Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gasnier sacked from NSW for obscene call

I think that this is all a load of crap that could have been dealt with on a personal level and is no where near worthy of being front page news as it has become...

If this chick is so offended by a few dirty words from a footballer, then perhaps she shouldn't be giving her number out to him in the first place. Perhaps she needs [edit pp] to loosen up a bit and get some perspective?? I don't know...I am afraid we are becoming more like America every day...everyone is looking for a headline or a court case as a first response...instead of sorting things out like normal people...
sad times.

BTW, it was bad timing and a poor showing of judgement by Gasnier, but we have all had those moments, those saying he should be banned from rep footy for life are kidding themselves

Shark

Hang on a minute, Wasn't Ever Anything...

The young woman gave Mini her number because a friend of hers was interested in meeting up with him. She had no interest in him at all, but as her said friend was concerned about giving out her number, the complainant in this matter supplied her number so that Mini could still make contact.

Which brings me to my next question: How did Gasnier choose this particular number to call? I mean, I would assume Mini has a mobile memory FULL of stored numbers with nothing but the first names of people, there could be hundreds of female names there to choose from...Friends, sisters, club staff, journos, whatever.

How did Gasnier select THAT particular number?

Sounds a bit sus to me, I reckon Mini has steered him in that direction.

Shark

How could it have been random? How was she 'unknown'??? She may have been unknown to Gasnier, but she sure as hell wasn't unknown to Minchello.

I reckon Mini has pointed this particular number out, or specifically told Gasnier about her earlier in the night, and Gas has called her as a prank to get Mini in the crap.

Sadly, more heads are going to roll, if Geoff Carr's comments this morning are anything to go by.

President Lee said:
Try this scenario:

You work for a finance company. Your industry hits the headlines for some other companies' dodgy dealings with mafia style standover tactics and extortion. The other companies are implicated, it is all over the headlines. But your company is clean.

So you decide to play a joke on a mate. You call him up and leave a message on his answer phone along the lines of "pay up or I will do you in. I own this town. The cops are mine, the judges are mine. If you don't pay double there is a morgue with your name on it..."

It ends up in the media.

If I was your manager I would have you sacked before my saliva hits the page of the SMH with your mug in it.
And I would see you in court for unfair dismissal, and rate my chances highly.

We should just let the media pick the clean skins for us.

Fact in season 2004, a player has been sacked from the highest level for a lewd phone call.

Selection is now based on off-field behaviour not on-field skill.

It is alright send them on a course, that will fix it.

Shark said:
How could it have been random? How was she 'unknown'??? She may have been unknown to Gasnier, but she sure as hell wasn't unknown to Minchello.

I reckon Mini has pointed this particular number out, or specifically told Gasnier about her earlier in the night, and Gas has called her as a prank to get Mini in the crap.

Possibly you are right, and call me childish or a fool, but a prank is a prank and a 'sex controversy' is something pretty bloody different.

Either way, Mini didn't necessarily have to point the number out...perhaps hers was the first female number in his address book on the phone?? You and I will never know so best shut your trap son

This whole thing is a joke. The media and the majority of the public have shown now how they will react over a lewd phone call. Bloody ridiculous.

SaintTPP

Hulka said:
What a disgusting act. I feel sorry for Minichello who has had his name dragged into this.
:lol: :lol: Poor little Minichello, he lied through his teeth about his phone being stolen or lost!

Shark

CouldaBeenAnything said:
...so best shut your trap son

When you have earned the right to refer to me in such patronising or sarcastic tones, I will be sure to let you know...Pops.

In other words, when I want your opinion, I'll give it to you.

And what where you again?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ShireShark said:
I'm sure you're kidding yourself. It was more than that
Yes I'm not denying that

But the word tart was changed...I just found it a bit odd, oh well rules are rules I guess
For heck's sake, drop it. You said a a number of things and have even admitted to it now. Accept the decision and stop wasting yours and mine time. FMD, you'd fight over spanking if you thought you were missing out. :lol: