Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

General Discussion Thread

This is why youth crime is out of control in Queensland.

Offenders are well aware of which criminal offences get the feather duster treatment and which ones can be painted as "potentially disastrous" and can be slugged with massive fines for "what might have happened".

My daughter was caught using her phone driving when living in Townsville earlier this year, and because her vehicle was registered in her companies name the fine was applied to the company and was over $6000. Obviously she appealed and took the fine on her own licence and it was still over $1200.

Unfortunately drug use has become a social norm in this country and magistrates treat it like speeding because they believe everyone does it.

WRONG. How does an old bloke like me get from point A to point B safely nowadays when so much of this "social norm" shit goes on?
As a lady, who lost a loved one due to the other driver testing when driving, I've got zero sympathy for your daughter.

Chins get the wins

This is why youth crime is out of control in Queensland.

Offenders are well aware of which criminal offences get the feather duster treatment and which ones can be painted as "potentially disastrous" and can be slugged with massive fines for "what might have happened".

My daughter was caught using her phone driving when living in Townsville earlier this year, and because her vehicle was registered in her companies name the fine was applied to the company and was over $6000. Obviously she appealed and took the fine on her own licence and it was still over $1200.

Unfortunately drug use has become a social norm in this country and magistrates treat it like speeding because they believe everyone does it.

WRONG. How does an old bloke like me get from point A to point B safely nowadays when so much of this "social norm" shit goes on?
Drug use is the norm and has been for the entirety of human history

Maybe in your entire history but definitely not in my sixty plus year history.

I spent my whole working life in the defence and aviation industry and was drug tested randomly all the time. Not only because it is illegal, but because it is unsafe and unhealthy.

Would you be happy to fly off to a holiday destination after the aircraft was maintained by someone who uses illegal drugs as the "norm"... I think not.

soc123_au

Maybe in your entire history but definitely not in my sixty plus year history.

I spent my whole working life in the defence and aviation industry and was drug tested randomly all the time. Not only because it is illegal, but because it is unsafe and unhealthy.

Would you be happy to fly off to a holiday destination after the aircraft was maintained by someone who uses illegal drugs as the "norm"... I think not.
Being the norm doesn't mean everyone is off their chops 24/7. Recreationally, no different to alcohol being the norm.

Haven't touched the shit myself for years, but there is plenty of responsible drug users, same as the majority of people are responsible drinkers. It's the stupid few that ruin it for everyone.

Being the norm doesn't mean everyone is off their chops 24/7. Recreationally, no different to alcohol being the norm.

Haven't touched the shit myself for years, but there is plenty of responsible drug users, same as the majority of people are responsible drinkers. It's the stupid few that ruin it for everyone.
I just don't get it.

Plus, how can you use the words "responsible" and "drug users" in this context. Cocaine is illegal.

soc123_au

I just don't get it.

Plus, how can you use the words "responsible" and "drug users" in this context. Cocaine is illegal.
It's not for everyone, just like alcohol.

Not sure on your personal stance on having a beer, but in the US it was illegal from 1920 to 1933. Was it healthier before or after prohibition? No, it was just having a beer. Politicians aren't the bastions of good and bad in a real sense. Why certain things are legal and other aren't has f**k all to do with the average person that may wish to partake.

I smoke, but don't use illegal drugs, I'm much more likely to die from my habit than a non smoking recreational coke user is of theirs.

Aliceinwonderland

I think some are being far too simplistic regarding the use of 'party drugs'.

Drugs used in a recreational sense have the ability to disrupt the chemical balance in the brain. Yes I know grog can do this, but drugs like cocaine do it far more easily, and even if used in small amounts.

The problem with it, is you don't know if this is you, until after it happens.
These drugs are a gateway to pain and misery for all involved.

Legalising these drugs is like opening a box, which should remain firmly closed.

It's a bit like saying guns don't kill, it's the people using them.

Chins get the wins

I think some are being far too simplistic regarding the use of 'party drugs'.

Drugs used in a recreational sense have the ability to disrupt the chemical balance in the brain. Yes I know grog can do this, but drugs like cocaine do it far more easily, and even if used in small amounts.

The problem with it, is you don't know if this is you, until after it happens.
These drugs are a gateway to pain and misery for all involved.

Legalising these drugs is like opening a box, which should remain firmly closed.

It's a bit like saying guns don't kill, it's the people using them.
All making drugs illegal does is makes them more dangerous and creates criminal gangs to sell them. It's ridiculous

Clean coke is no more dangerous than alcohol
And in this context it impairs driving ability and is illegal to drive while impaired by illegal drugs just like being above the prescribed content of alcohol, or as we refer, over 0.05.

It's plain dumb and simply should be punished harshly, not like the feather duster flogging that Mam got.

In Australia, it doesn't pass the pub test.

It's not for everyone, just like alcohol.

Not sure on your personal stance on having a beer, but in the US it was illegal from 1920 to 1933. Was it healthier before or after prohibition? No, it was just having a beer. Politicians aren't the bastions of good and bad in a real sense. Why certain things are legal and other aren't has f**k all to do with the average person that may wish to partake.

I smoke, but don't use illegal drugs, I'm much more likely to die from my habit than a non smoking recreational coke user is of theirs.
I was a sailor for over 40 years and have done some pretty dumb shit drunk, but never driven over the limit or used illegal drugs because it would have cost me my career.

That doesn't enter the equation with someone who is good at footy because they rarely lose their income because if they get sacked for being a dickhead, another club just recruits them.

Oh, and they are always sorry, especially AFTER they get caught.

soc123_au

And in this context it impairs driving ability and is illegal to drive while impaired by illegal drugs just like being above the prescribed content of alcohol, or as we refer, over 0.05.

It's plain dumb and simply should be punished harshly, not like the feather duster flogging that Mam got.

In Australia, it doesn't pass the pub test.
No one is arguing that Mam got the right punishment, it should have been much harsher, but based on likelihood of impairment, not so much the legality of the substance involved.

soc123_au

I was a sailor for over 40 years and have done some pretty dumb shit drunk, but never driven over the limit or used illegal drugs because it would have cost me my career.

That doesn't enter the equation with someone who is good at footy because they rarely lose their income because if they get sacked for being a dickhead, another club just recruits them.

Oh, and they are always sorry, especially AFTER they get caught.
No one disagrees with you on this point mate.

Playing down the use of an illegal substance because some think it's the norm or it's "sorta" ok cause they reckon a legal substance is just as bad, is in my opinion, disagreeing.

It's illegal for a reason because smarter fools than us dumb fools on this forum have determined this and created laws around its use.

Chins get the wins

Playing down the use of an illegal substance because some think it's the norm or it's "sorta" ok cause they reckon a legal substance is just as bad, is in my opinion, disagreeing.

It's illegal for a reason because smarter fools than us dumb fools on this forum have determined this and created laws around its use.
You might want to do some reading about the laws and where they came from.

Like I said Mam should be sitting in a cell for 5 years imo