Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

GAME DAY THREAD - SHARKIES vs. THE RIFF in VEGAS

It's about both, see PM. I'm not sure I still trust a coach who keeps a liability in the most important position in the team because he's good for marketing reasons. If he's so important for marketing pay him half for footy and the rest out of leagues or footy club money, call him a marketing manage and don't waste cap on him. Take his TPAs off him as well because I'm sure he's on well over a mill.

How much is AFB bringing in for marketting?
Apart from that miss is in defence AFB was great today. He is going to be a real weapon for us. He’s definitely given the Club a lift and fans love him.

AFB is great for our marketing and so far is delivering on expectations.

Craigshark

Some of you are quick to forget, in the first 10 rounds of last season, nicho was on top of the dally m’s. Gets picked for origin, plays shit with 12 men against a dominant QLD team. Gets dropped, just misses a field goal against the dogs, gets hurt and is out for ages. Comes back, we flog manly, get flogged by Melbourne (forwards got schooled), we beat the cowboys and he plays average against the best team in history which see’s us bow out. On top of all of this, he was totally torched in the media to a point where they should really be ashamed of themselves for some of it. Fair is fair f**k me.

came out today, set up the first try. Forwards got absolutely manhandled by Penrith. Watch most of our sets where we end up on our backs and rag-dolled, compared to theirs where they end up on their fronts. There’s very few halves that have been able to win games for their teams on the back foot. Cleary, Andrew John’s probably the two exceptions. Funny enough, we were up against one of them today. I thought Hynes laid on a good play towards the end for Ramien. If Ramien had passed to an unmarked Stonestreet, he scores. Yeah he is the $$ man, maybe he should have over called trindall on that play I previously mentioned. Maybe he did and Brailey still went to trindall. Maybe he didn’t because he backed Trindall and to that point Trindall had been playing well. We won’t ever know.

Let’s flame him for a last shot throw at the dice shit kick with 5 seconds to go against the best team in the world. He kicks it long, Edwards covers it, he chip kicks, Stonestreet catches it and gets smashed. Then we argue why did he kick it long, chip it etc..

as others mentioned, Uele and Hazelton provided nothing. For their size, they got totally dominated and added nothing. Then for some reason, Fitzy takes Talakai off and replaces him with Atkinson. Surely Talakai is fine to play more minutes?

Whether you like it or not, he’s our million dollar man. Best off getting on board and backing him, cause he’s gonna be here for a while. f**k me, Moses is getting paid the same if not more and can’t even get his team into the 8 most years. Same with DCE. Ben Hunt. Reynolds.

Apart from that miss is in defence AFB was great today. He is going to be a real weapon for us. He’s definitely given the Club a lift and fans love him.

AFB is great for our marketing and so far is delivering on expectations.

Not yet. One of my expectations is he makes the other props better. 2 of them are still ordinary. TH and BHU. I don't see TR being better if he's even on board. The we have kids.

I fell that the club may have backed itself into a corner with the 2 million dollar men. They need to win the comp pretty soon. That's going to be hard with a No. 7 that is stopping "the window" from fully opening.

Only had to read the last dozen or so posts to see the wrist splitters are out in force again. Saw enough to know we’ll be up to our eyeballs in this comp. Good effort to come back from 14 down to all but beat the 4 time champs. Some of you are off chops tbh. Round 1 ffs.
I'm going to be one this year. I'm looking forward to it.

Simmo, Noddy, Felix. Now I have Kleenex, the marketing man.

Not yet. One of my expectations is he makes the other props better. 2 of them are still ordinary. TH and BHU. I don't see TR being better if he's even on board. The we have kids.

I fell that the club may have backed itself into a corner with the 2 million dollar men. They need to win the comp pretty soon. That's going to be hard with a No. 7 that is stopping "the window" from fully opening.
I think Tuku is going to be a real gun for us when he gets a decent crack. He has got that size and flair that really worries defences.

I think he can potentially take BHU’s spot by seasons end.

Cheese sandwich

Only had to read the last dozen or so posts to see the wrist splitters are out in force again. Saw enough to know we’ll be up to our eyeballs in this comp. Good effort to come back from 14 down to all but beat the 4 time champs. Some of you are off chops tbh. Round 1 ffs.
Maybe it's the continuation of the same negative stuff we've been seeing for a few years. I'll counter the all but beat the champs part with we were beaten by a weakened team who barely looked like getting out of 2nd gear for a lot of the game.

I hope you and hubby etc are right though, this is a debate I'm quite happy to lose in the long run.

Yeah it was a good comeback no doubt.

But to see their injury ravaged backline make our settled back line look ordinary in defence is a big worry. Especially a Panthers team that was “rusty”.

I was very surprised with our tactics in dealing with the Panthers rushing defence. One out footy is playing into their hands. The Storm and the Panthers dominate the ruck the best in the NRL. Play them one out and you’ll lose every time.

Fitzy needs to clue up otherwise it’s just going to be ground hog day next time we play them.

Also mate I am bloody frustrated as I saw we were making the same mistakes today as we did last year in the Semi Final against the Riff. We were way too conservative in that game and the same for the most part in this game. You can’t just go set for set with Cleary. He’ll beat you at that type of footy everytime.

Some of you are quick to forget, in the first 10 rounds of last season, nicho was on top of the dally m’s. Gets picked for origin, plays shit with 12 men against a dominant QLD team. Gets dropped, just misses a field goal against the dogs, gets hurt and is out for ages. Comes back, we flog manly, get flogged by Melbourne (forwards got schooled), we beat the cowboys and he plays average against the best team in history which see’s us bow out. On top of all of this, he was totally torched in the media to a point where they should really be ashamed of themselves for some of it. Fair is fair f**k me.

came out today, set up the first try. Forwards got absolutely manhandled by Penrith. Watch most of our sets where we end up on our backs and rag-dolled, compared to theirs where they end up on their fronts. There’s very few halves that have been able to win games for their teams on the back foot. Cleary, Andrew John’s probably the two exceptions. Funny enough, we were up against one of them today. I thought Hynes laid on a good play towards the end for Ramien. If Ramien had passed to an unmarked Stonestreet, he scores. Yeah he is the $$ man, maybe he should have over called trindall on that play I previously mentioned. Maybe he did and Brailey still went to trindall. Maybe he didn’t because he backed Trindall and to that point Trindall had been playing well. We won’t ever know.

Let’s flame him for a last shot throw at the dice shit kick with 5 seconds to go against the best team in the world. He kicks it long, Edwards covers it, he chip kicks, Stonestreet catches it and gets smashed. Then we argue why did he kick it long, chip it etc..

as others mentioned, Uele and Hazelton provided nothing. For their size, they got totally dominated and added nothing. Then for some reason, Fitzy takes Talakai off and replaces him with Atkinson. Surely Talakai is fine to play more minutes?

Whether you like it or not, he’s our million dollar man. Best off getting on board and backing him, cause he’s gonna be here for a while. f**k me, Moses is getting paid the same if not more and can’t even get his team into the 8 most years. Same with DCE. Ben Hunt. Reynolds.
Craig , you make some fair points there.

Maybe Fitzy needs to work on his game plans. I think they’re too safe. When we play some proper footy we look way more dangerous and look more likely.

Alright, let me bring this to the room,
Who would you prefer on the bench, Atko or Tuuks?
Me personally I would have loved to have Tuuks out there today, and every day, before Atko.
Imagine the damage he could continue after AFB and Sifa. Btw I thought Sifa was great, but I wish he was given more minutes.

Easy question, Atko or Tuuks?

Me personally I would have loved to have Tuuks out there today, and every day, before Atko.
Imagine the damage he could continue after AFB and Sifa. Btw I thought Sifa was great, but I wish he was given more minutes.

Tuku

shaggs

Most disappointing thing for me is the forwards play one out for the most part.

I was really looking forward to them pushing up as a pack and rolling through the middle with AFB.

Even AFBs try there wasn’t another shark within coo-ee.
All I know is that if I was in the team I’d be attached to his hip. If I don’t the offload I get the next play.

shadowboxer

Long long afternoon at the pub watching for most part and shatshow of Vegas for the NRL.
Main game probally saved the experience.
In saying that, I can’t argue with most comments, being starved of the game for months will definitely bring out the angst in most, which most will regret after hitting ‘Post Reply’
For me, it was disappointing in the fact it was more of the same as last year. Same stupid errors and plenty of them. Same players guilty of brain explosions. Bench rotation bizarre, Ref performance sub par…. Blah blah
But…
Round 1
They beat most teams on that performance and have plenty to build on.
A decent lesson in taking no prisoners in these scenarios.
As a team, does one want to flog Rubbish sides to only fold come semi finals?
Today was a lesson they will hopefully learn from to get over that hump.
A lot of fluff in this post, probably reflects an afternoon at the pub, highly recommend anyone partaking in this exercise, less angst and more entertainment.

roboshark

Tuks every day of the week

BTW when is that other money grabbing imposter back. Rudolph