Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Flow on effects

Kennedy's close friendship with former Test prop and Manly assistant coach Steve Roach helped clinch the Sea Eagles' most significant signing in a decade.

Roach said: "I think Ben Kennedy is the best forward in the world. We approached Ben when we heard he could negotiate with other clubs.

"I told Ben Manly is a club on the way up.
Losing Blocker is continuing to prove costly to us IMO.

I know the arguments for/against BK......I dont wear that injury prone argument......its all speculation, who knows if he'll get over this hammy injury then be injury free for the next two?

Its like signing a palyer thats played every game for the last five years.....he has a much chance of being injured as the other 33 players that run onto the field.

Personally I'd have loved Kennedy here.

Gobbso

You'd be taking a very big gamble. Sort of like the one Wests did with Terry Hill in 2000. His expereince might have been helpful, but he rarely took the field. Extremely Injury prone and that is something the Tigers can do without. Don't get me wrong, i rate him very hightly. I'd love to have a 2nd row consisting of Kennedy and Tallis, but his continual stints on the sideline prove to me he's not worth the risk.

Eddie.

Unlike Prince ( who was a gamble injury wise) Kennedy is getting on and one serious injury and thats it for him.

ozcrusader

Have to agree with Eddie.

Prince was a risk - but is a long term proposition. With BK, two seasons is just about the best you can expect. The days are of the tigers signing players well past their prime are (hopefully) long gone.

magpiemax

Mate,Once upon a time player's went to Nth.Queensland to collect the cheque's and so to did some coaches. ;-).And you will find in life that when you come across a little money like Manly has,all of the sudden everyone's your friend as is the case with BK & blocker.The guy is going to retire in Manly hence why his wife Emma has been looking frantically for houses there.And has been promissed assistance with a Real Estate licence after his footy career is over.
So my friend's move over Nth.Queensland and come in spinner!!! :clap: :lol: :lol:

simon says

BK if fit is a phenomenal player......and one of my favourites.Big,fast,big hitter and really emotional.....I like that.

But,it would be very hard to buy him.He would have to cost at least 200k and he is always injured.If you could guarantee he played 16 odd games it would be a great investment,but these days he spends more time off the field than on.

Good luck to Manly but this could really backfire......

gr8_1

I disagree mate. I think Kennedy is not a worthwhile investment. How many years would he have left ? 2-3 at tops, he would probably play only half the games a season anyways.

We already have Satts at the club to pass knowledge onto the cubs.

It's time for the next generation.

magpiemax

gr8_1 said:
I disagree mate. I think Kennedy is not a worthwhile investment. How many years would he have left ? 2-3 at tops, he would probably play only half the games a season anyways.

We already have Satts at the club to pass knowledge onto the cubs.

It's time for the next generation.
Exactly.

magpiemax

innsaneink said:
Kennedy's close friendship with former Test prop and Manly assistant coach Steve Roach helped clinch the Sea Eagles' most significant signing in a decade.

Roach said: "I think Ben Kennedy is the best forward in the world. We approached Ben when we heard he could negotiate with other clubs.

"I told Ben Manly is a club on the way up.
Its like signing a palyer thats played every game for the last five years.....he has a much chance of being injured as the other 33 players that run onto the field.
Just as much chance as any other player getting injured you reckon...Eh?? :roll: There are certain player's that fall into the plasticine mould category like Bradley Clyde, Ben Ikin,Robbie O'Davis,Terry Hill,Trent Barrett,Nathan Long and Pat Richards. These guy's either don't know how to fall correctly or they are made of plasticine as it is to much of a coincidence that they are forever injured.And Ben Kennedy falls into that category,I just posted the same thing on the Manly forum but for some reason they don't appreciate it. :lol: :lol:

super_coach

BK would have been a good buy,if sattler pulls the pin this year,as has been rumoured.but at 200 maybey 250 a season,I would be looking at a younger player and probably a centre

Vicious

What was Tim Sheens downfall when coaching the Cowboys?He braught too many older players.Our quota of experienced players is well and truly full.

Looks like im outnumbered.....I wouldve been very surprised if the opposite was the case.
I'm all for, as I heard someone on the radio tonite say..."Rather tomorrows man than yesterdays man"....I just reckon hes that classy a player when fit and well it'd be a gamble worth taking.....its a gamble yeah but so's every new buy, just look at Nick Graham......

Tigerpete

I think BK wil be a great investment for manly, but unless things take a turn for the better and at his age its questionable, the value of BK will only be realised off field and not on. And to be honest he'll make an impact on the players arounbd him regardless of weather or not he plays.

Mighty Tiger

We have enough good talent coming through the ranks and if We did happen to sign kennedy well I think some of that talent would of looked at another club to play with!

On another level with talks of Tahu and Monas joining Manly what are peoples thoughts on Scott Donald ??? He happens to be off contract at the end of this year and surley he wouldn't stay if those 2 happened to sign with the club

brook

When fit kennedy is imo the best forward in the game.

I think he's been a fantastic signing for Manly and if they can keep him on the field for even 50% of their matches they will have bought well.

BUT I don't think we are in the same position as Manly - Kennedy is a gamble and one we didn't need to take - we are much better off concentrating on shoring up our own youngsters and signing younger, less injury prone players.

Even though the thought of a fit bk in a wests tigers jersey is the stuff dreams are made of

Mighty Tiger

I think its funny that people are talking about kennedy being a gamble when last year we infact signed the following players

Prince - History of Brocken legs

Reynolds - as above

Richards - as above + more

Hodgson - was in all sorts of trouble at the end of last season with Hammy problems and he was thought to need major surgery

Payten - toe surgery and was thought when we first held talks with him that he would be lucky to play at least half the season

I think the only buy's we picked up that didn't have any injury worries over them where Moodie and Sattler

Kennedy is a great player when fit and I wouldn't have had any problem with him coming to the club however I don't think we needed him and I also think that it could mean that either Bronson or Liam (if not both) would leave to go to another club.

Vicious

Thank god he sdigned with Manly!!!!Some of you people want the Wests Tigers to resemble a retirement village!!!!

magpiemax

Mighty Tiger said:
I think its funny that people are talking about kennedy being a gamble when last year we infact signed the following players

Prince - History of Brocken legs

Reynolds - as above

Richards - as above + more

Hodgson - was in all sorts of trouble at the end of last season with Hammy problems and he was thought to need major surgery

Payten - toe surgery and was thought when we first held talks with him that he would be lucky to play at least half the season

I think the only buy's we picked up that didn't have any injury worries over them where Moodie and Sattler

Kennedy is a great player when fit and I wouldn't have had any problem with him coming to the club however I don't think we needed him and I also think that it could mean that either Bronson or Liam (if not both) would leave to go to another club.
The only flaw in your arguement MT is that all the above player's you mentioned put together probably cost us the same as what BK cost Manly!

Mighty Tiger

magpiemax said:
The only flaw in your arguement MT is that all the above player's you mentioned put together probably cost us the same as what BK cost Manly!

I wouldn't say thats a flaw because if he did join the Wests Tigers it would have been for a hell of alot less than what he agreed to in going to Manly!