Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Flanno's New Signings

thebigredv

Liddles nearly 30, we still need to sign a young hooker. Cook finishes end of next year.
When a player is going that well consistently over a long period of time, 30 doesn't seem so old. I get that we need to plan for the future but Liddle on a two year extension will buy us some time, and he simply deserves it. How many players have we invested in who just never manifested into anything great. Mulheisen is not it either.

KingFlanno7

There isn't much out there when it comes to HB. I think Sexton has to be a target for the 7, he has only played 50 FG games but the stats don't lie. 10 games, 8 forced dropouts, 353 AVG kicking metres, 6 try assist, 4 line break assist. Compared to Kyle 100+ FG games, 10 games, 2 forced dropouts, 142 AVG kicking metres, 2 try assist, 5 line break assist. Sexton will only get better the more FG he gets. I seen him shank an attempt at a 40/20 the other week but at least he has a crack and backs himself. I think if Galvin goes to the Dogs and we give them Latu surely we can get Sexton in return..

Illusion

There isn't much out there when it comes to HB. I think Sexton has to be a target for the 7, he has only played 50 FG games but the stats don't lie. 10 games, 8 forced dropouts, 353 AVG kicking metres, 6 try assist, 4 line break assist. Compared to Kyle 100+ FG games, 10 games, 2 forced dropouts, 142 AVG kicking metres, 2 try assist, 5 line break assist. Sexton will only get better the more FG he gets. I seen him shank an attempt at a 40/20 the other week but at least he has a crack and backs himself. I think if Galvin goes to the Dogs and we give them Latu surely we can get Sexton in return..
He goes ok , Id take him , we need a genuine 7 and at this stage as you say he will get better , So is Illias going to have another go or is that it for him ......... ?

KingFlanno7

He goes ok , Id take him , we need a genuine 7 and at this stage as you say he will get better , So is Illias going to have another go or is that it for him ......... ?
I think Flanno was swayed by Cook to get him signed and he won't drop Kyle for him thats completely out of the question which is bullshit but true. I would give him another go for sure but I don't think Illias or Kyle are our answers to the halves personally. Flanno will persist with Kyle and LKT unless for injuries he is pretty stubborn old Flanno

KingFlanno7

Dogs are very organized and he just does his job does have a nice dummy but to slow
to really take advantage of it.Mate just my opinion but i have never seen him dominate
for the tweed
Part of his role as a 7 is to organise the team so if they are organised he has something to do with it. Anyway fair enough entitled to your opinion I just threw his name out there as a possibility especially if Dogs want Latu early..

dungay dragon

Why don't you think he would be a fit ? Genuine question
Clubs waiting on the DCE Galvin Circus to end
Either Sexton or Sandon Smith will become available
Either better than what we have
Smith has done remarkably well in a short space of time covering for Walker at the Chooks
Dogs have always seemed keen to look around even though Sexton has been consistent all year , as well

KingFlanno7

Smith has done remarkably well in a short space of time covering for Walker at the Chooks
Dogs have always seemed keen to look around even though Sexton has been consistent all year , as well
They have that young gun Mitch woods who will probably debut next year so they won't lock Sexton in long term. Smith is a gun aswell, it's a massive call whoever the club picks because we haven't had a good 7 in years thanks to Mary and Hunt.

Phantom V

I’d take Smith any day of the week. He’d be my pick over Sexton but both better options than what we have currently.

This article confirms that the dogs may not be the best destination for Galvin
I've always thought and still think, that Galvin will go to Parra.

1. Brown gone - slips directly into 5/8 - his favorite position
2. Big money - See Brown Gone
3. Plays outside one of the best organising halves in the NRL
4. Mitch Moses' cousin is Galvin's manager
5. Same attitude as Moses/Lomax - Bromance becomes 'ménage à trois'

Will make a mockery of his claim, it's not for money (lol) but for the right coach to help him reach his full potential.

That was a BS statement anyway

TheRev

Liddle will be 30 by the time the 2027 contract rolls around, so if he does stay next year... is it 1 year only, and leave himself open to Bears and others come Nov 1st, or does he want an extension now?

Regardless, we still need to identify a young hooker, if Phillips wasnt the one, who is, cause Muheleissen and HFinau are saving our bacon currently in cup given we need bodies there (nsw cup contracts only), but they arent going to be much use to us if we get injuries, and we are none the wiser to who will be replacing Cook moving forward (I dont think it will be kyle).

Note: Hjaltason hasnt had a game all year either thru injury, thats part of the problem, we havent been able to test him out... maybe he makes it.. not a big prospect but atleast deserves a trial.

Parko1310

Regardless, we still need to identify a young hooker, if Phillips wasnt the one, who is, cause Muheleissen and HFinau are saving our bacon currently in cup given we need bodies there (nsw cup contracts only), but they arent going to be much use to us if we get injuries, and we are none the wiser to who will be replacing Cook moving forward (I dont think it will be kyle).
Da Silva maybe? Mozer would be amazing recruitment but won't happen. To be fair, I haven't watched enough of Da Silva to make a solid judgement on him, but he's obviously pretty highly touted.

TheRev

Da Silva maybe? Mozer would be amazing recruitment but won't happen. To be fair, I haven't watched enough of Da Silva to make a solid judgement on him, but he's obviously pretty highly touted.
I've actually been looking at whos out there.. Da Silva ticks a lot of boxes with tartak, but I was looking at his stats (and this is just from memory now).. but he generally plays 20mins or so.. and tackle efficiency was more like 75-85% or something, so hes really only providing attacking spark currently, but im not sure how rectifies the defensive side of things, whether its just age or something more..

KogarahWarrior

When a player is going that well consistently over a long period of time, 30 doesn't seem so old. I get that we need to plan for the future but Liddle on a two year extension will buy us some time, and he simply deserves it. How many players have we invested in who just never manifested into anything great. Mulheisen is not it either.
Yeah. Age doesn't have the same bearing that it did 10, 15 years ago. Players and clubs have found new ways to keep their bodies performing at high levels for longer. Imagine if we tried signing DCE when he was 30 - nobody would've wanted a bar of him because he was 'too old'. But he's played for 6 seasons past then now. Players no longer need to retire at 30-32. Also, yeah, Liddle might be close to 30 but I reckon at the moment he's looking like the fittest, fastest and strongest he's been.