Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Future culture

spider

Holmes a'court quoted on Fox Sports News as the reason behind McDougall now being sacked is that the senior players, coach and owners do not see him in the future of their cultural development after leaving at the end of the season.

Also reported, Ben and Shane Walker dropped to PL for the same reasons to make way for development of their younger players who are part of the clubs future culture and vision.

Hmmmm.....if only??

Since 73

Businessmen.
Holmes acourt won't accept failure, it's not in him.

Same as when Frank Lowy took over Soccer Australia from the mafia boys club.
The guy is a successful billionaire.
First guy he hired - John O'neill. Wouldn't know a soccer ball from a poodle, but hires and fires blokes who do.
First job- Frank Farina..Goone!
These guys don't get where they are in business by employing amateurs.

Sharks...
Mr Roper: work experience coach.

Bundy

Thought the same thing SS when I heard the quote on the radio yesterday arvo. Souths have had to hit rock bottom before someone came in to save them and are now going to run the team etc like a business.
I believe this is what Pogo has been saying needs to happen to us if we are to realise that running a team these days is akin to running a business and these sorts of decisions need to be made.

Bundy said:
Thought the same thing SS when I heard the quote on the radio yesterday arvo. Souths have had to hit rock bottom before someone came in to save them and are now going to run the team etc like a business.
I believe this is what Pogo has been saying needs to happen to us if we are to realise that running a team these days is akin to running a business and these sorts of decisions need to be made.

Yep, and I concur.

Not like it hasn't been said for years though.

I'm sorry to say it but one of our clubs biggest problems is "fan culture" where the majority idolise the ordinary and too readily accept second best.

It's a footy club. Made up of men. Ordinary men. Not gods. Keep them in the godzone and they'll believe it.

Wanna make them win?

Have a public CSSC shirt bonfire.

That'll send them a message.

Unfortunately the consensus for us (Sharks supporters) is to win a GF. (obviously) But moreso than any other supporters base in the comp. Our problem is that we are still quite competitive which is a paradox to that problem as no one wants to become a Souths yet no one wants a good team that makes the semi's but just makes up the numbers.

God (Simmo's or anyones), I hope we jag one soon becuase it's a terrible monkey on our backs.

shadowboxer

You want a shock of reality. Go to any preso after a game we lose, during the anderson era people were giving there 2cents worth. These days it resembles a back slapping exercise and very little negative comment.

I remember we lost to the cowboys at home 2 years ago, it was a game we were meant to win. We went to presos looking for some answers, all we got were several members of the board standing around laughing and going to town on the crownies.

As a business they run something like a government department.
enough said.....

0-top5.jpg

Morning early birds....

Sometimes you just miss old Airies... but alas he has felt the wrath of the forum judiciary...

But maybe we can borrow his big axe and start cutting some heads...

pogo

shadowboxer said:
You want a shock of reality. Go to any preso after a game we lose, during the anderson era people were giving there 2cents worth. These days it resembles a back slapping exercise and very little negative comment.

I remember we lost to the cowboys at home 2 years ago, it was a game we were meant to win. We went to presos looking for some answers, all we got were several members of the board standing around laughing and going to town on the crownies.

As a business they run something like a government department.
enough said.....

great summation, 100% spot on the money.

go newcastle!

dreary

One very serious issue with this argument is if we hit rock bottom Souths style who is going to bail us out, Rusty and Court style?? I certainly can't think of anyone, and if that’s the case bye bye sharkies.

I want the Board gone too, I reckon we would have a premiship by now if Gow (Our Businessman) wasn't forced out. But loseing all our games and going broke will not be good for the Sharks in the long run it will only force us out of the comp like the Bears.

spider

dreary said:
One very serious issue with this argument is if we hit rock bottom Souths style who is going to bail us out, Rusty and Court style?? I certainly can't think of anyone, and if that’s the case bye bye sharkies.

I want the Board gone too, I reckon we would have a premiship by now if Gow (Our Businessman) wasn't forced out. But loseing all our games and going broke will not be good for the Sharks in the long run it will only force us out of the comp like the Bears.

There are no signs of financial instability - Annual Report.

But there is one way to put all doubt beyond the means......WIN A COMP.

spider

Inferno said:
True to a degree but how does a club that has never won a premiership recruit winners?

Its no much that you recruit winners. The cap only permits you purchase so many name players. It is the responsibility of Management and coaching staff to develop junior players and move them through - and more so manage the team and players by selecting the best possible team deriving the selection process on form - not namesake.

The Dogs are a good example.

Culture cant be bought - it can be instilled.

Nuffs

how much money does Peter Gow have?

maybe the government, with Peter Costello as PM, will buy us out. the Australian Government Sharks at Parliament Park sounds ideal. he IS our number 1 fan

pogo

Nuffs said:
how much money does Peter Gow have?

maybe the government, with Peter Costello as PM, will buy us out. the Australian Government Sharks at Parliament Park sounds ideal. he IS our number 1 fan

what happened to that HOAX cathy freeman?