Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Game vs Bunnies

abpanther

Windsor won 78-4 this weekend, Ryan Walker scored a hat trick and Blair scored also, surely it's time to drop Purtell for one of these blokes, surely!!!

Bob

My side for this week would be

1.Michael Gordon
2.Michael Mate
3.Michael Jennings
4.Brad Tighe
5.Sandor Earl
6.Travis Burns
7.Luke Walsh
8.Tim Grant
9.Kevin Kingston
10.Petero
11.Frank Pritchard
12.Trent Waterhouse
13.Luke Lewis
14.Masada Iosefa
15.Sam McKendry
16.Matt Bell
17.Gavin Cooper

If Coote is injured he doesn't play, Smith and Laurie to Windsor
Purtell to Bundy Cup with his papers stamped NEVER TO PLAY 1st GRADE FOR PENRITH AGAIN.

benntash

If coote plays I'd like to see Jennings and Gordon as the centres. Gordon really needs to see more ball, with Earl and Tighe as wingers..
PURTELL HAS GOT TO GO, ME has got to f#%k him off now surely

abpanther

I agree, Gordon needs to get as much ball as possible, if Coote returns they should put him in the centres with Walker and Tighe on the wings

*Sandy*

I don't get much chances to watch Penrith play and I was getting rather excited that finally we were looking like a certainty for finals football this year. Coming home yesterday from State Swimming and listening to the footy on the car radio my excitement is turning to sadness at Penrith seeming like they are trying to play themselves out of Finals.

Please win Penrith and restore my faith!

Wazygood

Purtell simply must go, he is the ultimate liability in defence. It constantly amazes me how people bag Jennings' defence yet seem to miss the numerous turnstyle efforts of this clown.
If Elliott had any idea Purtell would have been dumped weeks ago and Gordon would be in the centres.
Unfortunately the only change I see this week is Bell in for Laurie.

maple_69

Just checking some stats on our outside backs.
Walker has performed well all year and in a few unfamiliar positions, with a return of 13 tries from aroud as many games.
Earl has 16 from 20 odd
Watene has 19 tries including 9 from the last 4 games and he has touched down consistently all season.
As an aside JTK has been performning strongly lately and would be more than welcome to come back if it was up to me.

Whatever happens Purtell has to be dropped. I'd like Gordon into centre and one of Watene, Walker or Earl onto the wing.
I wouldn't mind Blair at centre either or rolling the dice and putting Burns to centre, Coote to 5/8 and leave Flash at the back. We have fantastic depth in the backs, it amazes me how none of these options have been tried this year...

Big Mick

As I said on PI.

If I see 4. Purtell I wont be going Friday night and I wont be renewing my membership next year...because it will be blatently clear that they don't want to win.

Fibroman

I feel sorry for Travis Burns who has to try and cover up for Walsh and Purtell in defence every week.

Doomednow

Is there a stat for how many tries he lets in? It seemed to me that nearly every time the tigers got up to our try line on the weekend they would run at (past?) Purtell and score. Its almost a guaranteed try, and they don't need to bother throwing a wide cut out to score on the edge so its a relatively easy conversion attempt to follow. Even when he gets his reads right he just slips right off them. Is he even trying? Is the team just not noticing?

Big Mick

The amount of times I see that bald wanker RUSH out of the line...leaving his winger exposed is ridiculous.

I think over the last 5 weeks, 80% of the tries came down that side. Its not a shock.

HE alone was responsible for that loss to Canberra. Crocker beat him with footwork and speed every time.

Against Melbourne he got beat badly.

Against Parra...he was responsible for 3 tries directly.

How on earth does this prick get picked.

He must have sore knee's and an extremely sore throat. No wonder he has no hair...Elliot is probably ripping it out.

Bob

The amount of times I see that bald wanker RUSH out of the line...leaving his winger exposed is ridiculous.

I think over the last 5 weeks, 80% of the tries came down that side. Its not a shock.

HE alone was responsible for that loss to Canberra. Crocker beat him with footwork and speed every time.

Against Melbourne he got beat badly.

Against Parra...he was responsible for 3 tries directly.

How on earth does this prick get picked.

He must have sore knee's and an extremely sore throat. No wonder he has no hair...Elliot is probably ripping it out.
I assume he is this weeks side Mick, very disappointing if he is.

Sleep

I'd like to see the side that played and beat Manly named but I doubt it happens. Graham has had his paper stamped not to play first grade this year despite over the course of the season being the better five eighth.

Neither he or Burns has been great but I think Graham gels better with the side and our best games were with he and Walsh in the halves.

If we lose this game, top four is gone and we'll make it to the second week of the finals at best.

abpanther

Purtell still there, Smith and Cooper on the bench, same old sh*t, Souths by plenty.

So can we assume that Coote is done for the season?

Sleep

From what I've heard about Coote's injury, it's one of those ones where there isn't really a cure. The best thing for it is rest, rest and more rest.

So sadly I think we've probably seen the last of him this year. It's the same injury that kept Menzies out for three quarters of a season, hit Tongue pretty hard at one point too.

franklin2323

Purtell still there, Smith and Cooper on the bench, same old sh*t, Souths by plenty.

So can we assume that Coote is done for the season?

Yeah but the wing isn't as bad atleast. Yeah the forwards were getting rotated so 1 will prob drop off.

No he could play this week but might miss the next 3 its un predictable prob keep him til the finals. Gordon's fine there and Earl was close to our best on Sunday so that won't hurt us

maple_69

Could be better but I'm willing to give Purtell a week in his preferred position. Will be good to see Tighe with a bit more space and time hopefully. Is Puletua injured? If not why do we suddenly have to carry Laurie?
This is another should win probably won't win game. We're going to be destroyed by any of the top 8 teams if we can't beat the next 3 teams.

Fibroman

I'm afraid to say that this side has very little impact from the bench and unless Jennings and Pritchard have blinders, Souths will win this one, simply because we haven't got enough points in us to win.

Why didn't Blair get a call up?

mxlegend99

I'm afraid to say that this side has very little impact from the bench and unless Jennings and Pritchard have blinders, Souths will win this one, simply because we haven't got enough points in us to win.

Why didn't Blair get a call up?
More importantly why is Adrian Purtell a guaranteed selection?

Matt Elliott stuck with him in the centres for nearly the entire season despite the fact that he was a reserve grade winger for the Raiders (a team worse then ours) before he got here and since he has arrived he has been getting owned week after week. He has been our most consistently poor player by far and should have been dropped well before Joseph Paulo or any other player.

Now after the season is almost over Matt Elliott is finally admitting that the Adrian Purtell experiment was terrible, and has now moved him to the wing. Why the f*ck has he kept his spot at all? He didn't earn it in the first place and certainly doesn't deserve to be moved rather then being dropped.

He might be less of a liability on the wing, but he will still be rushing our of the line and falling off tackles. He's still the slowest bloke in the backline and unless the opposition throw him an intercept he won't be running 50+ metres to score a try - he WILL be run down if we put him through a gap.

Meanwhile we have Ryan Walker who was on the verge of a first grade spot early in the year and seems to have been forgotten about since. It hasn't mattered that Adrian Purtell has been consistently poor and been shown up by reserve grade centres while Ryan Walker has been in sensational form all season and been carving up the competition where Purtell belongs.