Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Goodbye Jamiee Rogers, Hello Tom Waterhouse

MightyBronco

Naa .. we hate all kinds of cheats

230367-fine-cotton.jpg

http://www.smh.com.au/news/horserac...ps-cocaine-fine/2005/07/29/1122144022085.html

While the starting point for such cases usually resulted in disqualification or suspension, the investigators accepted that the cocaine found in Love You Honey's system was a result of accidental contamination.
Mr Murrihy accepted there was no way Waterhouse could have known that her stablehand, Roy Storch, was using cocaine. The hearing was earlier told that Mr Storch had admitted to twice using cocaine but he denied using the drug in the hours leading up to Anzac Day race.

So, to please a mod who deleted my earlier reference to this, it was just a coincidence that Gai Waterhouse's horse tested positive to cocaine and that a stablehand used some the night before.

Awesome family. Just the perfect types to relieve mug punters from their money.

Matchball

Robbie Waterhouse for PM. Just what Australia needs.

The Waterhouses can be the Australian Kennedy's. Great family.

cleary89

Meh, betfair so much better especially with their cash out feature now. Although dunno if you get it in aus. 10m a year... Nice....

newman

I also had a post deleted for "unsubstantiated claims". So to appease the mods:

SMH:
TWO weeks ago, TFF reported receiving an email from a punter, claiming that after he had a series of wins against a particular internet bookmaker, the bookie had refused to take his bet, on the grounds that he had established a winning record in previous bets. I posed the question whether this is established practice, and asked you to send emails proving it. You did. By Gawd, you did! A heap of them. For some extraordinary reason, internet bookies are allowed to refuse and restrict bets from punters who are too damn smart, relying on their fine print terms and conditions. Interestingly, I am told the two bookmakers who are most ubiquitous in their advertising, Tom Waterhouse and bet365, are among the "bookmakers that continuously come up in forums for closing down punters". But it's not just them! The practice is so widespread, apparently, that one crowd, Pinnacle Sports, even advertises "winners are welcome", as their point of difference, while NSW TAB and Betfair, which is a betting exchange - whatever that is - is also said to give punters more of a fair go. However, for most of the rest, those who regularly win, across as few as five to 10 bets are apparently known as "toughies" and players who have won a set amount, (usually as little as $1000), are often either refused bets or limited to small wagers of $5 to $10. Do you get the drift? What it boils down to is this. Any time anyone tells you they're punting with internet bookies it - by definition - confirms them as a loser, because the bulk of the bookies will only take bets from new losers, established losers and yet-to-be-confirmed losers. They don't want winners of any description. No joke, those emails confirm what I have long thought - the whole gambling industry is little more than organised fleecing of seriously stupid people. And the bulk of sports followers are sick to death of the internet bookies getting in our faces every time we want to follow sport.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/the-fit...-on-the-net-20121019-27wrd.html#ixzz2HKGPmAQu

I don't hate it per se, afterall people can do what they like with their money. If they are stupid enough to give it to bookmakers fair enough. What I do fcking hate is having it rammed down my throat while i am trying to enjoy the game, i don't give a frick what the odds are, what they have changed to or appreciate being encouraged to gamble responsibly. If people want to do it fine but don't spoil the commentary or the game by slamming it in my face. Still $10mill a year could pay for a team in Perth!

Trentosaurus

Urrghh. Terrible news.

I already avoid sporting events when Tom Waterhouse is a major partner. Looks like I won't be watching any channel nine games this season.

I was at a Souths vs Penrith match last year and this 20-something had his kid brother - say about 10-12 with him.

At half-time, the kid glances up from his phone and at his older brother, and says in all seriousness to put $20 on Penrith to score 2 tries in second half, last tryscorer, blah blah blah.

The 20-something was aghast. Asked him what he was talking about.

The kid held up his phone and the older brother nearly died.

Told him to turn it off and not be so stupid. The kid asked him to borrow the money so he could put the bets on.

I reckon most of the people sitting around them were gobsmacked too.

I was appalled at 10 year old was so clued in to the gambling lingo, etc.

Still, I chucked $20 on his tips and walked away with a tidy sum. LOL! :)

applesauce

I was at a Souths vs Penrith match last year and this 20-something had his kid brother - say about 10-12 with him.

At half-time, the kid glances up from his phone and at his older brother, and says in all seriousness to put $20 on Penrith to score 2 tries in second half, last tryscorer, blah blah blah.

The 20-something was aghast. Asked him what he was talking about.

The kid held up his phone and the older brother nearly died.

Told him to turn it off and not be so stupid. The kid asked him to borrow the money so he could put the bets on.

I reckon most of the people sitting around them were gobsmacked too.

I was appalled at 10 year old was so clued in to the gambling lingo, etc.

Still, I chucked $20 on his tips and walked away with a tidy sum. LOL! :)

Tell the kid to get out of the Penrith slums and get some decent parents (and siblings). Almost all kids are exposed to the same amount of betting, alcohol, fast food advertising. It's up to the parents to teach kids right from wrong. I sick of hearing about how everyone else need to do the parents job for them. Instil some morals and ethics in your children and there won't be a problem (for the vast, vast majority).

+1

eozsmiles

How can you be jealous of a scumbag merkin.

Heaps of money, big house, hot car, missus and kid on the way. And he gets to go to any sporting event he likes and gets the best seats for free probably, amongst other perks of his profession.

Meh, jealous of what?

Not sure how he is a scumbag merkin? Is it because he (sort of) gambles? Could be worse. He could be selling durries at a servo lol.