Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Game day thread (trial): 6pm Eels v Chooks 21/2/26

Pazza

I don't know yet. We will see in time. But when you have JAC taking the second hit up and getting smashed and the forwards still reeling to get their breath back and contribute again, well it doesn't inspire great confidence. But like I said, we just don't really know just yet. Our go forward against the better teams is still an unknown quantity no matter what any of us thinks or says right now.

This team is still developing and we have way to many old and young players that have questing marks all over them. But I can see why most have optimism and I too have a feeling that Ryles and his staff have us going in the right direction, but for right now, we are an unknown. Will our youth truly develop into bonified long term quality and will our veterans have enough in the tank to get a full season or two of quality as well to help these juniors come through unscathed? I think they will but...

Time is where it's at my friend.

true,

ive been watching football for 25 years and this IMO is a good footy team.

very excited for this season.

This was also the main thing that I was very, very pleased with over everything else. I can't remember the last time we had a team that actually played like this for an entire game right to the very final whistle.

However I didn't want to say anything about it until the season proper games showed us what really lies ahead this season and beyond. As we all know, as long suffering Parra supporters, we have had many, many false start and heart breaks and these games are just trials after all. So I will wait and see. It'll take a month or so of real footy before we really know what we have for a footy team this season.

Also what did concern me a little was our lack of momentum or power with the ball in that first 5 mins before the lightning break. We really struggled to get out of our own quarter with very poor go forward starting our sets, now that Lomax is not there. Then when we came back from the break, it was like a switch reset and we seemed to overcome this deficiency al of a sudden.

The question that I ask myself is did we actually aim up and improve or did the Roosters just mentally just slightly switch off and not come out as fired up as before? I know most here will say 4-5 mins is a nothing burger in time, but in a real premiership game and no lightning break, the momentum would have been all with the Roosters and we could have easily been down 20-0 before you knew it.

Anyway, Parra did brilliantly in the trials overall. I'm hoping we can just keep getting stronger and better from here on in. Here's to a great and fun 2026 for all our club and especially us schizophrenic happy/sad supporters.
The Roosters have a very powerful pack, maybe the most powerful in the comp. I'd expect them to overpower most teams early in games. But those big power athletes do tire, especially if they don't complete their sets. So yesterday's game probably started in an expected way, plus we did them a few favours by handing over so much possession in the first half.

Any team can fire up and pin their opponents inside their half, but most can't do it for 80 minutes.

TheRam

The Roosters have a very powerful pack, maybe the most powerful in the comp. I'd expect them to overpower most teams early in games. But those big power athletes do tire, especially if they don't complete their sets. So yesterday's game probably started in an expected way, plus we did them a few favours by handing over so much possession in the first half.

Any team can fire up and pin their opponents inside their half, but most can't do it for 80 minutes.

Yes all true, but like I said, only time will tell us all what type of team we really have here. This isn't our first rodeo. We have all been stomped on to often to have forgotten so quickly.

I know it's all new still, new coach new team and all, but it's still Parra. 40 years of hope then tears and misery.

Do any of you do Parra FFS! I do Parra and that means to know Parra. So until I see real change in mentality out there, week in week out, then nothing has really changed for me. Signs are good, but consistent improvement and ruthless admin, coaching and playing style over the long term is what I am looking at. So time is the only judge I place value in when accessing if we have turned this club into a Premiership force again.

Period!!

Yes all true, but like I said, only time will tell us all what type of team we really have here. This isn't our first rodeo. We have all been stomped on to often to have forgotten so quickly.

I know it's all new still, new coach new team and all, but it's still Parra. 40 years of hope then tears and misery.

Do any of you do Parra FFS! I do Parra and that means to know Parra. So until I see real change in mentality out there, week in week out, then nothing has really changed for me. Signs are good, but consistent improvement and ruthless admin, coaching and playing style over the long term is what I am looking at. So time is the only judge I place value in when accessing if we have turned this club into a Premiership force again.

Period!!
I agree. I too like a nice big sample size.

Ryles will pick Simonsson for Round 1, but agree with others that we may end up vulnerable on yards/post contact metres not made early in the tackle count after kick returns.

Shouldn't be enough to stop us scraping into the bottom of the eight.

Zoso

Watched 2nd half again to check out young/new guys…
Volkman: did a good job; placed his kicks well, forced a knock on from Crichton. Thought he did as well as Pezet, if not better.
Samrani: like his attitude and effort. He might not play SOO but he doesn’t look like a dud either. See comments on Russell below, he might just develop in a similar way.
Kelly: great strip on Mark N. Tried hard and can disguise a forward pass well!
Joash: kid can step. If his name was Benji or Reece, commentators would be jizzing all over him. Would be great off bench when big guys get tired.
Teancum: chased hard, ran decoys. Like to see more of him.
JDB: Probably accounted for most of our errors in 2nd half. Was actually ok when he just ran.
TDS: He might disappoint a few on here but it’s good to have someone with speed picking up offloads through the middle.
Russell: Not new or a rookie but man he’s come good. Shows what some patience and good coaching can do with a player who obviously works hard.

Overall we seem a well drilled side, a lot of belief and energy in the young guys. Down on the scoreboard against the roosters it would have been easy to get a bit panicked, which they didn’t do.
Worth noting, we broke their line and plenty of times, Teddy, Crichton, Spencer, Sam Walker, and more played well into the second half and we didn’t concede a point.
Early signs look good, well done Ryles!!

Stevie

We are obviously not keen on Averillo at all. He’s desperate for a club a looking dragons bound according to media. I wonder why specifically Ryles is looking like in an outside back. Maybe he doesn’t think Averillo is better than what we have?

I wonder if this means we believe we can do better? Or also if we are advanced in talks with someone already for 2027?

We are obviously not keen on Averillo at all. He’s desperate for a club a looking dragons bound according to media. I wonder why specifically Ryles is looking like in an outside back. Maybe he doesn’t think Averillo is better than what we have?

I wonder if this means we believe we can do better? Or also if we are advanced in talks with someone already for 2027?
I reckon it’s his asking price which is reportedly about $500k. Also he’s injury prone.

King-Gutho94

With Koula off the market i am not sure there is much else out there i really want that you going have pay a bit of coin to get here anyway.

I think were also just going to build on what we have and bring up the youth with a sprinkling of external recruits here and there for the right price nothing major.

With Koula off the market i am not sure there is much else out there i really want that you going have pay a bit of coin to get here anyway.

I think were also just going to build on what we have and bring up the youth with a sprinkling of external recruits here and there for the right price nothing major.
Unless he’s a game changing centre like Crichton or a generational talent I wouldn’t be paying overs for a centre. Staggs is highly touted and Russell has outplayed him many times.

Gazzamatta

After the way the Ibis played on the weekend I would be happy to see him take a wing spot. He would make enough meters rucking out of trouble..

Simmonson and JAC get dominated most of the time.
What's he like in the air JE? I can't recall seeing him under the high ball in a genuine wingers situation. I am a fan though.