Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gould blames Anderson+Kimmorley for loss

There has been plenty of guff written and spoken to suggest the Kangaroos will be extremely vulnerable on their tour of Great Britain.

Please don't fall into the trap of believing the Australian rugby league squad is an under-strength outfit.

This is a terrific squad of players with immense talent and there is absolutely no reason to suggest they cannot continue the tremendous winning record of Australian touring sides over the past five decades.

There is plenty of experience in the side and the youngsters who are making their maiden tour with the national team have thoroughly earned the right to do so.

Any suggestions to the contrary are merely insurance in case something goes wrong or an attempt to overplay their performance if, as we all expect, they are victorious.

Our national rugby league teams are expected to win and, in fairness to all who have represented our country, the Australian Kangaroos expect to win, too.

This team will be no different.

Sure, that creates pressure to uphold a tremendous record but we are good enough to deal with that sort of pressure.

Many have highlighted the fact there are several players unavailable for this tour for varying reasons. I would like to make three points here.

First, this would not be the first Kangaroos touring squad without some of the better players in the game because of injury or personal matters. The quality of this team can be gauged by the players who were available for selection but have been overlooked. Names such as Rhys Wesser, Preston Campbell, Martin Lang, Chris Flannery, Matt Orford, Matt Geyer, Brent Sherwin, Clinton Schifcofske, Ryan O'Hara, Shaun Berrigan and Dane Carlaw immediately come to mind.

//more//

Second, not all the notable players who declared themselves unavailable for selection on this tour would've made this squad anyway. On form, some of them did not deserve to get picked and would have gained a start only on reputation rather than recent performances.

The sooner the coach and senior players in this Kangaroos squad stop talking about the players they may be missing and start talking about the great young players they have with them, the sooner the tour rookies will feel deserving of their selection and start playing with the confidence and talent they display each week in the NRL competition.

Imagine how they must feel when the thrill and honour that goes with being selected to represent your country is being tempered by the coach and teammates talking of the team being vulnerable because of their inclusion.

It's rubbish. Trust the kids and show some confidence in them.

I remember last season how the NSW Origin team was described by some as the worst NSW team ever because some senior players had moved on and we dared to give some new kids a go. Didn't take long for them to silence the knockers and these new players in the Kangaroos squad will do the same.

Finally, this is a representative team and not a club outfit.

At club level if you lose a player such as Luke Bailey with injury it is a real dilemma. At international level, however, you can call up one of the other top-class front-rowers in the NRL to do the job.

The NRL has the toughest rugby league in the world. In fact, it has the only real rugby league in the world, so I get sick and tired of those who try to make excuses for our national team every time they lose a player or, as happens from time to time, they lose a game as they did in New Zealand eight days ago.

We don't have many games on the international stage and our players generally play with a passion that says they have great pride in their outstanding record.

However, the Kangaroos' performance last Saturday in New Zealand was substandard.

I don't want to take anything away from the Kiwis because they thoroughly deserved their 30-16 win. New Zealand came into the contest with no recognised Test halfback or five-eighth and a makeshift hooker in Monty Betham. But there were no excuses for the Australians and blaming the loss on supposed inexperience or an untried combination just doesn't wash with the rugby league public.

Remember, the Kangaroos did lead this game 10 points to nil.

They led again in the second half with a gale blowing at their backs.

The Australian backs saw very little of the ball and their normally trustworthy defence looked very disorganised.

The Australians' attack looked rushed and lacked direction or composure.

Much of this has to do with the selection of Brett Kimmorley at halfback.

This is the way he has played over the past couple of seasons and I think he is beating his head against a brick wall continuing with this style of football.

He appears as defiant as his coach in refusing to change his ways, which is a real shame because I still rate him as the second-best halfback behind Andrew Johns, but it is a long time since he has consistently played up to that potential.

He needs to watch some tapes of great halfbacks such as Johns, Alan Langer, Ricky Stuart and Peter Sterling playing for Australia.

Although they were great individual players, they really played the team game when they wore the green and gold.

They were aware of the talented players around them and concentrated on good service to these players rather than trying to throw the ultimate pass themselves.

I like Kimmorley as a player but he needs someone to sit him down and tell him a few home truths.

No one is so good they can't do with a straighten-up now and then.

He wouldn't be the first and certainly not the last.

Anyway, let's hope they get their act together. They are simply better than their opposition and I am sure they will prove it.

I cant believe I'm saying this, but I think Gould has a few fair points.

Imagine how they must feel when the thrill and honour that goes with being selected to represent your country is being tempered by the coach and teammates talking of the team being vulnerable because of their inclusion.
Fair call. Ando has done a lot of talking about how vulnerable the team is but that's not to suggest that he has been all doom and gloom. And by the same token Gould has often talked up his underdog status particularly as origin coach. But generally I do agree that a much more positive public display should have been put on. Youve gotta compare the job Gould did with his underdogs this year in origin and Ando's loss in NZ. One mark on the board for Gus here.

They were aware of the talented players around them and concentrated on good service to these players rather than trying to throw the ultimate pass themselves.
That's right. Kimmorley has needed to be a bit selfish with a young Sharks outfit and things would have been difficult without a specialist Australian 5/8 - but the outside backs hardly saw the ball. His annoying and dull inside passes back into a forward who then get snapped within about 3 metres are quite dull and devoid of initiative. He should throw his glory balls into the gap when he can, but should spread it to create an overlap more often. To his credit Gould did note that Kimmorley is still the second best half in the game but it's interesting that Gus never mentioned Noddy as a Johns understudy for origin - it was all Sherwin Sherwin Sherwin. You cant help but think that Gould is having digs at Kimmorley just because he hates Opes. This cant augur well for Noddy who must know that he's in trouble if Sticky is given the Australian position with Gould pulling the strings.

That said I have no problems if Kimmorley never plays rep games again. A selfish point of view I know, and I like cheering Sharks on more than anyone but I dont really care so much about origin and tests as I do for the Sharks. I'd prefer him to stay in top health for our own sake.

Overall it was a fair article from Blacktip Gould even if it was just one big shot at Ando and Noddy.

millersnose

once again our coaches ill chosen words impact badly upon the sharks and kimmorley in particulair

particulairly fruitful if you are a media whore

you can come to forums such as this, see what the people want to hear, and say it

but ando only has himself to blame

cheese

The article has some good points, and sometimes the truth isnt so fun....

But fa fargs sake, only a cocky self righteous git such as gould would print such a self serving piece....... you cant help but see his true agenda.

cheese said:
The article has some good points, and sometimes the truth isnt so fun....

But fa fargs sake, only a cocky self righteous git such as gould would print such a self serving piece....... you cant help but see his true agenda.

Exactly. And by publishing this article under the pretext of helping the team, he can only be harming the team.

Jimbo, Cheese, Shire Shark, I agree wholeheartedly. Goose Gould has about as much journalistic integrity in my opinion as those other peddlars of trash in the media. The only way he wouldn't complain is if the entire Roosters squad was the Australian Test team and he or Ricky was coach.

All I read out of this is an agenda to get Ricky in as the next Australian coach. Who really gives two hoots what Goose thinks? I'd say just take it all with a grain of salt and, if you have to read the article, use the paper for an appropriate activity afterwards (if you write crap you deserve to be wiping it as well).

Eskimo Sharkie said:
All I read out of this is an agenda to get Ricky in as the next Australian coach.
If the rumours are to be believed, that contract has already been signed sealed and delivered.

Who really gives two hoots what Goose thinks?
Well not me usually but the point I was trying to make was that Gould has finally said some stuff about Ando and Noddy that I partially agree with, and while it has an agenda I think there is still some lessons to be learned from what he has said.

I still think he is a low merkin though.

mullet

He rates BK still as the second best behind johns :shock:

anywayz caring what the idiot says

Briza

ShireShark said:
//more//

The Australians' attack looked rushed and lacked direction or composure.

Much of this has to do with the selection of Brett Kimmorley at halfback.

This is the way he has played over the past couple of seasons and I think he is beating his head against a brick wall continuing with this style of football.

He appears as defiant as his coach in refusing to change his ways, which is a real shame because I still rate him as the second-best halfback behind Andrew Johns, but it is a long time since he has consistently played up to that potential.

He needs to watch some tapes of great halfbacks such as Johns, Alan Langer, Ricky Stuart and Peter Sterling playing for Australia.

Although they were great individual players, they really played the team game when they wore the green and gold.

I like Kimmorley as a player but he needs someone to sit him down and tell him a few home truths.

No one is so good they can't do with a straighten-up now and then.

He wouldn't be the first and certainly not the last.

About time somebody with a bit of footy brains said something to the Media so the whole of the league world can see what a farce Andersons role as coach is.

You Sharks fans can abuse and bleat all you like, but any honest person will admit that Kimmorely's inclusion in the Australian 30 was a complete and utter joke, and an embaressment to the NRL.

Yeah OK I take your point and I know it's a popular one but I dont think Kimmorley's inclusion is that outrageous.

As Gould notes he is still the second best halfback in the NRL (and outplays Johns every time they meet) and he often stars for Australia. He was no worse than a lot of players against NZ but gets scapegoated because he is the halfback, Ando's choice and one of the most hated players in the NRL.

The other options would have been Sherwin (I reckon he's tubby and over rated, and his pissy little short kicks near the line may score tries but they bore me to death), Gower (would have been a fair call but still got a spot in the side) and that's about it. Preston Campbell? I dont think so.

SirShire

I wonder if such a fuss would be made if Andrew Johns was half back and they lost to New Zealand....

Ohh Joey's a bit crook - case closed. As per usual.

Salmon said:
I wonder if such a fuss would be made if Andrew Johns was half back and they lost to New Zealand.....
I would suggest it would have been a different game all together had Joey played - funny thing is all his peers respect him as a player and halfback. They will put in for him, and gladly follow him around the park, from what I saw against the kiwis, they do not seem to have the same respect for BK - I could be wrong.

In saying that Kimmorley was the incumbent reserve half, his inclusion is justified IMO (even though I personally think his form did not deserve it), however I am unsure about his peers being of the same opinion, which cannot be good.

What about John Lang as new Australian coach?

He coached a team to beat the invincible Stick Stuart coached Roosters.

I reckon it may be time for a change of Aussie coach. Personally, I wsih that Anderson devoted 100% of his time to the Sharks.

Alan Shore

Sheros los Deros said:
What about John Lang as new Australian coach?

He coached a team to beat the invincible Stick Stuart coached Roosters.

I reckon it may be time for a change of Aussie coach. Personally, I wsih that Anderson devoted 100% of his time to the Sharks.

Lang won't coach any rep teams whilst he has a rep side. He already rejected the Origin gig.