Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fullback for next year???

Parkway_Drive

Hey all including our new members who crossed over from the Vermin cesspit. Welcome gAylien, Foreverupmyanus and Ramrod! :p :lol:

Been even hearing rumours floating around Tedesco could be in the mix if certain other events materialise, however, assuming that is not the case and probably won't be, who will get first go at the number 1 jersey.

Mitchell?
Fergo?
Nikorima?
Slamankhel?
SKD?
Burgess?
Tupou?
Hastings?
Locke?
Elliot?

Anyone else?

:cool:

lafai

Fergo surely. It allows SKD to go back to the right centre position and gives the right wing spot to a young guy (Elliot, Burgess or Mitchell).

Jack_Napier

Why the f**k would we go near Kevin Locke, he's another Todd carney.

Don't want fergo there either, he's a great centre so leave him there. Him and SKiD look very comfortable playing together on the right side so why break up what works.

Parkway_Drive

Don't want fergo there either, he's a great centre so leave him there. Him and SKiD look very comfortable playing together on the right side so why break up what works.

I didn't say I wanted him there I don't Locke anywhere near us nor do I want Fergo playing FB. I have thrown up some names that had been spoken about on the various forums and social media platforms.

TBH I would prefer if they just threw Mitchell if he is ready, otherwise take a punt on Nikorima or SKD until Mitchell is ready.

Mate it was Trent Robinson who thru up Ferguson's name. He does not want to laden down Latrell Mitchell with trying to establish himself in first grade and doing it also at fullback. He said he wants to bring Mitchell thru to first grade on the wing and ease him like how he did with RTS.

With the signing of Joe Burgess, you could move Ferguson to fullback, SKD to centre and have either Burgess or Mitchell on the wing outside SKD. Ferguson has played a little bit at fullback in first grade (at the Raiders iirc).

Hastings won't be at fullback as he is going to fill Maloney's spot at five eight. That is pretty much written.

Jayden Nikorima may be in the mix, but he is more a five eight/halfback than a fullback.

SKD, Elliott and Tupou are specialist three quarters. They have not played fullback. Also could you imagine the nerves having Tupou or SKD back there?

Unless he was released (very unlikely) and we signed him on a minimal amount (even more unlikely), we won't be getting Tedesco. That is pie in the sky stuff.

Jack, I agree with you about Locke. Not worth the trouble.

Finally as to Slamankhel, people who have seen more of him play than I have reckon he's not first grade material.

rabbitohs95

Will definitely be interesting to see.

Theres no real safe option (from what i know) but if it were my team id put Mitchell in NSW Cup and put in either Ferguson or Slaimankhel.

I get what Robbo is trying to do re Latrell Mitchell on the wing but I see 2016 as a mini re-building year, so I'd take a punt on LM as the starting fullback. At the very least, give him a fair chunk of game time at FB.

Munster showed a rookie can ably fill the position and Latrell's at least a specialist in the role. He'll need to bulk up over the summer of course but why risk playing people out of position? I'd only move Fergo to FB if he's looking like a potential GI.

Robbo knows best of course.

I meant Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck lol

Johnny played nearly all year on the wing in Toyota Cup. Has virtually no experience at fullback. Latrell Mitchell would be in front of him for the first grade fullback spot based solely on experience in playing the position.

Scapegoat

I'd be wary of throwing Latrell in the deep end at FB so soon. I'd like to see him have at least a full year of NSW cup first. Fergo will do a decent job.

Chook

I get what Robbo is trying to do re Latrell Mitchell on the wing but I see 2016 as a mini re-building year, so I'd take a punt on LM as the starting fullback. At the very least, give him a fair chunk of game time at FB.

Munster showed a rookie can ably fill the position and Latrell's at least a specialist in the role. He'll need to bulk up over the summer of course but why risk playing people out of position? I'd only move Fergo to FB if he's looking like a potential GI.

Robbo knows best of course.

Agree Bill. I think Latrell Mitchell will surprise many if thrown into the deep end so to speak. If you take Hastings as an example, throwing him into the middle with the likes of Cordner, Guerra, SST, Liu, Napa, Evans, Friend, JWH etc meant he didn't have to work from behind a failing pack.

Same with Mitchell. Throw him in with Fergo, Jennings, SKD, Toops and he'll have ample assistance coming to terms with first grade. Plus we have Mini training him at fullback over the offseason.

I don't like the idea of disrupting our backline for 1 season and then trying to meld it into a force as we could lose 2 seasons.

Deep end him imo, if he's as good as they say we'll know in the first month or so if he's going to be a success.

Chook.

Agree Bill. I think Latrell Mitchell will surprise many if thrown into the deep end so to speak. If you take Hastings as an example, throwing him into the middle with the likes of Cordner, Guerra, SST, Liu, Napa, Evans, Friend, JWH etc meant he didn't have to work from behind a failing pack.

Same with Mitchell. Throw him in with Fergo, Jennings, SKD, Toops and he'll have ample assistance coming to terms with first grade. Plus we have Mini training him at fullback over the offseason.

I don't like the idea of disrupting our backline for 1 season and then trying to meld it into a force as we could lose 2 seasons.

Deep end him imo, if he's as good as they say we'll know in the first month or so if he's going to be a success.

Chook.

The problem with that Chook is too many of our fans expect instant success. If he plays there in Round 1 and has a shocker, how many people would be calling for his head? You only have to look back over the last 10-20 years to see how vindictive some of our supporters can be. If he had a shocker in Round 1, how many people would be calling for his head? The kind of abuse he would cop could have long term negative impact on his development.

I think it is with that in mind that Robinson is looking at doing things the way he has spoken about.

The problem with Latrell is he won't be a solid player that turns into a superstar.

He'll start out as very mistake ridden player with glimpses of brilliance and it'll be a matter of getting him more consistent and less error prone.

Though to b honest I'd probably prefer Mitchell getting the spot, the best place to learn fullback, is fullback.

Chook

The problem with that Chook is too many of our fans expect instant success. If he plays there in Round 1 and has a shocker, how many people would be calling for his head? You only have to look back over the last 10-20 years to see how vindictive some of our supporters can be. If he had a shocker in Round 1, how many people would be calling for his head? The kind of abuse he would cop could have long term negative impact on his development.

I think it is with that in mind that Robinson is looking at doing things the way he has spoken about.

I completely understand what you're saying, I just don't think fan expectations should be taken into consideration when deciding when a player is ready for first grade.

And sure blooding Mitchell the proven way, ie onto the wing for a season, would probably save him from that type of pressure and expectation. I just think with the roster of players we currently have, deep ending young guys for first grade amongst our current crop is the way to go. Another successful example of that method is SST. Unheard off prior to 2015 and now an International cause he more than held his own in class company.

I personally don't think we will ever have another "building year" as a club. I think given our current club structure with the best coaching staff, medical staff, recruitment guru and professionalism we will continue to develop players ready for first grade from the outset. Sure not all will succeed, but I believe the majority will and I have no doubt Latrell Mitchell falls into the later category.

Chook.

kbw

Mitchell isn't ready. He may well do incredibly well if thrown in the deep end, but he needs to get some more consistency. Thats coming from some of the U20s that I know.

I agree he needs a year in NSW cup

Dunno, Captain. We've been patient with SKD. Still are, LOL

Yes. However my points that players do not all have the same mental mindset. SKD is mentally tougher and can handle some adversity, unlike say Daniel Tupou who is a lot more effected by making mistakes/confidence than SKD.

Some people have mentioned how well Jackson Hastings took to first grade, but they forget that his mindset is one of a tough little guy who has a strong belief in himself and what he can achieve. What might work ion motivating Jackson Hastings is not necessarily going to work with Latrell Mitchell (for example) as they have different mental make ups.

Hence, if Trent Robinson things it would be better to ease Latrell in by blooding him on the wing, I dare say he has factored his mental make up in when making that determination. It is what good coaches do, and what he is paid to do.

If you want an example of a player who was "thrown to the wolves" and had his confidence destroyed (albeit by the coach), I ask you to look at Jamie Soward. Ricky Stuart all but stuffed him as a player.