Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Four Years of Errors & Omissions

tigger

magpiemax said:
tigger said:
I would rather drink light beer for a decade than follow Wests :shock: :shock:
hey tugger,just like a mentioned on the wests tigers site some of you are livin in a time warp.lets face it wests maggies have a club at ashfield that turns over millions and a club out west that we spent millions on the other thing is we have an average age out west of 27.unlike the inner west of 127.so when your leagues club goes belly up due to the half a dozen drunks that they only get on bingo nights.dont take it out on wests magpies.after all tugger your club is within walkin distance to star city,what you expect brudda!!!! we will have the sole licencing rights and then it will be wests magpies 1/1000 on.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I think someone forgot to mention to you that Wests Ashfield are still over $18,000,000 in debt from the recent redevelopment....... where is the money going to come from to pay for that if & when the new tax comes in???????? Good to see that we started this together (1908), we were stupid enough to get together (1999) & now we will be dying together (2005), that of course is only the JV, Balmain shall rise from the ashes once again.

magpiemax

tugger apart from this small technicality the 18 mill. we do not have a prob
if you are ever willing to look outside the square or should i say rozelle(callam park)you should venture into wests ashfield and see the millions of dollars poured into the machines by some of our very lovely asian community. p.s...this pokie tax bizzo is all crap,penrith turned over 90 million and gave their footy club 1/90th of that.
parra did around 34 mill.and gave their footy club f**k all.
wests at campbelltown way made 19 mill.and also was not a major contributor to wests magpies. what i tell you is not crap,but info on news letters that are sent to members regarding annual turnover.
p.s.s.....no i dont vote labour,not anymore anyway. ;-) ;-)

tigger

magpiemax said:
if you are ever willing to look outside the square or should i say rozelle(callam park)you should venture into wests ashfield and see the millions of dollars poured into the machines by some of our very lovely asian community. p.s...this pokie tax bizzo is all crap,penrith turned over 90 million and gave their footy club 1/90th of that.
wests at campbelltown way made 19 mill.and also was not a major contributor to wests magpies. what i tell you is not crap,but info on news letters that are sent to members regarding annual turnover.

Hmm, you say Wests Ashfield made a gross profit of $19,000,000? I am not privy to this information, but Yappy, can you please confirm? If so, what was the net profit for the last financial year? Please include net profit & the component of the gross profit that is servicing the NAB debt?

magpiemax

tigger said:
magpiemax said:

Hmm, you say Wests Ashfield made a gross profit of $19,000,000? I am not privy to this information, but Yappy, can you please confirm? If so, what was the net profit for the last financial year? Please include net profit & the component of the gross profit that is servicing the NAB debt?
tugger read my post properly.i said CAMPBELLTOWN does the 19 million.
by the way that is turnover anually out west, god
knows how much our major club (ashfield leagues club) does. :eek: lets face it,if one club was to pack it in i wonder who it would be hmmm.......

King Tigerman

theres a major difference between profit & revenue clubs have a lot of people working for em also junior sport isnt free , the annual sponsorship of the local cricket side doesnt come cheap

also to whoever said wests magpies will be on their own , think again the leagues tried to kick them out for 25 years the league arent fond of wests tigers even though gallop has said our licence is safe & tugger balmain arent safe as well fitzstaan still wants our logo also the gold coast want a team to move up balmain will never ever ever ever be a stand alone team in sydney again & when you wake up & sense reality youll understand that

I've got another piont or two....

How about the selling of both clubs souls for $8mill and losing half the fans in the process?

How about the promise of a successful club that would be up there with the premiership elite, rather than struggling as either Balmain or Wests?

How about both clubs are not losing their identity, they are just playing on the other side of Sydney for half of their home games?

How about not sticking it out with Souths when the going got tough when News Ltd put on a bit of heat?

How about Balmain finishing 13th in the criteria out of 13 clubs? As we all remember St George and Illawarra had already sold out and were not counted in the offical criteria.

How about three leagues clubs funding the one team and they still have not been in the semi's.

I don't care if Balmain come back or Wests do. All I hope is that the merger falls apart.

MERGERS = DEATH.

There is more heart and soul in the 13 blokes who pull on the Royal Blue of Newtown then there is combned with the whole of the Wests Tigers, and I'm not having a go at the Die Hards or the likes of Tigger. I'm talking about the muppets who supported the killing of two founation clubs.

Henson Park Hornets said:

How about the selling of both clubs souls for $8mill and losing half the fans in the process?

How about the promise of a successful club that would be up there with the premiership elite, rather than struggling as either Balmain or Wests?

How about both clubs are not losing their identity, they are just playing on the other side of Sydney for half of their home games?

How about not sticking it out with Souths when the going got tough when News Ltd put on a bit of heat?

How about Balmain finishing 13th in the criteria out of 13 clubs? As we all remember St George and Illawarra had already sold out and were not counted in the offical criteria.

How about three leagues clubs funding the one team and they still have not been in the semi's.

I don't care if Balmain come back or Wests do. All I hope is that the merger falls apart.

MERGERS = DEATH.

There is more heart and soul in the 13 blokes who pull on the Royal Blue of Newtown then there is combned with the whole of the Wests Tigers, and I'm not having a go at the Die Hards or the likes of Tigger. I'm talking about the muppets who supported the killing of two founation clubs.

Doesn't Craig Field infect the BlueBags currently? That bloke has heart.

Didn't they change from the BlueBags to the Jets because BlueBags wasn't butch enough?

So much for having a soul and respecting tradition.

You only wish your team was in the NRL. You call it selling out, most people call it surviving.

I'd rather survive than have crap lower grade teams only. It doesn't matter if your colours are Royal Blue or Foreskin pink, you're still gone.

magpiemax

Everlovin' Antichrist said:

MERGERS = DEATH.

Didn't they change from the BlueBags to the Jets because BlueBags wasn't butch enough?

You only wish your team was in the NRL. You call it selling out, most people call it surviving.

I'd rather survive than have crap lower grade teams only. It doesn't matter if your colours are Royal Blue or Foreskin pink, you're still gone.
how eloquently spoken,fancy this spiteful loser blue bag living in a time warp.who would love to of had even an eighth of his team in the comp. :roll: :roll:

yappy

Max mate, I doubt Henson wants even 99% of a team in the NRL, he just wants 100% of his club (Balmain), wherever they play. If I were him I'd have stuck solid with the (real) Tigers, like tigger and even the Brooks, B-Tigers etc who watch the JV but support Balmain, but he didn't and I can understand why.

Slagging off Newtown is pretty poor form. They're more of football club than Wests Tigers will ever be. You should take a visit out to Hensen. It is as great a football experience as you will get. You really should accept that plenty of people who used to follow both Wests and Balmain do not support the JV (just looking at the crowd figures proves it - the combined entity draws about the same or less than either of the seperate entities did). Some of them like me or HPH get their footy fix in Premiers - most have just drifted away. It's not spite, it's just that Wests Tigers is no substitute for the real thing.

Western Tiger

You guys are f**king low giving it to newtown seriously. They got kicked out, and they can hold there heads up high and say they went out gracefully without selling out. I went out there the first time this year for the reunion and it was one of the best FOOTBALL grounds Ive been to with true supporters and just a good atmosphere. I will always support magpies and wests tigers but dont know how anyone can bag off at the jets.

yappy said:
Max mate, I doubt Henson wants even 99% of a team in the NRL, he just wants 100% of his club (Balmain), wherever they play. If I were him I'd have stuck solid with the (real) Tigers, like tigger and even the Brooks, B-Tigers etc who watch the JV but support Balmain, but he didn't and I can understand why.

Slagging off Newtown is pretty poor form. They're more of football club than Wests Tigers will ever be. You should take a visit out to Hensen. It is as great a football experience as you will get. You really should accept that plenty of people who used to follow both Wests and Balmain do not support the JV (just looking at the crowd figures proves it - the combined entity draws about the same or less than either of the seperate entities did). Some of them like me or HPH get their footy fix in Premiers - most have just drifted away. It's not spite, it's just that Wests Tigers is no substitute for the real thing.

That's exactly it, I probably could or should have stuck with 'em but my heart just couldn't support the JV. I could never watch the JV as I felt that it wasn't my team. It's 100% Balmain or nothing.

Why do people think that to follow RL the has to be in the NRL? What is wrong with following a team that knows it's place in the grand scale of things? BTW... Newtown were never kicked out of the NSWRL 1st grade, they have been suspended from playing in that grade.

I don't hold anything against the majority of the people that support the JV as they have seen it as a way of surviving, I do however have a problem with people who want to bag off a team (i.e. the Jets) who they know nothing about. Get ya arse down to Henson Park to see the Jets in action and you will be amazed, real footy and none of the crap that goes with the NRL.

I will always see the JV as a new club, that happens to play half of their games at the ground that my club used to play at before it was killed.

Everlovin' Antichrist said:

MERGERS = DEATH.

Mate, I'd guess that you'd be about 16 after reading that post. You've haven't much idea about a lot of things, have you?

Craig Field goes great guns at the Jets, have you seen him perform in the Royal Blue? No of course not.

They aquaired the offical nickname of the "Jets" in line with the rest of the RL teams in the mid 70's. They have never changed their name.

Another thing... They have NEVER played in the NRL as that comp started in 98. They were suspeneded from the NSWRL 1st grade comp in 83. Please tell me why I'd like to see them in a comp that they have never played in?

Surviving... You are having a laugh? Going from one crisis to another, board room battles, losing half your supporters, not ever making the semi's. Give me an arvo at Henson over that, anyday.

And lower grade... It's only the 2nd best comp in Australia and 3rd in the world. Now that's good enough for my $7 every second week.

As for being gone, is that what they tell you in the Daily Telecrap? Last time I checked there was 13 men all dressed in blue, look out cos their coming through.....

magpiemax

yappy said:

ooohhhh..o.k so its allright for people like tugger (tigger) who constantly keeping bagging the jv to keep harping on about it. these people have no respect for their old club and what their old club are trying to do.and that is to have a team in a elite competion.
look the night wests magpies had to vote to either merge or stand alone,i was one of the 8 people who put their hand up and voted against the merge.cause i would of prefered to die by the sword than merge,but then upon reflection i thought why should my kids have to go through their life without having the satisfaction of possibly winning a comp which is elite.something that i have not had the satisfaction of apart from the amco cup(1977).mate i thought if mark the magpie(mark wallington)can don a tiger suit on. why cant i be part of a team thats going to win the comp and has 50% share in.lets face it they are called wests and have magpies on both sleeves. these people are selfish yappy and living for themselves and no one else. so does that mean if my team are called the cherry pickers i should not follow them cause they are now called magpies?...........CMON...lets move with the times. ;-)

King Tigerman

tigger said:
magpiemax said:
tigger said:
I would rather drink light beer for a decade than follow Wests :shock: :shock:
hey tugger,just like a mentioned on the wests tigers site some of you are livin in a time warp.lets face it wests maggies have a club at ashfield that turns over millions and a club out west that we spent millions on the other thing is we have an average age out west of 27.unlike the inner west of 127.so when your leagues club goes belly up due to the half a dozen drunks that they only get on bingo nights.dont take it out on wests magpies.after all tugger your club is within walkin distance to star city,what you expect brudda!!!! we will have the sole licencing rights and then it will be wests magpies 1/1000 on.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I think someone forgot to mention to you that Wests Ashfield are still over $18,000,000 in debt from the recent redevelopment....... where is the money going to come from to pay for that if & when the new tax comes in???????? Good to see that we started this together (1908), we were stupid enough to get together (1999) & now we will be dying together (2005), that of course is only the JV, Balmain shall rise from the ashes once again.

theres a difference between a debt & an agreed bank loan

Mate, I'd guess that you'd be about 16 after reading that post. You've haven't much idea about a lot of things, have you?

Nice slam mate. Would you like me to start talking about your Mother or would that be too juvenile of me?

Craig Field goes great guns at the Jets, have you seen him perform in the Royal Blue? No of course not.

Why would I want to? He's an arrogant little prat with a chip on his shoulders the size of Balmain Leagues Club. You're welcome to him.

They aquaired the offical nickname of the "Jets" in line with the rest of the RL teams in the mid 70's. They have never changed their name.

So they were never known as the the BlueBags? I'm sure the F7's team will be annoyed at having to change their name.

Another thing... They have NEVER played in the NRL as that comp started in 98. They were suspeneded from the NSWRL 1st grade comp in 83. Please tell me why I'd like to see them in a comp that they have never played in?

It doesn't worry me at all where you want to see them. You're satisfied with them playing in lower grades? Good for you but don't start trying to stick it to other teams for what you call selling out without expecting some flak.

Surviving... You are having a laugh? Going from one crisis to another, board room battles, losing half your supporters, not ever making the semi's. Give me an arvo at Henson over that, anyday.

An arvo at Henson? LOL

That sounds like a great time.

You should follow the Roosters in the NRL.

And lower grade... It's only the 2nd best comp in Australia and 3rd in the world. Now that's good enough for my $7 every second week.

You have low standards, nothing wrong with that. Just accept that everyone else here has higher standards.

As for being gone, is that what they tell you in the Daily Telecrap? Last time I checked there was 13 men all dressed in blue, look out cos their coming through.....

They're gone and they went without a whimper. You're here criticising Wests, but they didn't accept the decision, made at the same time and fought like buggery to stay in the comp, and they did. Newtown knelt down and were summarily beheaded.

The F7's BlueBags are more well known than your team.

Did you think I hadn't seen your heartfelt plea for the other 4 or 5 Newtown supporters to make their online home here?

What you think is pride, is in reality barking stupidity.

yappy

Max - who said anything about tigger? An anyway, he, Henson Park, you and me all have one very good reason why we have every right to express an opinion on the Wests Tigers JV. We were all members at the time, and as you stood with me in voting against it we all opposed it's creation. Of those four two have stuck solid with their foundation clubs, one has left the fold completely to follow another foundation club that he feels more keenly represents what he thinks is important in a Rugby League team. And one has come around to the JV.

Now tigger isn't exactly what you'd call a tactful man, but mostly what he writes is deliberate shit stirring, it's silly, but not as silly as takingit seriously. You only encourage him. Henson Park on the other hand I have yet to find evidence of starting any sort of personal attack. He hates the JV - maybe even more than me if that's possible. He expresses an opinion on it, an extremely negative one, but there is a lot to be negative about IMO. No one is saying you have to agree, and I certainly have yet to see anyone (apart from tigger and his shit stirring) who has made any sort of personal attack on someone for supporting the JV. So why attack someone simply because as a Balmain Football Club member they express an informed opinion?

My argument with you is not that you follow the JV, it is with attacking someone who like you voted against it and continues to not support it with vitriol like "spiteful loser blue bag". Such spite sounds like a reformed alcoholic, or an ex-smoker, or some religious convert talking, and it doesn't become you mate.

As for moving with the times - trust me mate I am. The times at Western Suburbs are exciting ones. Next Saturday week we'll pack out the Leagues Club for the presentation night. I'd love to have you join me for a beer. The Magpies are moving forward, and I for one am glad to be part of it. Those of us who are working in whatever small way we can for the future of our club are in no way "selfish and living for themselves". They are working for our club and all of it's past and future supporters so that we can do greater honour to our past than an emblem on someone else's jersey, and just so that our kids, and the young people of our new home can experience the joy of having their very own team - just as we did.

(as an aside on the cherry-picker issue Western Suburbs have been called many things over the years by many people, but we have only ever had one official 'nickname' - the "Magpies". Yes we were called 'cherry pickers' at times prior to 28, but also other things, all unofficial. Have no doubt we also got labelled Magpies at times before 28 (although I can't give you any references of course). We have been the Magpies (officially) for 75 years now, Western Suburbs for 95, and black and white for even longer. The colours and most of the original players coming from the Ashfield Rugby team. So your contention is wrong - we have never ever changed our nickname. We've always moved with the times (and the population), but our identity remains and tells a story that stretches back to 1901.)

King Tigerman

but now wests are close to their original heartland id say its less than 5ks from ashfield to leichhardt oval

also my teams still got representation in the national premiership & somethings better than nothing in my books

tigger

MagpieMax & your fellow cronies..... wake up and smell the stench of your filthy club. It is a disgrace to both Western Suburbs & more so to Balmain's great name. You understand nothing in life about loyalty, honour & tradition. Balmain will survive in some form long after your JV falls over which will be in 2005.

As for you Yappy, when have i ever belittled a Wests supporter simply for following Wests? I have belittled many d1ckheads & w@nkers who happen to support Wests, but not simply because they follow Wests, but because they have as much brain power as a persons that signs up with Radisson Maine.

The Jets are the way to go, they are the closest thing to Balmain in terms of how we used to be & if God forbid Balmain cannot be around, i know exactly who i will supporting....... Whilst the rest of you Wests supporters go and follow Penrith or Brisbane.

If the Leagues Clubs stop funding the JV which is a very likely scenario after their agreements finish in 2005 what are you going to do?????