Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallop fires warning to The Famous Mouthguard Thrower of 2000

OVP

http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,19823749-23214,00.html

Gallop fires warning to Joey
By Dean Ritchie
July 18, 2006

NRL chief executive David Gallop last night reprimanded the game's premier player Andrew Johns, who was sprung yelling the expletive "c..." on Fox Sports last Sunday.

0,5001,5189278,00.jpg
Gallop ... not impressed. /File

But the Rugby League Professionals Association last night claimed television broadcasters use on-field microphones "at their peril".
About 300,000 viewers heard Johns' outburst during Newcastle's emotion-charged loss to Melbourne at EnergyAustralia Stadium.
Johns' language was audible but Fox Sports had lowered the volume levels.
After a Storm try which sealed victory, Johns exploded at referee Paul Simpkins.
"No! This can't be happening. It's a big game. We've worked our c...s out, both teams, only for it to turn on a s... decision like that ... it's a game for men," Johns said.
Johns' rage came after Knights winger Anthony Quinn was penalised for abusing touch judge Russell Turner.
Debate raged yesterday as to whether Johns was at fault for using such blue language or whether players should be permitted to swear on the field in high-pressure rugby league.
Asked was he disappointed in Johns, Gallop said: "I'm sure Joey would accept that if he had his time again, he would have chosen a different approach."

Gallop said Johns and other players must refrain from swearing when approaching the referee, the time when on-field microphones are turned up by broadcasters. "Players must remember they are setting an example to many kids who see them as heroes and may be tempted to copy them," Gallop said.
"Players need to be conscious of on-field microphones.
"We will continue to monitor the use of these microphones but they can enhance many fans' enjoyment of the coverage. From time to time, emotional outbursts are bound to occur. But swearing is regrettable and can't be taken back after the event."
Fox Sports said on-field microphones were part of rugby league.
"We've had on-field microphones for 10 years now," said a Fox Sports spokesman.
One NRL coach said players should be left alone when on the field, claiming: "It's a man game."
NRL referees coach's assistant Bill Harrigan said Johns should have been reprimanded on the field for swearing.
"In the best interests of the game, swearing is frowned upon and we can't condone it," Harrigan said.
"We don't want kids and families in their living rooms putting up with foul language.
"Whether it is said in the heat of the battle or not, players should know they shouldn't swear, particularly when they know it can be picked up the microphones."
RLPA chief executive Matthew Rodwell said players can be excused for using such language during intense matches.
"In the heat of the battle when emotions are high and players are desperate, ugly things are going to be said," Rodwell said.
"Microphones can be used but TV channels do so at their peril.
"Players don't want to go out and swear and berate officials, but there are times when it is difficult to curb emotions out there.
"Expletives can be part and parcel of the game.
"When you are exhausted out there, you don't tend to watch Ps and Qs. The players aren't really aware about microphones."
Leading rugby league broadcaster Ray Hadley - whose 2GB often use the on-field microphone - said: "We all do things we regret under pressure and Joey is under immense pressure each week."

The Daily Telegraph

mattyg

Captain Clark said:
Who cares about a little bit of swearing. You're gonna hear it somewhere at sometime.

yeah and then in 5 years time when we no longer have a competition due to lack of referee's we won't care about a little bit of swearing :sarcasm:

Razor

yeah and then in 5 years time when we no longer have a competition due to lack of referee's we won't care about a little bit of swearing

Yes and the referees are going to walk away from a $120,000 a year job because a player swears at them. After they quit their high paying job they might go and work for $25,000 a year in a servo and get sworn at all the time, and held up.

number8

If it were any other player there would be a fine straight up & support for the player would be non existant. Johns is a great player & he's got the game on a string. Both on the field & off.

When a lesser player (anyone else just about) has a joey type tantrum they are told to pull their heads in & everyone acknowledges it as unsportsmanlike & childish behaviour. When Johns has a "Joey" comments & views come to to the defence from every direction & all of a sudden there is a debate as to whether or not it is all that bad.

The heat of the battle argument is all well & good but it doesn't make the actions appropriate or any less juvenille. Why is it that that majority of other players manage to keep their cool? And I'm not buying the "less competitive" angle.

It's called maturity & most adults have it. Being a brat is somthing we are supposed to grow out of. I'll tell my kids about how good a player he was but I'll be in no rush to show them any footage. He does have a responsibilty to set an example. He more than others even, & yet he falls well short of meeting that responsibility.

Great player, bloody sook imo!

F**k I'd hate to be a ref! Just imagine the booing and verbal abuse from fans. Not to mention the pressure you would be under to perform. Tough, tough job, but I suppose they get paid bloody good money so there aint no excuses.

Razor

number8 said:
If it were any other player there would be a fine straight up & support for the player would be non existant. Johns is a great player & he's got the game on a string. Both on the field & off.

When a lesser player (anyone else just about) has a joey type tantrum they are told to pull their heads in & everyone acknowledges it as unsportsmanlike & childish behaviour. When Johns has a "Joey" comments & views come to to the defence from every direction & all of a sudden there is a debate as to whether or not it is all that bad.

The heat of the battle argument is all well & good but it doesn't make the actions appropriate or any less juvenille. Why is it that that majority of other players manage to keep their cool? And I'm not buying the "less competitive" angle.

It's called maturity & most adults have it. Being a brat is somthing we are supposed to grow out of. I'll tell my kids about how good a player he was but I'll be in no rush to show them any footage. He does have a responsibilty to set an example. He more than others even, & yet he falls well short of meeting that responsibility.

Why would it be different if it was another player?

Read posts from previous occasions. The people who support Johns also support the other players.

If Johns said "You're a f**king merkin" or similar of course Johns should be penalised. But Johns did not direct any swearing towards the referee.

mattyg

Razor said:
Yes and the referees are going to walk away from a $120,000 a year job because a player swears at them. After they quit their high paying job they might go and work for $25,000 a year in a servo and get sworn at all the time, and held up.

Im not talking about current referee's quitting because of a player swearing at them, im talking about the future.

Sea Eagle Scuba said:
F**k I'd hate to be a ref! Just imagine the booing and verbal abuse from fans. Not to mention the pressure you would be under to perform. Tough, tough job, but I suppose they get paid bloody good money so there aint no excuses.

Thats what I mean. Who would want to be a ref when everyone knows how much sh*t they cop.

IMO if you swear at a referee you should be sin binned, thats what should have happened to Quinn on Sunday. As for the sook, he should have copped the same treatment

Razor

Im not talking about current referee's quitting because of a player swearing at them, im talking about the future.

Okay let me rephrase. People aren't going to avoid going into a $120,000 a year job because a player might swear at them, and instead go into a $25,000 a year job where they'll get abused 1000 times more than they would on a football field. Having players swear whilst talking to you won't change their decision at all.

And Johns didn't swear at the referee. He swore whilst talking to the referee. Swearing at the referee means "You're a f**king (insert word here)", etc. Not saying "It was a sh*t decision and we're working our merkins off".

Players should be punished for swearing at a referee - but not harshly, it's nto that bad. Swearing whilst talking to the referee shouldn't be punished at all.

mattyg

yes johns maybe didn't swear at the referee, but there was no need for him to use such language whilst talking to the ref. Especially saying something like the game turned on a "sh*t decision". And as far as Quinn is concerned, he was extremely lucky to get off without penalty.

Your argument about people avoiding being a referee to work in a servo (or $25,000 a year job) is ridiculous. Most people that work in such a job wouldn't have any chance as a ref. You must be fit for starters. How many people these days are fit enough to keep up with an NRL game? Anybody else would say that players abusing sideline officials isn't the best way to attract new referee's to the game.

BroncoBuck

You hear players swear all the time. The problem here is he used the c word. For whatever reason that word really irks a lot of people (esp women). Joey should know better not to use it.

Razor said:
Okay let me rephrase. People aren't going to avoid going into a $120,000 a year job because a player might swear at them, and instead go into a $25,000 a year job where they'll get abused 1000 times more than they would on a football field. Having players swear whilst talking to you won't change their decision at all.

And Johns didn't swear at the referee. He swore whilst talking to the referee. Swearing at the referee means "You're a f**king (insert word here)", etc. Not saying "It was a sh*t decision and we're working our merkins off".

Players should be punished for swearing at a referee - but not harshly, it's nto that bad. /B]]Swearing whilst talking to the referee shouldn't be punished at all.

and there we have it...part of the problem with society nowadays,the attitude of swearing at,and showing disrespect for authority is "not that bad"
i am not a parent,but it must be hard to raise children nowadays with this attitude rife in the community

number8 said:

well said and spot on,you have got it in one mate

OVP..What a inflamatory thread title you wank..And of coarse the swearing from the goosters with 'Flopper" fitzgibbon n "sook"finch...you didnt mention that huh?.
and there lil difference between the two..and pleeaaassseee..as if swearing doesnt happen on the field..gallop had better format a standard response to all the swearing.He will be such a busy man:crazy:every weekend.

he didnt swear at the ref..therefore its no different to what you hear when a team is defending or firing up after a try..its" let hit these c..."or these "c have got nothing"....people hear it.kids waiting to collect the kicked ball hear it.Johns was approx 40m on a football field where he should be able to speak his mind.

the expletives are part of sport, but John's behaviour was pathetic

crap!..have you seen woolford,toovey,..can you believe forwards getting together in scrums exchanging phone numbers.?state of origin games?harrigan n spud carrol?
what a load of bull..been happening since jezuz strapped on a boot to play second 11

mxlegend99

Uhhh, how can anyone have a problem with Joey taking a poor decision to heart. They were playing their butts off and a bad decision could have in the end cost them the game. I've seen more then just Joey get angry at stupid decisions. I get angry watching games when the ref makes a sh*t decision. And i'm just an observer.

These guys are footy players... they swear. They get angry. The hurt each other. Calling him immature for swearing is a load of crap. Yeah, it's pointless in the end. As even when the ref gets it wrong... you can't do anything. Penrith were getting the raw end of the stick on the weekend. Rhys Wesser was penalised for offloading after the tackle was called held... and he offloaded as the ref called it. The tackle was nowhere near completed. He got angry and swore. Luke Rooney was ruled to have knocked on in a play the ball, it bounced off his leg before his hand touched it... he swore at that. etc.

Carl Webb swears and goes off like crazy when someone puts a good hit on him. etc. These guys are playing with their emotions. It would be pretty boring if no one cared about refs decisions or got fired up while playing.

I can only assume the people not happy with Joeys actions must not enjoy Origin footy.