Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

For those who have a Foxtel subscription...

Will you keep Foxtel if it doesn't include Rugby League

gUt

The kids like Nickelodeon, me and the missus like a lot of the HBO stuff but the main reason we have fox is NRL. We couldn't justify the expense without it so it would be bye bye Rupert.

reanimate

I'd drop it without hesitation, my girlfriend would be disappointed for a while, that is until I show her we could get basically the same shows on Netflix or Stan for much cheaper.

In my family, Foxtel's real loss would be my parents, my dad pays for the top HD package with basically every add-on, it would really sting for Fox to lose multiple customers like him, and he would drop Fox if it didn't have the NRL.

The kids like Nickelodeon, me and the missus like a lot of the HBO stuff but the main reason we have fox is NRL. We couldn't justify the expense without it so it would be bye bye Rupert.

I'm in the same boat but I like World Movies too. It's just like having porn on the tele but can tell the missus it's 'art'. No NRL, no Foxtel.

Incorrect

I'd keep it so I can watch Kelli Underwood and Tony Squires every Tuesday night on the Back Page... Bet none of you saying you'd cancel it thought about that.... You don't know what you're missing till it's gone...

Seriously though, I would probably ditch it. I already peeled back the package I was on a few months ago to now only the basic package plus sport and kids channels (damn kids!!).... Missus wasn't too impressed when she started looking for some of the shows she liked on Bio and some of those channels we used to have but she's over it now. The kids would get used to it too once I show them they can watch Regular Show etc on FTA, plus we've got Netflix so they've already started weaning themselves off foxtel...

No NRL, NO FOX!

Lockyer4President!

Binge-watching stuff on Netflix > sitting through ads on Foxtel.

Instead of the $50-100/month it's a once-off $80 on an Apple TV and then 5mins to sign up to Netflix & give each family member their own profile.

RoosTah

I don't have it because pay tv is for schmucks that can't stream or download media.

As a trend, this is a problem for Fox. Each year that goes by means more young, independent and tech savvy people forgoing traditional media with online options.

Danish

I'd cancel it without question.

The only stuff I watch on fox is NRL, NFL, NHL, and EPL. If they lost the NRL, I'd just up my gamepasses for NFL and NHL to include finals and then work out a way to stream the EPL (ridiculous they don't have a game pass-style service).

By the time 2018 rolls around all the best TV shows will be made by streaming companies anyway so foxtel won't have much luck with them

Mogsheen Jadwat

not only that though, I remember when my parents got pay tv way back in 95, there were pretty much no ads. that was one of the selling points of pay tv - no ads. now it's as bad as fta.

Nice Beaver

If there was no league I'd get rid of it quicker than you could unplug the f*cker from the wall.

I begrudgingly pay Overlord Murdoch for it now so I can watch the footy, so if he sees fit to remove it from his network I'm out.

Tinkler

In 5 years time Netflix, Apple tv and Google are going to dominate the tv market as the market consolidates.

It would buy the tv rights of both the NRL and AFL and destroy Foxtel.

Raiderdave

Foxtel wouldnt get to the end of the sentence stating they werent covering the NRL before id cancelled the subscription.
Bye Bye Rupey ya ol c..t
Bye Bye Kent ya wanker

Infact anything. . Anything at all to do with those lying scum from news ltd
Would be banned in my house

:cool:

Pig Champion

I'm gone if the NRL is. My wife hates the cost. My kids could live without it.

I do think Newscrap will bend over to keep it.

Incorrect

not only that though, I remember when my parents got pay tv way back in 95, there were pretty much no ads. that was one of the selling points of pay tv - no ads. now it's as bad as fta.

I remember those days. A mate of mine had Austar or whatever it was called... and I used to go over to his house and just ROFL at how shite it was - there was just basically nothing worthwhile on it... except league....

Things have just about come full circle!

On the plus side for my mate, he knows every Turner Classic Movie film start to finish now!! :lol:

Mogsheen Jadwat

I remember those days. A mate of mine had Austar or whatever it was called... and I used to go over to his house and just ROFL at how shite it was - there was just basically nothing worthwhile on it... except league....

Things have just about come full circle!

On the plus side for my mate, he knows every Turner Classic Movie film start to finish now!! :lol:

I loved TCM for no other reason apart from the fact that it showed Monday Nitro on Friday evenings

old school dubya see dubya

insert.pause

I cancelled it yesterday, I'm not going to contribute to them paying for AFL. Plenty other ways of watching league that don't involve paying News Corp a cent, Kent made it a very easy decision.

Evenflow

Keep it for sure. Love me some NBA, EPL and La Liga. Sure, there's other ways to watch those things but Foxtel is the most convenient for me even if you have to pay for it.