evening a whole lot more interesting, Souths will be so fired up now. In particular, first 20 minutes should be very intense, hopefully its going to be good for the dragons to be exposed to a semi final intensity a week early.

That was a great call - can't believe how sh*t Souths are with their season on the line.

j0nesy

Manly will dig deep, wouldn't be surprised to see Matai get off. He should probably go for a few weeks though. As for Beau - he will get of Scott free, as there was nothing in it. Sandow was trying to have a joke with him after the game about the dive and Scott looked pretty pissed off.

Personally I didn't really care who we played, but it sure would be nice if we can knock Manly out of the competition.

TheRev

Manly did beat us soundly earlier in the year, it will be interesting to see how they turn out on Sunday, but we will be solid favourites for this one, assuming we play some semblence of how well we can play, granted Souths/Knights were pretty poor at sustaining pressure.

Its also not sudden-death for us, so that should keep some of the pressure off.

Ulysseus

Manly did beat us soundly earlier in the year,.

Yes, and its form they have never again looked like approaching, it was their concord moment mate, I thought it at the time and I waited for the next time they played which confirmed it when Saints f**ked them.

Divine

Matai will not get off. Cheap shot artist with form.He'll watch the rest of the season if not more. Maybe he'll learn to braid and save himself some money. Manly look venerable and Canberra are surging ...no brainer!
With a little bit of luck and a lot of good planning (and God) on their side:the Dragons will be asking no quarter next Sunday.

TheRev

Yes, and its form they have never again looked like approaching, it was their concord moment mate, I thought it at the time and I waited for the next time they played which confirmed it when Saints f**ked them.

ai completely agree.. I mean Manly have some great talent, Lyon in particular and T-Rex and their halves etc.. but I dont think they have the firepower to match it for 80 minutes... as long as the Dragons turn up...

I don't think the Dragons are playing at their best right now, were giving away a lot more points lately... but even still we are playing at least as well as any other team in the 8.

grandorient

ai completely agree.. I mean Manly have some great talent, Lyon in particular and T-Rex and their halves etc.. but I dont think they have the firepower to match it for 80 minutes... as long as the Dragons turn up...

I don't think the Dragons are playing at their best right now, were giving away a lot more points lately... but even still we are playing at least as well as any other team in the 8.

G'day Rev,

I agree with your first line completely.

Manly have always worried me; you just don't know which team is going to turn up to play. Having said that, I agree, that our firepower will be enough to get us a win.

Stangely enough, the Raiders on the other hand aren't worrying me at all. If we meet them at any time during the finals, I feel confident we will overpower them comfortably.

GO