Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gasnier does the bolt too!!!

I noticed Jimbo out of the blocks early on this one over at the drags site , but what the hey! its my b'day and what a great thing to see on the front and back pages of the tele.
I love the smell of controversy early in the morning.

:lol: :lol:
Firstly happy birthday carc

Secondly, Gasnier is a city kid isnt he (I think he lives in the Shire - surprise, surprise) so I dont think he will end up in the same boat as Jamie Lyon. Sure would be funny though.

Houdini

http://dailytelegraph.news.com.au/story.jsp?sectionid=1264&storyid=1061271

I'm too stale to play

By DEAN RITCHIE

March 19, 2004

FORMER Test centre Mark Gasnier has questioned his future in rugby league and has dramatically stood down from St George Illawarra's match against the New Zealand Warriors in Auckland tomorrow afternoon.

The Daily Telegraph learned last night that Gasnier, 22, has complained of feeling "stale" with rugby league after being forced to overcome a serious of crippling injuries.

His manager, George Mimis, admitted Gasnier was "confused".

It was initially feared Gansier would walk away from rugby league altogether, just four days after Parramatta centre Jamie Lyon – another Test player – quit the game.

But after consultation last night with Mimis, Dragons coach Nathan Brown and senior players, it is expected Gasnier will return to training on Monday.

Gasnier, whose uncle Reg is one of the game's greatest players, did not train with the Dragons yesterday in Wollongong.

"My injuries have made me very frustrated," Gasnier told The Daily Telegraph last night.
"But my captain Trent Barrett, the other senior players and my advisers have helped me overcome these issues and I'll be raring to go again next week.
"I just hope to play a sequence of games uninterrupted."

Mimis was in constant contact with his star player yesterday.

"Mark has been frustrated by injury over a period of time," said Mimis.
"That has created confusion in his mind in regards to where he is presently at in the game.
"Due to this, his preparation for this weekend's game against New Zealand has been affected and as such he won't be travelling with the team.
"However in consultation with the club and professional advisers, Mark has overcome these issues and will be ready to train again on Monday morning."

With Gasnier unavailable, Brown is expected to name either David Howell or John Carlaw as the centre replacement.

Another option would be switching Shaun Timmins from lock back to centre.

Brown was unavailable for comment last night.

Gasnier, who made his NRL debut with the Dragons in 2000, is one of the game's most naturally gifted running backs.

The Dragons will be desperately hoping he does return to training on Monday – as will the NRL.

Losing Lyon was a blow to the game; losing someone like Gasnier forever would be devastating.

The Dragons lost at home last weekend to Canberra and will start $2.45 outsiders against the Warriors, $1.50 favourites.

The Dragons yesterday announced Integral Energy as the major supporter of the Dragons Development program that benefits more than 100,000 children each year.

Under the new sponsorship arrangement, Integral Energy will become the Dragons Illawarra Community Partner and also be the naming rights sponsor of the Dragons Development Program.

Jimbo

I'm sure I'm not the only one who is wondering why the Dregs are the only club to have had two players go AWOL...

bubs

Rats deserting the sinking ship, me thinks.
As I told my mate at work who supports the Queens, they have had their successful year when they finished higher than us.
And in their successful year, they finished 10TH.

Jimbo

Front...
1062844_fronter.jpg

And back...
1062845_backer.jpg

It's not Gaaaaz who's stale. It's the club :lol:

Poor bloke just wants a big weekend at Northies, it is St.Patricks day celebrations all weekend after all. The O'Gasniers have a fine irish tradition.

Understandable, considering his alternative.

RICHO

ShireShark said:
Secondly, Gasnier is a city kid isnt he (I think he lives in the Shire - surprise, surprise) so I dont think he will end up in the same boat as Jamie Lyon. Sure would be funny though.

Gasnier lives at Balgownie (Northern Suburbs of Wollongong).
He's actually a nice bloke, I've met him a few times in the Gong.
I hope he comes back to the game. Rugby League can't afford to lose it's "star" or "big name" players.

Lyon, Gasnier, Thompson, etc.....
Like them or hate them, if Rugby League is to continue to be the premier game in NSW and make inroads into the rest of the country, these blokes are needed.

Jimbo

Bastard_Squad said:
Poor bloke just wants a big weekend at Northies, it is St.Patricks day celebrations all weekend after all. The O'Gasniers have a fine irish tradition.

Understandable, considering his alternative.

Good point. A relaxing weekend at one of the finest watering holes in the most magnificent district in the country, or 80 minutes of standing around the in-goal at Ericsson waiting for the Warriors to kick conversions?

Hardly the money or the box, is it?

carinashark

Turnstile out wide, i hope he stays put so Bailey, Franze and who ever is on the wing can run right through him.
Carinashark

Jimbo

I was thinking the same thing last night. Sure, he might be above average in attack, but I'd back his tackle bag to put a line break on him.

Hopefully he does come back, otherwise the Dregs might replace him with someone good...

Rats deserting the sinking ship, me thinks.
As I told my mate at work who supports the Queens, they have had their successful year when they finished higher than us.
And in their successful year, they finished 10TH.

Too true, too true
:clap:

The Nulla

According to 2gb, Gasnier won't be the only dragqueen staying in Sydney this weekend. Trent Barrett did not fly out with the team due to a knee injury that he will shortly have an MRI scan on.

Its a good day :lol:

According to 2gb, Gasnier won't be the only dragqueen staying in Sydney this weekend. Trent Barrett did not fly out with the team due to a knee injury that he will shortly have an MRI scan on.

Trent Barrett injured?
Who woulda thought?
Barrett, Ryles and Gasnier all out. Thompson has already been in trouble with the coach. That's 4 of their hilariously named "big five" having already f**ked up this year.

How pissed off would u be if you took a pay cut for him to stay

Just what I was thinking!!

It would be enough to turn you to the drink and the pokies!!
Oh wait........surely not Lance Thompson!!

Jimbo

In other news, one of St George Illawarra's ball boys has asked for time off for 'personal reasons' and is rumoured to be making the switch to tennis...