Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallen: Permission to negotiate with rival cubs

TRIALS

from smh.......

CRONULLA

Utility Paul Gallen has permission to negotiate with rival clubs and is attracting interest from Parramatta and Wests Tigers.

that's f*cked ....his price just went up

I guess better now than after June 30

At least this way we will know how much money we have in the bank to aggressively go after some big new signings

It's especially good if he can get all his negotiations out of the way over the next 2 weeks while we have the bye, hopefully interruption to his footy preparation will therefore be minimal.

I'm confident he'll stay - who would go from Cronulla to Parramatta or Campbelltown?

ShireShark said:
:lol: dykes

But the rumour is that Dykes is going back to the Shire..... ;-). Apparently a mutual parting of the ways. The rumour has been getting stronger and stronger as apparently the Eels will offload him to sign Orford. How true that is I am unsure.

Alan Shore

And then, it'll probably backfire in the face of the Eels with Orford leaving after his 1 year deal :lol:

Anyway, Thorman/Witt in the Parramatta halves looks better than any combination involving Dykes!

Gallen wasn't wanted at Parramatta and thus came to us, why would he return?

But the rumour is that Dykes is going back to the Shire.....

The Dykes family is out of favour over here

Dykes all but rubbished the club when he left and praised the almighty Brian Smith
His dad is dirty he was looked over for one of the lower grade coaching jobs
And brother, and local junior Jarrod Dykes is playing for another club (Parra I believe?)
The friction between the Dykes family and the club has been brewing for the past few years

I'd be very, very surprised if we had him back...I'd probaby have him for less than 100K, otherwise he could GGF for all I care

ShireShark said:

Dykes all but rubbished the club when he left and praised the almighty Brian Smith
And brother, and local junior Jarrod Dykes is playing for another club (Parra I believe?)
The friction between the Dykes family and the club has been brewing for the past few years

I'd be very, very surprised if we had him back...I'd probaby have him for less than 100K, otherwise he could GGF for all I care

Only going off what I heard so not 100% convinced myself. Jarrod was here last year and is now at the Dragons I think.

Just on Gallen

The other night in the presentation as the room went silent as Gallen at the microphone about to accept his chairman's award, I yelled at the top of my drunken lungs "SIGN ANOTHER CONTRACT GALLEN", he laughed, nodded at me and said "Thanks mate"

If he doesnt take my advice I'll be furious :lol:

shadowboxer

the dykes rumours are true. And you are right he aint really wanted back at the sharks. IMLets hope he plays out his career anywhere but cronulla

Alan Shore

Jarrod Dykes was supposed to be good too - what a way to flush it all down the dunny, signing with the Dragons.

ShireShark said:
Now let's get back onto the topic of Gallen

I'm surprised he hasnt been re-signed yet

I'm surprised that the Sharks have let negotiations go this far. The kid is quite clearly a more than handy player. I, for one, would be happy to see him back at the Eels but realistically all he is probably doing is trying to squeeze a dfew extra dollars from your management.

TRIALS

Gallen and Peach should be our priority signings.

Does anyone know what rieck's contract is worth?

He is a clown and we should be using the money we pay him
to lock up one or both of these two.

he is definitaley one of our off contract players we can afford to lose,
we have plenty of average wingers that could cover his averageness.

Everybody is writing Merritt off way to early ...he will come good.

Parraren

ShireShark said:

Dykes & Raper are good friends though (so i'm told) through their relationship in the lower grades at Cronulla all those years ago. I'd say that's where the rumour is stemming from. Whether there's any truth to it, well only time will tell I guess.

First I've heard of Gallen being linked with us. However, Brian Smith has been quoted saying he really wants to bring back some players that left the club in recent years. Last year McKinnon & Grothe returned and we also went after Jason Cayless. This year it looks like we've got Chad Robinson coming back from the Roosters so the Gallen story may have some truth to it...

Jimbo

Rieck is better than Merritt. A Rieck/El Masri combo would do quite nicely...

TRIALS

Jimbo said:
Rieck is better than Merritt. A Rieck/El Masri combo would do quite nicely...
Reick is a clumsy rabble ...can't defend, can't defend kicks, can't catch.
A liability that i'm sure is costing us twice as much as he is worth.